We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect GetAway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vicario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Il Vicario to your Saves list
Il Vicario
Localita Sant'Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect GetAway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was surprised with a trip to Il Vicario with (3 levels of cooking lessons) for our wedding anniversary.
We had the best time ever...Fulvio is welcoming, Fab tour guide and a lot of fun. Katia was my expert cooking teacher and friend. For 3 days we cooked together preparing over 15 menu items. She was amazing as a teacher and a totally sweet person! She has answered questions in my emails after about recipes and more. Il Vicario is such a lovely place to stay as a hub and relaxing refuge from everything rushed. Clean, confortable and friendly. Did I say how fantastic their hospitality is? Great Friends and Great food and drink! So much to do close by. We were there 4 nights with day trips daily and of course my cooking lessons every evening. The memories continue....

Room Tip: We opted for the apartment...lots of room and privacy! And a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    30
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
149
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I loved all of Italy but this was our absolute favorite part of the trip! Other guests we met at the B&B extended their stay at Il Vicario just like us because you can truly feel the essence of Tuscany. From this little gem you can branch out and go on day trips to San Gimignano or three other walled cities within an hour or so. Fulvio and Katia have fantastic recommendations and will help you firm up a loose itinerary with wineries, views, scenic drives, etc... but here's the clencher. Each evening as you retire from all the walking feeling overloaded with culture, museum fatigue, driving around, wine, etc... you get to retreat to the B&B where they cook you a fantastic dinner which is filled with great conversation from both other guests and the host! The price is very reasonable and the home cooked food comes out slow which in any other circumstance would be a bad thing. But here it is paired with wine, apps, conversation and a few additional courses plus dessert! At the end of this couple hour experience we felt like we were in complete zen! We repeated it three times and would have kept going if we could. We can't wait for our next visit! It is obvious that Fulvio found his dream job! His warmhearted nature and genuine positive attitude lift the room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic but ask for the rooms over looking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you don't have family in Italy, stay here, you will feel as if you do. Wonderful hosts, charming, clean B&B, comfortable bed. We had their home cooked dinner twice during our stay and took part in the cooking class. Super good. They went over the top to help us with a travel difficulty and made our 5 night stay in Tuscany the best!! Great location for exploring Tuscany with as much help as you want from Fulvio and Katia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My niece and I spent two wonderful nights at Il Vicario and we had the best time cooking and laughing with Fulvio and Katia. The views of Tuscany were awesome. Fulvio got us a cab to go into town. San Gimignano is picturesque and friendly. Lots of affordable leather goods and souvenirs. The local wine is good. We should have planned a longer stay, but my niece wanted to see all of Italy in one week. Easy to get to by train from Pisa Centrale. Get off at Certaldo and then take a taxi to Il Vicario. We called Fulvio from the Certaldo train station and he told us how to get there. Such a genuine, all-around nice guy! His niece Katia is a doll! She taught our cooking class and her knowledge of Tuscan cuisine was impressive. We plan to return and spend more time in Tuscany. Loved it!

Room Tip: Our room, number 3, was spacious and looked to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Yes it's hard to find, but well worth it -tip put coordinates in Google and print road map. We have just stayed 4 nights and wished it was 4 more. Fulvio is an outstanding, welcoming, and generous host. Our room was rustic (note if you want contemporary and marble bathroom this may not be for you) very clean and cleaned each day which was a nice touch, the water was hot and the towels were clean each day. The breakfast is simple continental which was fine as if like us you had eaten Fulvios dinner, you don't need much. Dinner was just fantastic. No menus just 4 courses of Fulvios cooking with plenty of lovely wine. Great value and definitely better than eating out in our view. So the cookery course was taken by Katia and we had a great few hours making pasta, sauces, desert, bruschetta etc. we did it with three other people and we all had a great time and learnt quite a bit. We ate all our own food which actually turned out to be pretty good. Fulvios and Katia are English fluent but Katia's mum Franca is 100% Italian and we used Itranslate on our ipad to communicate with her which she appreciated. Wifi works fine, not super fast but totally adequate and of of course free which was nice. We preferred Volterra to Sangimignano but glad we did both. Great base to explore from. Recommend-100% absolutely.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This bed and breakfast is difficult to find but definitely worth the effort. It is not fancy but very clean and our room was spacious. Our walks in the morning provided fresh air and breath taking views! Our host, Fulvio, was a delight! He made our stay pleasant and educational and also gave us valuable tips for the rest of our trip through Italy. The five star rating comes because of the cooking class we took while we were here. Absolutely a must if you stay here! Fulvio's niece Katia conducts the class and is lovely. This is much more than a cooking class, even if you don't cook, it is worth taking. Great people, great views, great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is our go to place right outside San Gimingnano. Expect a warm welcome from Fulvio and Katia. Their cooking class is delicious and fun. If you are looking for an authentic b&b that is an excellent value try IlVicario. Returning in April and I can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Vicario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Vicario

Address: Localita Sant'Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Vicario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Vicario San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
Il Vicario Hotel San Gimignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vicario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.