We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST stay in Italy (and most of Europe)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Voltrona

Save Saved
You added Fattoria Voltrona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fattoria Voltrona
Localita San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“BEST stay in Italy (and most of Europe)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for several nights while exploring Tuscany, and it was amazing! The rooms are simply furnished, but exceptionally clean. The grounds are situated on a lovely working farm, with a spectacular view of San Gimignano and surrounding hillsides. It was perfectly located for our day trips to Siena, Florence, Volterra, etc. The staff is just incredible! We ate at the attached restaurant nearly every night, both for convenience and because the food was truly incredible! It is also a great value, as your multi-course meal comes with local (delicious!) wine, and is prepared with fresh ingredients grown on the premises or locally. We also did the horseback riding tour, and enjoyed it immensely. Our children are experienced riders, so they were able to go on a private ride through the vineyards and hillsides with me, which was beautiful! Try the risotto (or just about anything)! Would love to return to this wonderful little place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    111
    31
    8
    0
See reviews for
87
179
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

3 nights in the heart of Tuscany. A great medium size Fattoria to relax, eat well, engage in sports, take day trips. The location cannot be beaten .....all what you expect Tuscany to be ,absolutely quite and so groomed and generously maintained. The entire staff is marvelous . My room was huge as was my friends and absolutely unbeatable price for a place like this. Good place to stockup with vine and other culinary delights. The village of San Donato a mile away is so cute and the closeness to San Gimignano, Greve, Chianti roads and Siena make it a perfect base to enjoy other parts of Tuscany. No surprise Voltrona is heavily booked also by Italian families and couples.

Room Tip: Be glad you find a room in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Voltrona is a beautiful agriturismo, very well located between Siena and Florence just a few miles from San Gimignano. The owners are very nice and cordial and speak English well. The food is amazing, as is the the wine they make on the farm. The accommodations are basic but nice, spacious, and clean, the view from our window was like an amazing Italian painting with olive grows, cypress trees, and scattered medieval buildings as far as the eye could see, and the whole experience of being there felt very authentic and relaxing. We traveled all around - the towns of Volterra, Cortona, and Moteriggioni are all a short drive away. The agriturismo also offers icelandic horse rides in the area and a vespa you could rent for a really fun drive on the winding Tuscan roads. Highly recommend this agriturismo to anyone who wants a relaxing and authentic Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uppsala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a couple of wonderful days at Fattoria Voltrona. It was my second stay there and this time I presented it to my daughter and granddaughter.The staff is really welcoming and helpful. The rooms are decorated in a rustique and tasteful way and the view from the window is breathtaking, like the landscape overall in Toscana. We had lunch and dinner indoors, in April it is a bit chilly in the pergola. The food and wine is very good and is served by helpful people, one of them a nice guy from Sweden, who gave us good direction with the menu, The second day we went horseback riding and the horses are really nice and well behaved. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kópavogur, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Outstanding service (thanks Claudia and the swedish girls), beautiful view, big rooms for families, playing area for kids, Icelandic horses for the kids (best horses in the world:)), fishing pond, breakfast fine, lunch fine and dinner fine for value and yes did I mention the BEAUTIFUL view again! You can walk to San Gimignano (5km) which is a beautiful town.

Great for families in every aspect...have already started to recommend to friends:)

p.s. they make their own olive oil and wine which both taste great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The place is stunning and the staff is really nice and helpful. I will definitely return to Fattoria Voltrona again, hopefully for more than just a quick night's sleep.
The only negative side is that there walls (and doors) are paper thin; you can hear everything that goes on on the corridors or neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed in various parts of Tuscany on 3 different occasions and this was by far the best! First off, the property is beyond beautiful. There is almost 360 degree views of the Tuscan hillside. We stayed in a room that had a small garden with a table in front which was lovely. The rooms were average/nice, clean, well kept. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, from helping us set up dinner to just saying hi any time they were out of the office walking around. We had breakfast and dinner two times there and were not disappointed. Breakfast was typical meats, cheeses, pastries, yogurt, juice, coffee but all was very tasty! Dinner was exceptional, everyone in our group loved their meals both nights, plus free wine! Unfortunately, we didnt plan ahead to take advantage of the riding so I cannot comment on that. Otherwise, location, facility, staff, food was all exceeding our expectations. Oh and the prices were great! I will definitely staying here again on my next trip!!

Room Tip: Room 11 has a fantastic view out the window and a lovely private garden with a table and of course t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fattoria Voltrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Voltrona

Address: Localita San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 99 Specialty lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by extensive gardens with fishing pond and outdoor pool, Fattoria Voltrona offers country-style rooms 6 km from San Gimignano centre. Vespa scooters and fishing equipment can be rented on site. The on-site restaurant serves authentic homemade Tuscan dishes. Dinner is served every evening in the barn, or under the stars on the terrace. Simply furnished rooms at the Voltrona have tiled floors and heating. The private bathroom comes with shower. Volterra is 23 km away, while Siena is reachable by car in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Fattoria Voltrona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Voltrona Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria Voltrona San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Voltrona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.