We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming bed and breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Molino di Foci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Molino di Foci to your Saves list
Molino di Foci
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Molino di Foci, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Rotterdam Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming bed and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Molino di Foci is in a perfect place, has an very very nice swimming pool but when we stayed in Molino di Foci the wheater wasn't good so we didn't have the change to enjoy the pool. The rooms are in Tuscan style but a little oldfashioned as far as our taste concerned. It is not a place to stay many hours at your room. Although it was very clean, some things were a old: the heathing didn't work and we didn't like the bed. Service is very good, even snacks until late in the evening (some fresh, some frozen). We also stayed in other hotels during our trip and were a little disappointed about Molino di Foci. I choose Molino di Foci because of the recommendations but wouldn't go there for an second time although the hotel it is above avarage.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

For those of you planning a stay in San Gimignano or reading the reviews on Molino di Foci, my fiancé Cathy and I would ask that you please “consider the source” when reading the options from those in our neighboring state California.

With that said, the Molino di Foci is, without a doubt, a piece of heaven in one of the most beautiful places on earth. You will not find pollution (smog), crime, traffic jams or obnoxious an arrogant people.

Cathy and I have been to over 90 countries and we loved everything about Tuscany, San Gimignano as well as Molino di Foci.

Everything in this property is fantastic. The pool is great, breakfast was great by any standards and the property is meticulously kept. The property boosts the most beautiful roses, grounds and architecture quintessential of Tuscany.

The service exceeds excellence and the owners and operators are wonderful people. There is no way to go wrong by choosing this property when in Tuscany.

Stay and enjoy one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I was expecting a "quiet place, far from the nearest road with views of the countryside," as described by other reviewers.

The nearest road was just outside our window. It is a dirt road that leads to the molino, and also to some other place further down the road. The problem is that since there is no A/C, we had to sleep with the window open. Everyday between 6 and 7 AM I got woken up by several cars driving on this road. It may have been just our room that has this problem.

Everything else in this property is really good. The pool is great, breakfast is good by Italian standards. Service is excellent and the people are nice. They also gave us very good recommendations for restaurants in the area. Room was very clean. Shower was great. They give you pool towels.

It is a good place to come back for a mid-day dip in the pool before heading out for dinner.

I also wanted to clarify that the snacks that are available during the day are not free, not that I expected them to be free, but from other reviews you may think that.

  • Liked — Pool, breakfast terrace
  • Disliked — Noise from dirt road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

Fantastic renovation. Rooms are very nice as are the bathrooms. The owners were very friendly, breakfast was nice. Overall we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Molino di Foci in June, aftering finding it on the internet. It's perfectly situated just outside San Gimignano, making it ideal for vising Florence, Siena etc. The pool and gardens were lovely, with a pretty raised terrace where breakfasts and dinners/snacks were served. Our room was fairly spacious, although a little dark (but great first thing in the morning). Breakfasts were tasty and plentiful. We loved the fact you could also have snacks and drinks throughout the day if you wanted them (up until 10pm) and three times per week they serve home cooked dinners on the terrace - delicious and great value at 20 euros per person (4 courses). The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Whilst in the area, don't miss out on visiting Volterra for the day - it's lovely. San Gim is great too, but very busy.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and yummy dinners!
  • Disliked — Bed was far too hard
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

My husband and I loved this perfect romantic getaway. Molino di Foci is peaceful and beautiful. Luca (the owner) was extremely helpful in every way. The breafast was delicious and the staff very friendly. We wish we could stay there longer.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Trip advisor does it again! We have just spent 6 nights at the end of September at Molino di Foci. The property is every bit as attractive as their website presents but what the website cannot show is the level of service provided by the owners and staff - polite, attentive and eager to please at all times but without being in the slightest bit intrusive. The location is set well back from the nearest road making all rooms peaceful with open views over the Tuscan countryside.

Breakfasts are typically continental with a selection of cereal, fruit, bread, croissants, ham, cheese and preserves. Boiled eggs available on request. Bar snacks are availabl throughout the day, and on Mondays, Weds and Fri there is an optional 4 course dinner for 20 euro, plus a fine selection of wines. These were amongst the best meals we had in Italy, and certainly represented the best value.

The location is perfect for day trips to San Gimignano, Monte Riggionni, Siena and Florence. For those drivingn Sat Nav really comes in to its own. Overall, this is one of the nicest places we have stayed and can think of no reason to consider alternatives if you want to stay in this area.

Roger & Pat Middleton.

  • Liked — peace, location, personal service
  • Disliked — nothing of any consequence
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Molino di Foci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino di Foci

Address: Localita Molino di Foci, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Molino di Foci 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Molino di Foci is an old watermill dating back to the 14th century. After being abandoned for over 40 years it has been carefully restored into a characteristic small hotel, ready to offer guests a warm welcome to the fascinating tuscan countryside. Restoration work has been sympathetically carried out over a number of years using materials and colours typical of Tuscany. As a result, Molino di Foci now offers its' guests the possibility to clearly envisage the life and history of the old watermill while enjoying any modern comforts, amid a wonderful setting surrounded by fields of wheat and spectacular sunflowers. The English speaking owners have a long experience in first class hotellerie and with the restoration they have realized their big dream of their own hotel. Situated on the via Francigena, which originally lead pilgrims from Canterbury to Rome, the Molino di Foci is an historic building protected by the Belle Arti. The Molino di Foci is only 4 kms away from the historic medieval centre of San Gimignano and ideally located for visiting both Siena and Volterra which both lie just 30 kms away, distance to Florence is 45 kms and Pisa airport 80 kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Molino di Foci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Di Foci San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molino di Foci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.