We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, well located, charming staff, fab restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante da Graziano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ristorante da Graziano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G.Matteotti, 39/a, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 hotels in San Gimignano
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, well located, charming staff, fab restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Booked this place online coming from Pisa. Happy days!

Da Graziano is the place for you if you like immaculately clean, straightforward accommodation at the right price.

Things that we liked, in order of importance:
1. Tiled floor in the bedrooms - spotlessly clean (Side note: why doesn't everywhere in Italy tile the floor in the bedrooms?Given the temperature, traffic through the rooms & the tendency of carpet to collect dust and bugs, it makes a lot of sense.)
2. Lovely bathroom, spotlessly clean, with a great shower
3. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean
4. Air conditioning that works
5. Very convenient location, 5 minutes walk from the walled town of San Gimignano.
6. AMAZING restaurant (and I usually hate hotel restaurants)
7. Fabulous view of the old town.
8. Grand size flat screen TV.
9. Perfectly acceptable €85 per night rate.

Things that we didn't like:
1. Every other hotel we stayed in in Italy not being more like this one. :-)

In summary, yes, you should stay here; it's a good 'un.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldag, Proprietario at Hotel Ristorante da Graziano, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
thank you very much, your review makes us a great pleasure and we really hope to welcome you again in our hotel restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

For us, this hotel was the ideal. After a somewhat iffy apartment in Monterosso, this was wonderful - clean, modern, comfortable, quiet, and everything worked. Our reason for visiting San Gimignano was to relax and view the historical sites and this hotel met our needs. The walk to San Gimignano was short and with almost no traffic, there was free parking for our car, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Located on a side street, within an easy 10 minute walk to the walled city of San Gimignano. Free parking available (the lady at the desk moved her personal car to make space for us near the hotel). Our rooms were clean and roomy, located 50 meters down the street in a separate building. Breakfast was the usual fare. Staff friendly and helpful. This a great value given the price. No surprises, no complaints. We did not have any problems with noise as others on here have said.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011 via mobile

Lovely hotel, 400m walk to San Gimignano, clean, run by a beautiful, friendly Italian family with a great restaurant, yummy food. Only thing was that our room was right on the road, and we had difficulty sleeping because of the noise, you could literally hear everything. I think there may be other rooms with windows facing a different direction and they would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Excellent location in Chiara a suburb/village of SanG under 1/2 mile from Porta San Giovanni. Whereas parking outside the Gate costs 20€ pd (18 for 2nd, 15 for 3rd) parking in Chiara is free and, if a 10min walk is too much there's a #1 bus abt 8x during daytime (and main building of hotel has a lift to the 7 rooms on the 1st floor).
Hotel directory lists 12 rooms. -that's 7 in main building 1st floor (all with balcony), a family room adjacent, and (by deduction -I know little else) 4 rooms in an annex buiding on opposite side of road.
It would be nice to say that the 4 rooms (on the front, North side, of the hotel had splendid views of the Manhatton like SanG skyline but they don't! -all blocked by the annex opposite and a few trees. That view is, nevertheless, available by walking only a few metres along the village street. Also it looked as though the view from the Annex windows would be blocked by tall grasses. Our room (#30), looking South, had a lovely view of the Tuscan hills/plains, albeit partially blocked by Relais Santa Chiara on one side (which must have magnificent views, but at a price!) and an appartment block on the other. Rooms 26 and 28 would have a similar, but more 'slanty' view.
The (7) rooms are minimalist in decor (ie uncomfortable! -Oh for an upholstered chair to sit in rather than a steel/plastic 'canteen' chair to sit on!) and there are maintenance issues! I repaired/adjusted the sink pop-up waste and rewired the tv aerial (but still couldn't get the promised english language station!) Cracks right through bathroom floor and wall tiles. (is this an earthquake area?), etc, etc.
In our first meal of 2 in the restaurant it took just over a hour to serve our (cold) starter but that aside service (and the breakfast) quite good. Hotel/restaurant is run and largely manned by 3 generations of the same family -all try hard, and english provided by the 2 daughters.
We 'warned' to the place, despite its failings, and stayed 2 days beyond the originally booked 2!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We just came back from a 5 days vacation, where the six of us (three icelandic couples) had five fabulous days of vacation, exploring the the surroundings of San Gimignano. Short to say, we stay´d at the da Graziano hotel, located approx. 5 min. walking distance from the old center of San Gimignano. It´s very affordable, clean and has a friendly atmosphere. Hotel da Gratziano turned out to be exactly the hotel we had been looking for. It´s run by a family, where the grandfather, the oldest staffmember is highly respected from the younger ones. It´s exactly the image we had been looking for in a hotel in the countryside. It fulfilled our expectations 110%. So, the da Gratziano hotel in San Gimignano is highly recomended by us. We´d like to thank for a very enjoyable stay. Three Icelandic couples.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

This hotel was excellent and very well located and in walking distance to san Gimignano. Very nice and affordable restaurant.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ristorante da Graziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante da Graziano

Address: Via G.Matteotti, 39/a, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante da Graziano 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ristorante da Graziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ristorante Da Graziano San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante da Graziano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.