We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Find And An Enjoyable Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sovestro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Sovestro 63, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in San Gimignano
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Find And An Enjoyable Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed six nights at the Hotel Sovestro. What a pleasant find. We cannot say enough about the staff. All were very attentive, extremely helpful and went out of their way to make your stay most enjoyable. A special thank you to Agnese, Laura and Sergio: "Thank you for "looking after the four us!"

The hotel and our room were very clean and proper. The rooms were fine. The bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was modern and large. All rooms had free WIFI and a room safe. There was a tv in the room but we never turned it on.

The grounds were well maintained as are the two pools.

Breakfast was complimentary and we were provided with a large selection of breakfast food. They even took requests for eggs which were prepared in the adjacent main restaurant. We ate two dinners in the main restaurant. We found the food there to be excellent as was the wine.

The hotel's location is great. It is less than a five minute drive to San Gimignano. There also is a pleasant 30 minute walk to San Gimignano via a dirt road that runs next to the hotel. Along the way you pass some B&Bs, grape vines and olive trees. A very nice way to get to the medieval walled city.

The hotel's location is wonderful. We used it every day for day trips to visit other parts of Tuscany, such as Siena, Volterre, Chinati, Montalcino and Montepulciano.

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Sovestro and are happy to recommend it.

LK from Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have nice terraces where you can enjoy a bottle of wine with some antipasto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Clients,
thank you very much for your wonderful review and for having written your opinion, which is for us very important..
We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated our rooms and services.
Many thanks als from Agnese and Laura and all the staff..
We are also happy that you could visit mainly San Gimignano and also the towns and the beautiful landscape of this area..

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

Thank you again and we wish you a very happy new year,

best regards
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    97
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
209
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary with a trip to Italy mid October. One of our stays was Hotel Sovestro, a quiet, extremely clean and comfotable hotel. This hotel is located in the hills of Tuscany with a close proximity to San Gimignano, a fantastic, medieval village with fabulous stores and restaurants. We enjoyed our walk there and back from Hotel Sovestro, which helped burn off all the pizza, pasta and wine we consumed. What was surprising was the excellent internet service at this hotel compared to all the other hotels we stayed at throughout our 16 day trip. This was important for us to communicate with our two children that we had left behind. We spent 5 nights on this property, which has a lovely pool area. From this location, we were able to drive to various day trips such as Florence, Pisa, Portofino and The Mall. The owner and staff at this hotel were very helpful and this made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Clients,
thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are glad that you appreciated our services as the internet access wi-fi and we are very happy that you spent a nice holiday here in San Gimignano and that you visited not only San Gimignano but all the surroundings and the beautiful towns and cities of this region.

We really hope that you'll always have good memories of your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you and your family again in the future,

Wishing you a happy new year,

with our best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only 5 minute drive from San Gimigiano, and on a bus route to Florence and Sienna. Hotel clean, staff friendly and eager to help with information. Mattresses too firm for our comfort. Air conditioning intermittent, off for a few hours every day, and one night it was only turned on after we made an inquiry as to why we couldn't get cool air in our overly warm room. But for 125 euro/night, there was very good value. Nice patio and swimming pool area. Breakfast included, very good variety. Best surprise was the attached restaurant, which we enjoyed twice. All food delicious, good wine selection. Less than 60 euro each evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you very much for your review and also for specifing those things that didn't satisy you, it is useful for us to improve our job..
We only would like to clarify, that in october, even if during the day there was sun, during the night it was cooler ( approx. 11-15 degrees) and due to the many requests of the clients asking for heating we had to turn heating on and turn off air conditioning,unfortunately to the detriment of the 1 or 2 rooms ( among the 40) requesting air conditioning.
We are a three star hotel, and there are some services that cannot be those of a four or five star hotels ( who may have a double system).
Thank you also for appreciating other services of our hotel and our restaurant and the variety of the breakfast, we are very happy about that..
we hope that you will have mainly good memories of your stay in San Gimignano and look forward to welcome you again

thank you

best regards
the reception
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Last october I stayed with a group of friends for 4 nights in Hotel Sovestro, only 2 kms away from the city of San Gimignano. The location in the middle of a Tuscany landscape is ideal: with a car or a bus you can reach San Gimignano in about 5 minutes and if you want to go on foot you can reach the center in less than half an hour.
All members of staff and personnel are very friendly and doing their best to make your stay as agreable as possible. Most rooms have a little garden or a balcony and are looking out on the garden or the swimming pools.Even in early October we had a nice swim.
The restaurant of the hotel is absolutely recommendable: we could enjoy the typical Tuscan food (no fish) of the chef in a very charming atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you very cmuh for your wonderful words and for finding the time to write your review, we appreciate a lot your compliments and we are happy, that even in october you could enjoy our swimming pools and that you tasted our tuscan- kitchen!

We look forward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the reception
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in this charming hotel early October. It's a great place to stay if you like to visit the fantastic town of San Gimignano.
All people working in this hotel are extremely nice and friendly. They are willing to give you all kinds of tips about the town and Tuscany so that you'd enjoy your visit to the area the best you possibly can.
The restaurent in this hotel is very good and the food is great.
Surely the best place to stay in when in San Gimignano.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kindness and for th beautiful review you wrote..we are very glad that you enjoied your holiday in our hotel and that you spent a nice time with us.

we hope you will always remember your holiday with joy and pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano

best regards
the owners
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drumlish
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. From the welcome on arrival we were made to feel our custom was appreciated. A refreshing change from the usual chain hotels. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, especially Agnes, and it really made our stay all the more relaxing. The restaurant food was delicious, the menu is quite varied, (perhaps a little more fish/seafood choice), but excellent service at a relaxed unhurried pace. The pool and surrounding area are great just to sit out ,catch the sun, sip the wine, have a dip. A short walk to San Gimignano by the old back road, but far enough away to be undisturbed by the constant tourism traffic. We really enjoyed our 3 days here and will certainly return in the near future. Oh, the free wifi works everywhere too, even at the pool, and plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you so much for your beautiful review and all the compliments you refer to our hotel and the food of restaurant..It is very important for us and our job!
We are pleased that you appreciated our services and that you spent a nice and relaxing holiday with us.!

Thank you very much also from our owner Sergio and Lucia and all the family

We hope that you will always have good memories of your stay here and hope to wlcome you again in the future.

Best regards
the reception
Agnese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We cannot speak too highly of this hotel and the onsite Owner Managers. Variations to our booking were handled with generous & professional aplomb.
The restaurant is excellent, the setting, accommodation, pool & surrounds were first rate. We only stayed two nights after originally booking three due to a change in ongoing travel arrangements, and certainly wouldn't hesitate to visit again. The convenience of the location to San Gimignano township is a plus as we found out when driving ourselves back late the first night after a day full of delightful distractions..and a couple of wrong turns..ahem

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you very much for your beautiful review and for being so kind to write your opinions, for us very important.
We are happy to read that you enjoied to stay in our hotel and that you apperciated our services and our job.
we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano and that you will have always good memories of your holiday here!

best regards
Family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sovestro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.