We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo al torrione” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo al Torrione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo al Torrione to your Saves list
Palazzo al Torrione
via Berignano, 76, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
102
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Outstanding place. Our room was the perfect size, views were unbelievably good. Clean rooms nicely appointed. Proprietors (Francesco and Vanna) were great hosts: very helpful,courteous and accommodating. Bathroom was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was quaint, fresh and enjoyable. Coffee is quite limited to Europe style choices. Tv and Internet could use significant upgrade.

While our room was non smoking, the smell of smoke was noticeable in other areas that you pass through. But this was the only real negative. Overall, we loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the nicest rooms on our trip. The spotless, well furnished rooms were larger than the typical Italian hotel room. The breakfasts featured fresh bread and pastries from a local bakery. We traveled just befor the high season and negotiated the breakfast into the very reasonable room rate. It was an ideal base to explore the city, its shopping and restaurants. The hotel was highly recommended by Rick Steve's plus there is a 10% discount by showing his book.

The ancient building has been lovingly renovated into a 10 room hotel with nice sized rooms, some with a patio or balcony. We had a small patio room overlooking the countryside, ideal to sip a sunset glass of wine. The B&B was located one block from the main drag and next to the medieval city wall - probably 200 feet above fields below. You could see forever.

The owners, Vanna and Francesco, operate a Tabbacci on the main drag, one block (5 min) away. You “check in” there and are escorted to the hotel. Parking was outside the city walls, about 5 minutes to the hotel. The rooms were quiet with no outside street noise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 4 nights in December in a suite that accommodated our family of four. Our hostess graciously helped us settle in on Christmas Day and pointed us in the direction of a good place for dinner. They were always helpful with directions, destinations, a ride to our car with bags, and restaurant recommendations.
The rooms were very clean and felt authentic. The breakfasts featured fresh baked pastries from the local bakery.

Room Tip: The two adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom worked well for us. We had plenty of light. Locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was really pleased with how good the rooms are and how nice the place is. Is just off the main street but is completely quiet and great.

Highly recommended. Eat at the small local restaurant just up the road to the left as you look at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were at this hotel for only one night. The fact this is not a typical hotel is not easy to get the keys and you need to arrive at the latest for 7:00 pm.

The room was charming, clean and well decorated. However, the air conditionning was not working properly, hence it was quite hot in the room.

Also, we had to take a fast shower as the water would not drain properly in the shower and would risk spilling over the little ledge.

Those problems can be easily fixed however.

Hotel is very close to everything and perfect for visiting this very nice town. Parking was outside the city walls but was only a few minutes walk once you know your way around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Palazzo Al Torrione really lived upto it's promises. It is vaue for money and quality. As with many old buildings there is no lift but only stairs but if you are healthy - no problem! Hostess is great as are the staff. Making reservations and assisting wherever possible. We should have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo al Torrione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo al Torrione

Address: via Berignano, 76, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo al Torrione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Al Torrione San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo al Torrione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.