We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Lovely Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sovestro to your Saves list
Hotel Sovestro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Sovestro 63, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
colchester
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Lovely Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just spent a week at this this hotel which more than met our expectations for the price and number of stars. Staff all friendly and the room and public areas kept nice and clean, the main pool was superb but the mosquitos were a bit of a problem (buy a can of spray). Breakfast was OK with lots of choice but it was a pity there was only a canned fruit salad (We are in Italy) and the fruit juice left something to be desired. Pity no tea making facilities in the room. If you don't fancy walking all the way to SG just go along the track up the hill for the lovely view of the town. Restaurant was pretty good and we ate there 3 times. Nothing to do with the hotel but, the drivers are mad, the roads are very bumpy and our Fiat 500 struggled.!!

Room Tip: Try for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Customers,
thank you kindly for your beautiful review,
we are happy and pleased to read that you spent a nice holiday in our hotel and that you enjoied our pools and you appreciated our services,
we hope that you will always have good memories of your holiday in San Gimignano,

Hope to welcome you back,

best regards
the reception-laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    112
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
231
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

So,the dilemma is...do I stay within San Gimignano city walls..or choose a hotel nearby. I did the latter and had no regrets.
Hotel Sovestro is in a lovely spot,nestling in a vineyard strewn valley,within a ten minute bus ride,up the hill,to the main gate into the town.The bus stop is at the main entrance to the hotel and they come past every twenty minutes. We actually walked back on one occasion,using the main road,and it's quite a photo fest,there's also roadside vineyard outlet (a bottle of their excellent Vernaccia €5.5,June'14). It took 30 minutes and it's all downhill,but it is quite a busy road and there are no pavements as such,so I don't think it's something for the elderly or very young.We didn't attempt the back route from the hotel up to town,it's shorter and more scenic,but there were a few Mosquitos around and they seemed to like the taste of my blood.
Driving up to the town found car parks 1 and 2 full (bottom entrance near the bus stop),so used car park 4,at the back end of town and a five minute walk up through the city walls,near the church of St.Agostino (unmissable frescos).San Gimignano needs no endorsement,it's a stunning place.
Whilst having lunch at The Terazza,which appeared to be the external seating restaurant and bar of The Hotel Cisterna,(both very nice),we watched a family arrive and unload their car amidst the busy crowds in The Piazza and didn't envy them. There's no permanent parking within the city,so I don't know how they would go on if the nearest car park was full when they arrived.Incidentally,car park 4,the cheapest,was approx 3€ for half a day.
Hotel Sovestro:Lovely breakfast terrace,extensive breakfast selection of cold meats and cheeses,boiled eggs,tomatoes,cake,bread,etc,(no toast machine or bacon/sausage).Fabulous associated outdoor restaurant (Da Pode),with memorable meals cooked by the hotel owner's wife at very reasonable cost.Large bedroom with balcony (or terrace),HD TV with Sky,large bathroom.Nice bar with indoor/outdoor seating and Dab (German) beer.Spotless interior hotel decor and furniture,large immaculate swimming pool with bar service,small (cool down) pool with waterfall and both with extensive landscaped terrace/gardens and lots of loungers.Very helpful reception and service staff. In a nutshell...I could not fault it.
And,finally,when you travel out to the many nearby tourist areas,you simply step out of the hotel, into your car in the tree lined (cool) car park and off you go.No hassle and no battling through crowds.
We'll be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for your amazing review and for the time spent to write it.
We are avery impressed of the awesome description of our hotel and the town of San Gimignano and its surroundings,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holiday, we were very glad to welcome you and we are happy to read that you appreciated the food in our restaurant as well.

We hope you will always have good memories of the days spent in our hotel,

we hope to welcome you back som day and we wish you a good Day,

best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenpoint co down
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Sovestro. This was our third visit and once again we can't speak too highly of this lovely hotel.The service by Laura ,Agnese and the rest of the staff is five star and you feel at home straight away. The double room facing the pool was perfect, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and the breakfast on the terrace was heaven. The walk on the back road/track to San Gimignano is a lovely way up to the town, with stunning views. The restaurant is very good, with great food and local wines. It even has a gym if you want to keep in shape .By far the best hotel that we have stayed in Italy.

Room Tip: Rooms face pool at the front and gardens at the back, both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mr Paddy,
thank you very much for your beautiful review and for having written your opinion, which is for us very important.
Thank you also for choosing our hotel since already many years.
We are always very glad to welcome you,
Many greetings from the Failli family and all the staff,

we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano

best regards
the reception
Agnese e Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are looking for à place to go in tuscany ,stop looking,hotel Sovestro is the place.Laura at the réception is the first reason,she takes care of you like family,the 2 swimming pools,the fantastic breakfast on the terrasse,and on and on.You CAN walk to San Giminagno.The Price of a 3 stars but treated like in a 4 stars

Room Tip: On the side of the big swimming pool,on the second floor is the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mr Marc,
thank you so much for your beautiful review
It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and we are really happy that you spent a nice holiday in our hotel.
We hope that you will always have good memories of your holiday in San Gimignano and we wish you to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you

best regards
the reception-laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I spent 2 nights. Everything comfortable, well furnished, clean. Close to main road but in peaceful area- you can have real rest.
Big car park, luxurious swimming-pool in front, absolutely smashing restaurant with unprecedented choice of great wines. I had the best dinner in my life (so far:)
Rather high prices.

Plan to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mrs Agnieszka,
thank you so much for your kind and friendly review and thank you for having written your opinion and thoughts about your stay.
We are very glad that you spent a nice holiday and that you appreciated our services and facilities..
We hope you will remember your holidays at Sovestro as something pleasant.

we look forward to welcoming you again,

yours sincerely,
family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast - Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Has to be one of my favorite places in the WORLD.

NOT overly fancy by any means, however the setting and service is unbeatable.

The onsite restaurant Da Pode is great for dinner and the breakfast is very good.

Only a short drive to the hill top where you will be impressed by the variety of shops, restaurants and local craft work.

Free parking and free Wifi is also at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor over looking the Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Customers,

we are very thankfull for your beautiful words describing your impression and feelings about our property,
we are happy that you enjoied both our hotel and restaurant and thank you for coming back soon to visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you in few months,
Thank you

best regards
The Failli family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

just spent 5 days here- they just deliver on everything. Meals, rooms, pool, location, parking , staff....exceeded all expectations in every regard.
the walk back up the country road to town was the selling point and it just got better and better. The owner and his family are friendly and perfect hosts.
Rafaella in the Pode restaurant was charming and very helpful- we planned our next day around her advice and tips. We will be back each May....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your amazing review,
we are very glad to read that you appreciated our hotel and restaurant.
It was our pleasure and of our family to welcome you in San Gimignano,
Thank you also from Raffaella and all the staff.

We really hope to welcome you again in our Hotel and Restaurant,

Have a great Day,

best regards
family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sovestro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.