We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - this is the perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo to your Saves list
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Look no further - this is the perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a base in Tuscany from which we could explore the surrounding area without driving too far, but also where we could fully relax, spend the occasional evening in and generally relax.

Il Borghetto was the perfect place. The scenery is breathtaking, the accommodation is beautiful and rustic yet extremely comfortable and spacious. The evening meals that they offer twice a week are incredible value and very romantic. The hosts are incredibly helpful and nothing is too much effort.

It was a perfect place to stay, and I have and will recommend Il Borghetto to everyone visiting Tuscany. It is easy to get overwhelmed by the vast number of options for accommodation in Tuscany but we were so happy that we chose Il Borghetto and you will be too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Out of almost all of the places I have stayed all over the world, I have to say that Il Borghetto comes close to being the very best. The entire experience was amazing and we were very sad to leave. When we arrived it was everything I expected and more. The gardens are beautiful, the pool stunning and our apartment perfect for the 8 nights we stayed. The apartments are completely self catered (aside from not having a washing machine) which makes it perfect to do a combination of eating in as well as eating out. A great supermarket is about 10 kms away so a car to stay here is absolutely essential. Another great plus is the location, its only 5 minutes from lovely San Gimignano as well being close to Florence, Siena, Chianti and many more wonderful Tuscan villages. As I said we were very sad to leave and compared to all of the other places we stayed over our month in Italy Il Borghetto was the best by far. Simona and Sandra (as well as thier husbands) were lovely people, very helpful and more than happy to give advice on places to visit. All in all I can't wait to return to beautiful Il Borghetto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Well located in Central Tuscany, between Florence and Siena. Beautiful family run villa is 5 minutes from San Gimignano. Accommodation is true Tuscan style with personal attention. Simple yet friendly, clean and everything available if needed. Cooking classes include local cuisine. Dinners with uniterrupted views over vinyards. We had a fabulous stay at Il Borghetto and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Il Borghetto with my family the first week of our two week vacation in Italy. It was great. The family who runs it is helpful, caring, hospitable and very nice. Our room lacked nothing (except a very minor bug issue). The dinners and wine where some of the best we had throughout our trip, and the cooking lesson was a highlight. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

After a week in Rome and Florence, we were ready for some R&R in the Tuscan countryside, but I never expected it to be this great. Everything totally exceeded our expectations. The location, the scenery, the rooms, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. I couldn't really have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: Register early for a room with a patio. All rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Solarjon,
thank you sooo much for your grateful words that make us feel very much happy as we put all our love and passion in our job and to be rewarded like this is the best we can get. Grazie.
Till soon hopefully!
Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Family of 4, stayed for 10 days in the beginning of May. Villa is tastefully decorated with amazing views. Quite and respectful to guest's privacy. Away from it all, with beautiful garden, lots of possibilities to walk and explore. Closest town San Giminiano in 5 min drive, 30 min to Siena and 35 to Florence. Perfect hide away with lots of dining options and tourist attactions in a few minutes drive. Owners are very friendly and a pleasure to talk to. We had an apartment with terrace and started everyday our day with breakfast overlooking amazing Tuscan scenery. The place is so pretty that some days we decieded to stay in, have some cheese and wine and enjoy the peaceful beauty. Car is an absolute must. Supermarket is 5 min drive away. Everything else is taken care of, even books if you forgot some at home. Kids loved the place. We will definitely get back and recommend our friends.
Lesya R.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Lesya,
we want to thank you for the nice words you have written about your stay. We also want to thank you for choosign our villa and making it your home during your stay.
We appreciate your extreme kindness and respect and there is no doubt that we hope you will visit us again.
Thank you also for mentioning some details which we hope will be helpful for future guests.
All the very best.
Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just spent a week here in May 2012, and our only regret is that we didn't stay for two weeks! We shared an apartment with good friends, with its own loggia overlooking a lovely valley of vineyards, olive groves, woods and a small lake, and even an occasional hot air balloon. Lovingly appointed and beautiful, comfortable grounds. A great central location for day trips to anywhere in Tuscany, but also a wonderful place to sit and read or hike around (only 20 minutes into San Gimignano). They only serve dinner three nights per week, but our two dinners there were among our best in Italy and were very reasonaby-priced. Excellent wine list includes many small wineries they've researched. And the hoteliers, Simona, Sandra and Nicolo couldn't be nicer of more friendly and helpful. We love this place!!

Room Tip: The Capanna di Sotto apartment was great for two couples, especially if you like privacy. Having ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.