We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Dimora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Dimora to your Saves list
Antica Dimora
Localita San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I originally booked this B&B I chose to ignore the comments made by other TripAdvisor reviewers thinking that people were being a bit picky. Not the case.

I booked this accommodation for three nights. Prior to arriving at the B&B I received an email requesting that I reply to let them know our arrival time. I did reply to this email but upon arrival, there was no one there to greet us. My husband and I tried numerous times to contact the owner by telephone with many unanswered calls, a few answered calls where we were hung up on and eventually one call that was answered.

Neither my husband nor I speak Italian and the person on the other end spoke no English but after quite a while on the phone we were able to indicate that we were at the B&B waiting to get in.

About half an hour later a very nice young woman arrived on a motor scooter to let us in. Again there was a language barrier but we all managed to get across all that was needed.

We were placed in a lovely room on street level and it was indicated that we had a key and full use of the shared kitchen upstairs. It was also made clear that there would be no breakfast made available during our stay - we were on our own. The closest place to buy any supplies was in San Gimingano which was about 6 kms away, so off we went for supplies.

So, in effect we were not staying in a B&B but in a B&noB.

Our rooms were made up each morning in a substandard manner, the towels were threadbare, the shower sprayed out onto the floor and had nowhere to go except into big puddles.

It is really a shame that this B&B is not well run as it could be a delightful place to spend a few days.

I would not recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Make sure breakfast is included in your Tarrif or be prepared to bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aviano, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The actual place itself is beautiful and everything you would hope for and expect in a charming Italian farmhouse. The little area it is set in is tiny, quaint, charming. Unfortunately there are no restaurants there but up the road at Fattoria Voltrona is a 5 min or less drive and amazing food. Luckily we were able to arrange a time to meet the owner to let us in so we did not have issues there. But, like other reviews this is definitely NOT a bed and breakfast, no breakfast. That was a pretty big disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family and I spent a few days at Antica Dimora this past September 2013. We absolutely LOVED this hotel. It is very homey, great if you want to experience how it is living in Tuscany. The vineyard views are beautiful. What we loved the most is Antonella! She is the sweetest lady, She comes every morning to make you breakfast and makes the best cappuccinos! We met a Canadian couple that were also staying at Antica Dimora, they told us they initially were going to stay for one night and loved the hotel so much they ended up staying 5 nights! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 night at Antica Dimora at the end of June. The place is conveniently located not far from San Gimignano (you do need a car though), but out of the crowd of downtown.
We didn't have to wait to check in, as the cleaning lady was there (about 2 or 3 pm) and the room was ready.
The room was big and nicely decorated.
The HUGE problem that we had was during the night. All rooms are separated from the room next door only by a thin, wooden door, meaning that you can hear all that is going on next door, literally like you were in the same room.
We were very unlucky because our neighbors were a group of friends with kids, who at night gathered all in one room to have chat and a drink.
At midnight I had to knock on the door for the first time, and I politely asked them to at least turn off the tv and try to lower their voices, because we couldn't sleep.
At 2 in the morning, nothing had changed and I had to knock again, this time a little more annoyed. They replied very annoyed and basically told me not to bother them. Of course the fact that nobody from the management actually lives there, did not help the situation. They finally went to sleep after 3 in the morning and only after that we could sleep as well.
Forget the un-polite neighbors, but mainly I believe that separating rooms only by a thin, wooden door is a very, very bad idea.
Also, breakfast is pretty much not provided, even on request. We asked for it, but the girl said that we were better off going somewhere else to eat, because all she had was a prepacked croissant. Maybe tea...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Gimignano hotels

London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is another little gem in Tuscany, about 6K outside the old town and about a 15 Euro cab ride well worth the trip.
This is a very comfortable purposefully designed B&B. we had to arrive outside their normal check in times but his was quickly and easily organised on the day via e mail.
The room was spotless and tastefully decorated in-keeping with the surroundings of this stunning old Tuscan property.
There is a communal well equipped kitchen available to all.
It was so beautifully quiet.
If you can find Sonia she runs a private taxi service Highly recommended, most of the hotels know her.

Room Tip: Be sure and let them know expected arrival times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Right by beach in the heart of the old town. Room spacious and quaint.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Set in a beautiful little medieval village we found the atmosphere to be very pleasing and certainly to our tastes. The aggravating part was arriving to find the place locked up tight with only a phone number on the sign. Since we didn't have a phone we were faced with driving back up to San Gimignano to find one until the charming gentleman who we believe is the the proprietor of Fattoria San Donato, next door, saved the day. We only (?) had to wait 15 minutes for a young lady on a motorbike to arrive and check us in. The rooms are lovely, and it is a short distance to San-G. We could only imagine that if it was run with dedication it would be a great place to stay. No breakfast the next day. If interested you can read more about the place and our trip to Assisi and San G at: http://edjoseph.blogspot.com/2009/10/san-gee-wiz.html. No ads or anything just a couple of retired Americans traveling around enjoying life.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Dimora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora

Address: Localita San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the countryside sorrounding San Gimignano, "Antica Dimora", notified as historical and monumental residence, offers to its own guests the opportunity of staying with complete relax and comfort in rooms/suite/apartments furnished with antiques,canopy beds and precious fabrics. Of common use is a wide lounge with tuscan fireplace,equipped kitchen,table chairs and armchairs. Parking reserved to our guests in front of our house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Dimora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Dimora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.