We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Casanuova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Podere Casanuova to your Saves list
Podere Casanuova
Loc Montauto, 53036 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

One of the reasons we chose this Podere for our stay in San Gimignano was because of the excellent reviews we read from this page. True enough, the place was how the others described it here. Podere Casanuova was a beautiful beautiful place. One could see an expansive view of the Tuscan Hills almost all around the compound. The gardens were very nice. There were several nooks where you could have a picnic, read a book, or merely sit and enjoy the air and the scenery.

We rented the Viridis Apartment. We had a nice view of the hills in all the windows of the house. One morning I woke up very early to catch the sunrise. The scenery from our bedroom window was like a painting. It was soo beautiful, almost enchanting. The apartment has 2 very spacious rooms, with 2 Toilets and Baths. We felt very comfortable in the apartment. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed for cooking, even down to the small things such as cooking oil, rice, herbs, etc (some were probably left by previous tenants). We ate almost all our dinners at the apartment for we would always look forward to going back after spending much of the day exploring San Gimignano and the nearby towns.

The compound was very accessible by car, from San Gimignano. It was only about a 5minute drive away (rough road, but we didn't mind it). There was free covered parking inside the compound.

Lucia was the perfect host. She was very charming and very helpful.

We had a great stay at the Podere Casanuova. It made our trip perfect. We are so looking forward to going back there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

have spent 5 wonderful holidays at podere casanuova and have never had anything but the most perfect of restorative holidays. lucia and giampiero treat everyone like much loved family and indeed our son thinks that they are. joshua was just 2 the first time we went and it was great to have the space Gilvus, indoors and outdoors, for him to play. we had a paddling pool in the garden but also liked to splash in the lovely pool. walks in the woods and rides on gimapieros tractor have made for fantstic memories aswell as daily visits in to town for gelato and to chase the pigeons in the piazzas. the facilites at the podere improve every year as lucia adds more to the landscape including fresh vegetable olive tress and the maturing plants. the standard of accomoation is just what you see on the website only more lovely for the sunshine,excellent taste and quality furninhsings, everywhere is very clean on arrival and is put back that way once weekly. the kitchen facilities are good, now even with tea pots . forget the supermarket in san gimi best only for emergencies, the PAM supermarket in nearby poggibonsi is best can get nearly anything there especilaly baby stuff. lots of little shops in town with an excellent bakery near the bottom gate ( must get there early). lots of good restaurants particularly in the town hotels but a spectacular meal can be had at the vecchie mura which you need to book and the views are breathtaking as the garden restaurant jutts out over one of the city walls. bars are friendly but our favourite is in piazza duomo opposite the church doors, staff are friendly and snacks are good, in addition lots of places serve the lcoal white whine vernaccia, best drank cold. dont stop at san gimi, Florence and Siena are easy to get to , Siena is nearer, easier to park and my favourite for a more vibrant less touristy city , but further afield montepulciano , montalcino ( brunello is wonderful at the fortezza) and cortona are all driveable and delightful especially the scenery around them. other reviews have mentioned the drive up to casanuova is difficult but not if you go slow and know its coming. it is no worse than many we have encountered staying in rural spots in ireland and scotland and worth every pothole for the delight that awaits you when you reach the gates. i would recommend casanuova for familes and couples alike as everyone has their own secluded areas despite sharing the building, people sightsee a lot and the pool area is big enough for some peace but kids will love the space , the places to hide and play and to swim. i almost didnt wite this review as i dont want too many other people to find our little jewel but Lucia and Giampy deserve every success for their tireless hospitality and hard work.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

A beautiful quiet retreat with all the charms of Tuscany just a stones throw away.
Lovely, genuine people coupled with fabulous food and wine. What more could one ask for.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Great location-wonderful attention to detail, service perfect,and house charming in every way.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsteponaGippy, Proprietario at Podere Casanuova, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Thank You.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was our second stay and we enjoyed it enormously. Podere Casanuova is situated in beautiful countryside just outside San Gimignano - so well away from the crowds but within easy reach. The accommodation is very comfortable and rustic and Lucia & Giampiero are excellent hosts, giving great recommendations and booking local restaurants/activities on your behalf.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Wonderful place, everithing you dream for in your tuscany holiday.
a beautifully restored country house a couple of kilometers from san giminiano. exceptional view on the hills and vineyard. we had a nice apartment fully accessorized. there is a nice pool for the guests, barbeque facility and a friendly staff.
the only minus is the access road, about 1 km of gravel road more suited to 4x4 than my small city car.. anyway we managed!
florence and siena are 45 minutes away so ideal location even for a longer stay.

  • Liked — the quite and the view
  • Disliked — the access road
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

Just returned from Podere Casanuovo - what a charming little place with very private and well seperated accomadation with an excellent pool.

Lucia - couldn't be more helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

We stayed in Violaceus - which is a nice room with a shower and private terrace overlooking the pool. Bed was a bit hard for our liking but otherwise we could not fault the room. There is no air con but the thick walls of the farm house mean that this is not a problem.

If you are going out and about - San Gimignano is only a short drive or a 2km walk away. The town its self is beautiful but it is very touristy - I would recommend that you either go early in the morning or late at night. Best restaurant in town is the "Le Vecchie Mura" [--] with excellent views from their terrace - you definitely need to book as it normally full every night in the peak season summer months.

We did venture into Florence (on the train, from Poggibonsi station - thanks to previous poster for this advice) which was heaving. Queues everywhere and nothing for free! Best to get there very early and where possible pre-book your tickets.

Anyone looking for a (self catering) relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist traps - you've found it!

  • Liked — Location, Room, Quiet, Lucia
  • Disliked — Bed was a bit hard!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Casanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Casanuova

Address: Loc Montauto, 53036 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 103 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe apartments in a restored 17th century farmhouse on the outskirts of the medieval Tuscan town of San Gimignano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Podere Casanuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Casanuova San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Casanuova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.