We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible respite in the heart of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vicario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Vicario to your Saves list
Il Vicario
Localita Sant'Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An incredible respite in the heart of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

During a whirlwind 2.5 week trip through Italy, we were lucky enough to book a 3 night stay at Il Vicario right in the middle of our journey. It turned out to be a perfect place to step back, relax, and enjoy some quiet time in Tuscany. The best part of an incredible visit was our hosts, Fulvio and Katia - incredibly warm, friendly, and hospitable. Each day we were there, we spent time at the pool overlooking a picturesque Tuscan hillside, and enjoyed the wonderful dinners prepared by our hosts and served on the patio. Twice we asked Fulvio to prepare lunch for us, which he was glad to do and served to us in the garden sitting area. Katia led a cooking class where we made homemade pasta and saltimbocca (among other things), and we have since made them at home several times. It was a very laid back and relaxing part of our trip, and a short (10 min?) drive to San Gimingnano. The grounds and rooms are rustic and comfortable, exactly what you would expect in Tuscany. We could not recommend Il Vicario more highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    30
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a delightful three days at Il Vicario. Katia and Fulvio were welcoming and the room was comfortable and very nice. We took the cooking class with Katia and we learned quite a bit and it was clearly one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The B&B is conveniently located just a short drive outside of San Gimignano and it was very easy to get around. Breakfast with Fulvio was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Had the best time with Fulvio & Katia, the most friendliest people. Did the cooking class with Katia and it was amazing...learned so much about simple cooking which tasted fantastic....Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a lovely holiday here two years ago and just couldn't wait to return .
Fulvio and Katia were very welcoming and we had a great room at the back of the hotel this time.
The weather was too hot for us this year but we had the pool to relax by and we just moved a little slower and did a little less than we would normally have done.
We stayed 4 nights and ate there each night . The food is just fantastic, 4 courses ,matched wines and great conversations with other guests from around the world.
Thank you Flavio for the lovely bottle of wine you gave us to celebrate our wedding in December and we loved the pictures of Katias own wedding in September .

Room Tip: The apartment is very large and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Like the Curate's egg it was good in parts. Location was pleasant and the fact the swimming pool is slightly away from the hotel means it feels quite private. Hosts Katia and Fulvio are very pleasant. The breakfast has some choice but didn't inspire me. If you happen to retire to bed early to sleep be aware that other guests may still be laughing and talking outside and you may wish to take earplugs to reduce the noise which can be easily heard in bedrooms and can last into the night. Be sure to enquire about the cost of evening meals before you eat. If you look on the google maps you may notice the hotel is next to another building that is being renovated. Swimming pool had dead insects in the bottom of it which weren't cleared away during our stay and the pool liner rim (at water level) has a yellow stain around it which could be easily cleaned off by owner. These aspects took the edge off what would have been a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in Tuscany in May 2012, staying in San Gimignano as our base and taking regional day trips in our rental car. The sun was bright and the temperature was about 70 degrees on May 8 as we drove from San Gimi to Il Vicario for our cooking lesson. We were greeted by Katia about twenty minutes before our lesson was to begin. We chose to walk around outside, taking in the fantastic views of the vineyards and olive groves in the distance that were drenched in sunlight. In short, the setting at Il Vicario is perfect. If we return to the area, we will likely stay at Il Vicario.

When the starting time for the lesson arrived, Katia informed us that it would be a private lesson because nobody else had reserved the day - - it would be just Katia and me and my wife. Katia was warm, personal and fun. I’m not much of a cook although my wife is. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our six hours at Il Vicario. We made two types of pasta from scratch (picci with eggs and bowtie pasta without eggs), bruschetta, a sausage ragu with the picci, a white bean pasta dish with the bowtie pasta, saltimbocca (chicken and prosciutto) and tiramisu for desert. All of this was drawn out over an enjoyable several hours with great conversation with Katia, and Fulvio dropped in occasionally as he was busy with several errands around the premises (mostly cleaning and playing maid for the B&B!!). We truly feel like we got to know Katia very well over the course of the day and have even invited her and her husband to drop in and see us when they come to the states. The best way to say it is that we feel like we made two new friends in Fulvio and his niece, Katia.

As we cooked the various dishes, we ate them in the dining room at the B&B with Katia, Fulvio and two guests who were staying at the B&B and who previously had been relaxing on the patio in the warm sunshine with a bottle of wine. Fulvio engaged us in conversation while we ate and welcomed us with open arms. Overall, this was definitely our favorite part of our Tuscany adventure. We really enjoyed getting to know Katia and were able to learn more about the region, food, and culture through her local knowledge. The entire day was just a delightful experience. I have no hesitation in whole heartedly recommending the cooking class at Il Vicario!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We first visited Il Vicario two years ago and had such a wonderful time that we promised ourselves we would return one day, if we could afford it. With my wife having a significant birthday in June, we decided that the time was ripe and booked a second visit. Fulvio and Katia made us as welcome as before, catering to our vegetarian requirements and even moving us to another room when we couldn't sleep!

On our previous visit, we had alternated dining out in the evening with eating at Il Vicario on others, and our hosts' cooking won hands down, so we elected to 'eat in' every night for the whole week this time. The food was uniformly excellent, matched by the wine, all locally produced, and every night was different. I recommend eating in! Being a guesthouse, not a restaurant, there is no menu, no wine list, you are just served that evening's dinner and nobody is ever disappointed. One of our fellow guests, from the Netherlands, was a wine connoisseur and was amazed by the quality of what was being served: he couldn't believe that this was all included in the price of dinner!

The pool was indispensible, given the very high temperatures (36 to 38 degrees in the middle of every day), so giving up and lounging in the shade was a great bonus, even for us, who prefer to be up and out and visiting places. But what makes Il Vicario so special, ultimately, is the people. Fulvio, the owner, and Katia, his niece, are the most welcoming people you could wish to meet, full of character and both truly generous spirits. Katia also runs a thriving Tuscan cooking school in the kitchen of Il Vicario, which gets rave reviews.

We ate amongst visitors from Belgium, New Zealand, the US, the Netherlands, Germany and Finland: all treated with equal warmth, all made to feel part of something special. Would we go back: of course. Ciao.

Room Tip: There are five double rooms and one apartment, all very good, but basic. They are denoted by colours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Vicario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Vicario

Address: Localita Sant'Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Vicario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Vicario San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
Il Vicario Hotel San Gimignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vicario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.