We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rain didn't dampen our week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Save
You added Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio to your Saves list
Loc. Sant' Andrea 22, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The rain didn't dampen our week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent a week here at the end of November into early December. It rained the entire week but we didn't let it ruin our week. We were welcomed warmly by Eliza and shown our room on the outside of the agriturismo - we liked this as it had a separate entrance to the internal rooms and we could come and go as we pleased without having to enter inside. We also had a good connection to the wifi. We had a lovely view over the vineyards and could see San Gimignano up on the hill when we had a clear morning. I am disappointed that due to the rain I did not get to take a horse ride as I was looking forward to this. We dined in most nights with Tiziana doing all the cooking. The food was amazing and very VERY filling. Dinner was served with wine made from their vineyards and the honey from their bees. I recommend that you visit this place if you have transportation as you will need your car to get you around the area and to Florence, Siena etc. We had an excellent and very enjoyable week and look forward to returning in the warmer months if I ever get a chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lovely place. We were given a great welcome shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and given a fantastic dinner simple but delicious. Im not usually a fan of grappa but really enjoyed the one I had here - very tasty.

Our bed was comfortable and we had a good night sleep. Bathroom was very new, shower was fine and we could control the room temperature which was good. wi-fi was available in the room although it was a bit patchy at times.

Breakfast was fabulous and we ended up buying some of their honeys and the amazing olive oil. Eliza was very welcoming and friendly and gave us a fantastic restaurant recommendation for our Sunday in San Gimignano (it's very close about a 8 minute drive) and you can see the town from the Agriturismo. Would definitely love to stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very nice place to stay. On a ridge overlooking San G. Huge family style dinners, lots of conversations with other nationalities. A pool, horseback riding, cooking classes and suggestions for places to visit. Tiziana and Alice did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. They raise bees for honey (500 hives), grapes, olives and saffron. A nice pool with beautiful views. Rooms are nice. Price of e160 includes breakfast and dinner. Dinner starts at 8pm and ends around 10:30. We learned not to eat lunch.

Room Tip: Rent a car to explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I really want to return to stay overnight after an awesome experience we had visiting here over lunch on our Bus Tour. The food and wine was home made with 99% of the ingredients from their Farm. Our host was extra special making sure we didn't leave hungry after a few glasses of red, white, and dessert wine from their vineyard. We bought 4 bottles of their wine to bring back home. The views around this isolated location were spectacular......just like in the Movies!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My recent visit to Il Vecchio Maneggio proved to be all that I had remembered it to be from my first visit some years ago. The accomodations are not luxurious, but practical and comfortable. The scenery around the property is breathtaking, with clear views of the city of San Gimignano in the distance, surrounded by all the beauty of the hills of Tuscany. The most incredible aspect of this location however, is the warm, generous hospitality of the the proprietors, Tiziana and Mauro. Tiziana opens her arms and her home to visitors and LOVES to feed her guests from their ORGANIC farm and gardens. Tiziana speaks some english, but even without words, a visitor can feel the warmth, pride and passion that this family has for their working farm and B&B.
So...highlights would be: Their amazing honey (yes, they keep bees), organic wine, family-style dinners, low-key relaxed atmosphere, and of course, the matriarch Tiziana! I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbernini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubize, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hospitality, very good food as much as you want! Unbelievable kindness! Tiziana is unforgettable! All the people in this agriturismo must receive 5 stars! Tiziana, Eliza, Patrizia, Mauro, Mario, Simone and Mario. Thank you all for this wonderfull stay.
The dinners were excellent moments with the friends we made there from Vancouver, Seattle and Tazmanie! We will never forget this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

From the first minute there, until our last minute, we enjoyed Il Vecchio Maneggio and entire staff. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, the food is so tasty, so good, and the hosts Tizziana and Mauro, are so welcoming and warm people.
We already miss them, and the 8 o'clock dinner served by Tizziana. We are 100% coming back here.
Tuscany ~ Il Vecchio Maneggio ~ Tizziana and Mauro and all the personel.
We recommend to everyone Il Vecchio Maneggio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gimignano
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 107 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#25 of 107 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio

Address: Loc. Sant' Andrea 22, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming typical farmhouse, whose name could not be different from "Il Vecchio Maneggio" (the old Horseback Riding Centre), set on top of a hill, enjoys lovely views over the Tuscan countryside. The Pieraccini family, the owners of this organic farm, have always lived here, working the land, rearing horses and keeping bees. The old farmhouse, which has been recently restored retaining the original features of this typical Tuscan country house, today can accommodate guests in the family-run agriturismo "Il Vecchio maneggio," which offers 5 comfortable rooms; the fully equipped kitchen where Tiziana, an experienced and excellent cook, transforms the farm products and other local specialties into delicious meals, served in the large dining room whose patio doors enjoys lovely views of the medieval town of San Gimignano and of the surrounding countryside. Guests are free to discover the activities and the daily life at the farm such as harvesting, picking the olives, extracting honey, feeding horses and other animals of the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing