We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Borghetto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo to your Saves list
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nagoya, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Il Borghetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was a single, female traveler while in San Gimignano. I was skeptical about the disance to San Gimignano because I didn't have a car, but I was stubborn and wanted to see San Gimignano. You MUST have a car if you come to Il Borghetto... especially in the summer! The lovely hosts drove me into San Gimignano once and to the grocery store once, which was very much appreciated. THANK YOU!
The Italian countryside surrounding Il Borghetto is spectacular! Il Borghetto is perfectly clean and the decor is lovely. The dinner's were exquisite and the views over the italian countryside was marvelous! It was my first time to try a "self-catering" place in Tuscany. Being a lousy cook and having to do dishes was a bit of a put-off, but again, I knew it was a self-catering place and was prepared for this. If this doesn't bother you then Il Borghetto is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Il Borghetto was the perfect place to stay to enjoy and experience the Tuscan countryside in the most authentic manner. The apartments are lovely and very well appointed. Very clean, attractive decor that is both relaxed and elegant, all of the practical items you need and we had spectacular views of the vineyards and surrounding area from all rooms. The owners are wonderful - hospitable, helpful, warm and professional. We felt like part of the family in one way, and also highly valued guests. The food served at their restaurant is fabulous, and the proximity to other area activities (wine tours, ancient hillside towns, shopping etc) was ideal. Highly recommend staying there, and have already booked our return holiday this summer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed at the II Borghetto several times over the past few years. If there is any place more like home I'd like to find it. Our experience there has been great. They treat you like family and are all ways happy to see you. If you have special needs (my wife is blind) they are most helpful. I cannot imagine any place I would rather stay in Tuscany than II Borghetto. We will definitely be returning for another visit in the not too distant future.

Raymond Maddix
Vancouver, Washington, USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place, people & food. You can't go wrong here. We brought a group and had just the right mix of private and group time. Many sites nearby. Shopping was easy. The pool was lovely and we were warmly received by our hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed at Il Borghetto 4 times - I think that speaks for itself! Fantastic location for exploring this beautiful part of Italy. Very high standard of accommodation, wonderful food in glorious setting. Extremely hospitable owners - nothing too much trouble. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Gracious hosts, beautiful scenery, and lovely accommodations made this a wonderful place for our family to spend a week in July. Simona was tremendously helpful to us as we planned day trips all around Tuscany. When sticking closer to home, we loved the pool and walking the winding roads. And, of course, San Gimignano is a wonderful town. Il Borghetto is a treasure and everyone who works there helps to make the experience truly fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

il borghetto is a perfect place to enjoy a stay in the tuscan region. It has everything, a perfect location (on the mountains), real italian - tuscan food prepared for you 3 times a week and the apartements are also fantastic, some of them with a beautiful view on the tuscan landscape.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.