We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Fattoria Voltrona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Voltrona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fattoria Voltrona to your Saves list
Fattoria Voltrona
Localita San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Haines City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at Fattoria Voltrona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My Fiancee and I can't say enough about our stay at Fattoria Voltrona. We live in Florida and had never visited Italy or Tuscany. We were pleasantly surprised and had a wonderful stay at Fattoria Voltrona. The room was exceptionally nice, very clean and very Tuscan. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely view overlooking the farm and grape vines. Breakfast on the Terrace was lovely. The staff were wonderful especially Marco. He spent time giving us information about the area and Italy. Fattoria is about 3 miles from San Gimignano which is a beautiful Tuscan town. I highly recommend staying at Fattoria Voltrona. We will definitely stay there again. Our stay there was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    124
    35
    9
    0
See reviews for
93
217
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I visited this farm for 3 nights with my boyfriend. It was truly amazing.
We stayed in a room with a balcony, it was in a building far away from the reception, a small walk but it ensured that the nights were absolutely quiet. There was a nice pool, which is an incredible plus, I never been in any other Agriturismo that had a pool.
Our room was small and cute, very rustic. Nothing fancy but perfect for a farm experience.
Every night we ate at the farm restaurant. Their food is very good and cheap compared to the regular prices of the area. The staff was nice, accommodating and friendly. They hire some English speakers, which is wonderful since I am Italian but my boyfriend is not, so it's great to not always have to translate everything =)

The farm location is gorgeous, outside San Gimignano, perfect location for day-trips to San Gimignano, Volterra and Siena!
Sadly the horse rides were all booked out, so I could not try that :(
Oh well, the farm itself was already a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Get a balcony, it's worth it to eb able to sit outside and enjoy the evening's fresh air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We recently travelled to Italy to visit my wife's family and took a mini holiday to Tuscany. We found this amazing B & B where every aspect of our stay was above expectations and standards. Clean rooms, breathtaking views, delicious food in the restaurant and exceptional customer service. I highly recommend this accommodation to every visitor who travels to San Gimignano or Volterra.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location with beautiful views. Ideal location for visiting Tuscany - San Gimignano, Volterra, Monteriggioni, Sienna. A stunning location with plenty of places to just relax and enjoy the views, or walk and explore the countryside. Breakfasts on the terrace was lovely, if a little limited in range compared to other places we stayed. Dinners were delicious and fixed menu option fantastic value including their local wine. We went on a couple of 1hr horse rides through the Tuscan countryside, we're not experienced riders the Icelandic horses were great, the tolte was such a laugh - worth booking just to experience this smooth "5th gear" ride - would love to go again.

Room Tip: If a garden or balcony are important, book early so you get some choice - we only had a basic room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here on a visit to Tuscany. The farm is lovely. Quaint, quiet and absolutely stunning views of the countryside. Just a 10 minute drive from the town of San Gimignano which makes for a nice day trip, although we preferred relaxing by the pool and taking in the amazing views. Our room was quite simple (one of the cheaper options available) but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included which was good, but dinner was a real treat. Four courses, great food, on a terrace overlooking the hills of vineyards and olive groves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Down a bumpy gravel Rd. We were made to feel that we should be grateful of such a place. We were not shown the room. Walked in and found a cockroach crawling on the floor. Killed it. Shower and toilet were in separate rooms and were no more than a cupboard size each. Had to sit sideways on the toilet. Water quality was shocking. Grey silt was sitting in basin and shower floor. It was mixed with the tap water. We were hot and tired and took it, but really it was totally over priced and inadequate. Found another roach the next day. Had to ask for poison and were told that we were on a farm. That's how it is.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattoriaVoltrona, Proprietario at Fattoria Voltrona, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Kind Voodless ,

I am very sorry about your extremely negative experience and I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your one night stay at our farm
The water problem of the aqueduct was not due to our negligence; as you know we have done everything possible to warn guests of the problem that occurred in the municipal water supply . Thanks to our own emergency system the problem of the gray water was limited to less than one hour during one morning.

Regarding the other complainings, I invite you to read careffully the information you've received from us via email prior of your booking. If you contact me, I´ll be glad to resend a copy of our communications befor your arrival.
I´m afraid that by planning your one night stay, you have not given the proper attention to the essentially rural nature of our offer; by checking just the final price that also include the city tax and breakfast, could result an offer economically more competitive than an hotel…fact that we are not.
We are not an hotel, but a farm located in a rural area in the middle of the country at the end of a dirt road.
That's how it is. That's is how was very in detail described in our comunication before your confirmation .


Sincerely .

Malcolm Leanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This agriturismo is located between San Gimignano and Voltrona. It was a gorgeous property and the rooms were lovely. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner along with wine pairings one of the nights. We also rented scooters from the owners and had a blast riding them around the area. It's the perfect location to explore this region of Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fattoria Voltrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Voltrona

Address: Localita San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by extensive gardens with fishing pond and outdoor pool, Fattoria Voltrona offers country-style rooms 6 km from San Gimignano centre. Vespa scooters and fishing equipment can be rented on site. The on-site restaurant serves authentic homemade Tuscan dishes. Dinner is served every evening in the barn, or under the stars on the terrace. Simply furnished rooms at the Voltrona have tiled floors and heating. The private bathroom comes with shower. Volterra is 23 km away, while Siena is reachable by car in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fattoria Voltrona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Voltrona Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria Voltrona San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Voltrona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.