We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Il Borghetto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo to your Saves list
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Il Borghetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

In July 2012 we stayed at Il Borghetto and it was perfect for our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids 9 and 13). We stayed in Il Picconaia (the pigeon loft) for a week and were extremely pleased with our choice. First of all, the family that runs Il Borghetto is clearly dedicated to assuring that their guests have a wonderful stay. We were late arriving due to being a bit lost, (get a good map in advance), and Nicola stayed late to make sure we weren't sleeping on the patio that night. (Thanks so much Nicola!). The setting is spectacular, you've seen all the other reviews. We had a really hot spell while we were there, so we would do a day trip to Sienna, Florence, or Voltaire one day, and another day to sit by the pool and sip the local Vernaccia and let the kids frolic. I never felt like I was "missing the sites" by relaxing at Il Borghetto. It's a treasure on it's own.

I took a cooking class and it was a real treat. A local chef from down the road showed a group of 9 of us a really delightful Tuscan meal (they let me squeeze in even though there was a max of 8 students), which we later shared together while overlooking their vineyard. Simone was our interpreter (fantastic!) and the meal was delicious.

I could go on about how wonderful this place is, but I think you get the idea. Stay here if you really want to get a taste of the peace and beauty of the Tuscan countryside, and enjoy immaculate taste and warm, welcoming comfort. (And if you are lucky enough to secure a reservation).

** Simone and Nicola ** the offer is still open, you should come stay in our place in Maui some time. (vrbo.com/77140). I know you would love Hawaii and the beautiful ocean.

Aloha and Ciao Bella!!

David and Lee Anne

Room Tip: Don't wait, just book it and go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David32657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful surroundings. Very clean and big appartement with good beds. (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a large privat garden). Excellent swimming pool in a beautiful garden. We went 3 times to the restaurant were we had excellent diners from the family run kitchen. My wife had a very nice kookingclass. Because of the family you feel right at home.

Room Tip: We booked the large appartement with privat sunny garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLeek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second visit to Il Borghetto. And again it was absolutely great. The appartments are all well equiped and beautifully furnished. We stayed in Capanna di sotto, next to the restaurant and with a big private terrace.
The location is perfect, just outside San Gimignano with excellent views over the Tuscany hills. The service and information provided by the hosts are also very good. Perhaps the best thing is the food. Three times a week you can enjoy an excellent Italian meal and splendid wines.
We will definitely return for a third time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was a single, female traveler while in San Gimignano. I was skeptical about the disance to San Gimignano because I didn't have a car, but I was stubborn and wanted to see San Gimignano. You MUST have a car if you come to Il Borghetto... especially in the summer! The lovely hosts drove me into San Gimignano once and to the grocery store once, which was very much appreciated. THANK YOU!
The Italian countryside surrounding Il Borghetto is spectacular! Il Borghetto is perfectly clean and the decor is lovely. The dinner's were exquisite and the views over the italian countryside was marvelous! It was my first time to try a "self-catering" place in Tuscany. Being a lousy cook and having to do dishes was a bit of a put-off, but again, I knew it was a self-catering place and was prepared for this. If this doesn't bother you then Il Borghetto is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wawwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Il Borghetto was the perfect place to stay to enjoy and experience the Tuscan countryside in the most authentic manner. The apartments are lovely and very well appointed. Very clean, attractive decor that is both relaxed and elegant, all of the practical items you need and we had spectacular views of the vineyards and surrounding area from all rooms. The owners are wonderful - hospitable, helpful, warm and professional. We felt like part of the family in one way, and also highly valued guests. The food served at their restaurant is fabulous, and the proximity to other area activities (wine tours, ancient hillside towns, shopping etc) was ideal. Highly recommend staying there, and have already booked our return holiday this summer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at the II Borghetto several times over the past few years. If there is any place more like home I'd like to find it. Our experience there has been great. They treat you like family and are all ways happy to see you. If you have special needs (my wife is blind) they are most helpful. I cannot imagine any place I would rather stay in Tuscany than II Borghetto. We will definitely be returning for another visit in the not too distant future.

Raymond Maddix
Vancouver, Washington, USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautiful place, people & food. You can't go wrong here. We brought a group and had just the right mix of private and group time. Many sites nearby. Shopping was easy. The pool was lovely and we were warmly received by our hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docvml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 107 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietra...
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#27 of 107 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing