We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Fulignano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello di Fulignano to your Saves list
Castello di Fulignano
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Loc Casaglia, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We are currently staying here at Fulignano. It is a stunning setting, on top of one of the highest hills outside of San Gigmignano. 270 degree views of hills, wineries, farms, and villas. With only the songs of birds singing, it is very quiet, relaxing, and the fragrance of lavender from the gardens fills the air (I am writing this on a Sunday morning and the church bells are chiming all across the valley!) It is just far enough away from SG to be be isolated, but a quick 10 minute drive gets you to the main gates for excellent culinary experiences. We are a family of 4 so the pool is a twice a day ritual. Sylvia is the hostesses and she does a wonderful job making sure that are needs are met. We highly recommend thin villa. And we would come back again.
Note: Castello diFulignano are apartments, and as such this isn't a full service hotel experience. We weren't aware of that (our fault) but very quickly adjusted, stocking our kitchen with local produce, wine and beer. That made it even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: For families: the Berengario room is garden level and poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Jeff P.

thank you so much for your touching words. It is our greatest reward to see that our guests appreciate the nature and the beauty of this place. It was a great pleasure to have you and your lovely family with us and we hope we'll see you again next year!

All the best

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This place is in a stunning setting, sat on top a hill the views from the pool and terrace towards San Gimignano are better than the views from the town itself, it's around 7-8km from the town and Poggibonsi & Colle Di Val D'Elsa is the same distance in the other direction so a great location, the road to it can be best described as a track for the most part but traffic is almost non existent so not a problem.

The apartment we had was as good as any we've had in Tuscany, the price was a little more than we normally pay but the views were more than worth the extra, it's a lovely peaceful place to start and end the day, away from the hoards of tourists in the nearby towns.

Sylvia the manageress is a credit to the establishment too and nothing is too much trouble, when she realised it was our honeymoon she promptly knocked our door with ice bucket and prosecco.

Room Tip: apartment 8 'Soarzio' is on the first floor, is a very comfortable size for a couple, has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your vey kind words, we are so pleased that you loved this beautiful place. Maybe yes, it might seem a bit far away the first time you take the dirt road to reach here but, considering its unspoiled landscape, it is amazing that we are just a 10 minutes drive from Poggibonsi, a busy town where one can find all commodities. For a country venue to be isolated is the essential requirement to be quiet, beautiful, clean and in a healthy environment.
A landscape regulation on country landscape in the local council of SG forbids to pave country roads, but we do hope that they will fix it one day so to make the last part of the journey more confortable.
And we hope we will see you again here. Thank you again for staying with us.

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

It is a very nice residence with a wonderfull view over the surrounding valleys. The apartments are tastefully furnished and Silvia, the manager, was extremely helpful an friendly. However, the heating was not switched on despite the cold and humid weather, as it was already late April! This made the whole stay (8 days) much less comfortable than it could have been.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia F, Direttore at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

we thank you for your review that is a useful suggestion to improve our services.
We are sorry you suffered the heating mulfunction in the first two days, which we tried to fix unsuccessfully, according to the technical procedures everything should have been working but halas, it wasn't and we deeply apologize. This was for the first two days. The third day the temperature raised abruptly and Saturday, we had 30° and guests wearing light summer clothes and using the pool, so it was for the following days. It is common use in Italy to turn the central heating off when the springtime weather begins, considering also that we all use gas central heating systems, an the other guests staying that week weren't mentioning the heating at all. If I had known that you were still feeling cold after Saturday, I would have certainly done something about it. I apologize for not understanding that you still were unconfortable about it.
I am positive that this unconvenience will never happen in the future and I hope I will see you and your wife again at Fulignano, hopefully with super good weather! Thank you for being with us.

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I booked an apartment here for ten days in June and loved it so much I even cancelled my trip to Rome to stay five more days. This is one of those rare finds you come across only every once in a while. Sitting on top of a hill with views to the beautiful village of San Gimignano, the Castello Di Fulignano is one of the many "agriturismos" that are spreading across Tuscany. It's important to note that this is not a hotel, and does not offer services like room service. You have to make your own bed, cook (kitchen is decently equipped), etc. THey change the linens once a week, and offer some sort of breakfast that I did not try. TO me, this is no big deal, as I don't mind making my bed and love to cook whenever I get the chance to go to places with such great ingredients, like Tuscany and France. The manager, NIccoló, is a gentleman, and will give you excellent tips. Just to be able to drive around Tuscany and have one place to come back to and enjor the wine you bought is simply fantastic. And the pool here is also great!

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of my apartment, but it was on ground level, facing the pool. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We spent only one week at Castello di Fulignano and we agreed with our friend that this time was not enough for us in in this place…The location of the Castello is perfect, it is on a hilltop overlooking the village of San Gimignano and it is really true what I read in its website: this is „the most gorgeous place of Tuscany”.
We stayed in appartment Ranuccio, which was really nice, big, clean and well furnished and we had beautiful view from each room. The pool is great: we mostly liked the sunsets, sitting on the deck chairs at the pool, drinking fine wines while we had an incredible the towers of San Gimignano and the surrounding hills. The garden is amazing with beautiful ornamental shrubs, flowers and many many olive trees.
I have to mention that there was a dinner one evening with the other guests and we enjoyed the typical tuscan foods, good wines and to meet people from all over the world .
And last but not least: the host of the Castello, Niccolo is a really helpful, nice person, he suggested us good restaurants, places, explained how to get there and answered to any questions we had….
We can say that this place is a jewel of Tuscany, and we decide to return some day…

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We ad reserve for four nights but when we saw the place we extented for eleven nights. The view is spectacular and the situation is very interresting. Also the manager Niccolo is a gentleman and speeks english perfectly

Room Tip: we had the apart # 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I visited Tuscany several times before and knew what to expect at this price level. At least I thought I knew. Everything was better than we expected.

First, the location. Many places claim they have a view of San Giminano. In many cases it means that if you stretch and twist your body and use good binoculars you may see a tower from the bathroom window. Here there is a clear and beautiful view of the town and its towers. It is a few kilometers away (a long walk but we did it), but the view is there from the windows facing west and from the swimming pool.

Then we met Niccolo, the nicest host you can wish for. He made us lists of places to see according to our requests. We wanted to visit farmer markets and simple family restaurants. Niccolo had everything printed out, explained how to get there and gave us very good recommendations.

The apartment we were in is called "Ottone". It is much bigger than what we expected from the pictures on the website. The bedroom window has the most perfect view in the world. The apartment also has a tower with large windows overlooking San Gimignano and the area.

Everything was very clean, the bed was large and comfortable, enough storage space that does not show on the website. We both love to cook, hence the farmer market visit, and we enjoyed the well equipped kitchen. They even had some dishwasher tablets, oil, salt and pepper there, which is not the standard in this area.

The shower is large and was also very clean.

Every other evening the team - Niccolo and Francesco ( chef, gardner and maintenance man all in one smiling and charming Italian), serve dinner in the dining room. The dinners (extra charge of course) we attended were very pleasant events. All the guests sit together at a single very long table. You get to meet people from all over the world, drink good wine and eat traditional Italian food. And you don't even have to drive.

And I still didn't mention the pool, the fitness room, the garden...
I think the general idea is clear. Go there if an apartment is available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Fulignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fulignano

Address: Loc Casaglia, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Fulignano 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient castle, now a true Tuscan country mansion, perched on a hilltop overlooking the Tuscan hills and the famous towers of San Gimignano.Its 360° panoramic view offers the guests a vision of rare beauty. Enjoy history and nature in one of the most gorgeous place of Tuscany. Rooms and pool with a view. Breakfast included in rent price. Free arrival and departure days. Riding stable and bikes for rent in the nearby. Hiking paths. Wi-fi connection in common rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castello di Fulignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fulignano Hotel San Gimignano
Castello Di Fulignano San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Fulignano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.