We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Il Piano Wine Tasting and Tour

Fattoria Il Piano Wine Tasting and Tour
Localita Montauto, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 320 631 4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 activities in San Gimignano
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Spring is over and summer is on it's way with every thing in leaf and a lot in flower. Just beautiful. Our wine tastings and tours are in full swing; so if you are visiting the ancient towers of San Gimignano, which stand sentinel over the Il Piano Vineyards, do get in touch and come and visit, but please make a reservation first. Just please check our Tripadvisor map as it does not seem to be accurate! The vineyards and winery have been lovingly tended by the Carlesi-Zucconi family since 1973. Begin with a stroll through the vines on your guided tour of one of this region's most traditional wineries. Taste our house wines in the underground cantina; then afterwards relax with breathtaking views of San Gimignano and the surrounding bucolic Tuscan countryside while enjoying our premier wines accompanied by local cuisine. Since we offer individual attention to guests it is important to book please.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A beautiful spot overlooking the towers of San Gimignano, a fascinating tour and lessons on wine-making followed by a tasting and lunch with our hosts, James and Andrea--what could be better?!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best day in Tuscany - relaxing, gorgeous, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

With our kids nearing adulthood, James provided an introduction to the ins and outs of winemaking, from the soil to pruning to harvest to fermenting to tasting! We all know the proper way to hold a glass now and why you swirl. It was an amazing day. The villa, its chapel, the grounds gave a sense of the history of the area. The setting was perfection - vineyards in the foreground, San G in the background, amazing food, relaxed crowd, delicious wines. Highly recommended. Felt welcomed, at home and away from the crowded tourist feel that came in town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best part of our trip to San G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our afternoon at Il Piano made our trip to San Gimignano extra special. Our wonderful host, James, took us on a tour of the beautiful property and also explained his process of making wine. A light lunch was served and there was a tasting of several different wines. The wines were really all delicious and very smooth. We ordered several bottles for us to have when we returned home. My husband and I were there on a gorgeous day and were able to relax outdoors and enjoy their amazing view of San Gimignano. I highly recommend a visit to Il Piano! Thanks again James for a fabulous afternoon!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton rouge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winery in italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our driver recommend we go to Fattoria il piano foe wine tasting, we had no idea how good this was going to be, James Freveletti was the wine maker and personal tour guide, great wine and tour, the best view in all of San Gimigiano, the highlight od the week so far, David F Baton Rouge La.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A must do on your list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Il Piano is just beautiful, there is a deck where one can sample the wines and what an amazing setting and views from here. James took us on a tour of the property the history of the vineyard and how the orginal cellars were constructed was very interesting. Importantly, it is the wine that needs to be highly recommended especially the Vernaccia a stunning white wine. Thank you James for your hospitality and the beautiful wine which we enjoyed at our renewal of wedding vows in Tuscany on June 2nd!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fattoria Il Piano Wine Tasting and Tour also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Fattoria Il Piano Wine Tasting and Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Il Piano Wine Tasting and Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fattoria Il Piano Wine Tasting and Tour to your Saves list