We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda San Domenico

Locanda San Domenico
Via del Castello 20, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 109 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Price range: $32 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In un ambiente caldo ed accogliente il profumo intenso della cucina toscana si unisce alla bellezza di un luogo ha saputo mantenere intatto il suo fascino storico. Grazie alla nostra terrazza panoramica potrete godervi la bellezza della campagna sangimignanese pur essendo nel centro della citta medievale.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick lunch and had a great meal. The help does seem indifferent but were as good as most other waitresses we encounted. The Rustic soup was s trembly good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    52
    25
    19
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Would not put at the top of my list for dinning out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I booked here for an evening meal with a table that had views overlooking the local countryside. When booking we had to leave a 20 Euro deposit to confirm the booking, which we excepted as people sometimes do not turn up when tables have been booked. when we arrived we were shown to our table and left,we had to ask to see a menu then were left again till I got up and told a waiter that we were ready to order. the meal arrived, we had both ordered the mixed grill but was not told that one would have been enough to feed both of us the potatoes turned up ten minuets later and just before we had finished the vegetables turned up. which I sent back to the kitchen. when the bill came I asked them to remove the price of the veg and had to ask for the deposit I had left to be returned. it my have been a bad night for them. but not a very good one for us either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrible place. Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The only thing good about this restaurant is the view.

It is very expensive for what is in the plate. The waiter was clueless: he was cleaning tables next to us with a smelly detergent and continued after we mentioned it was bothering us.

There is a small sign next to the cash register saying they don't take credit cards (no mention of this on the menu or on the door). Probably a way to save on the credit card commission. I am pretty sure that if you have no other means of payment, a credit card machine would materialize from nowhere...

Not a good place place. Avoid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Eight years ago,our family ate here,and had a great time.We decided to come back and found the restaurant had changed hands and had a new name.
We had a terrific meal! and you can't beat the view!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“friendly staff & excellent views with tasty Tuscan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently returned from a trip to Tuscany & spent 2 evenings dining on the outside terrace of this lovely restaurant. The staff were extremely helpful & spoke very good English, explaining anything we did not understand on the menu as our Italian is very poor. Very intimate atmosphere with stunning vies of surrounding countryside if you dine outside. Sampled wild boar stew & Tuscan mixed grill (wild boar sausage, rabbit, pork), very tasty & surprised by large portions. Chose local white wine Vernccia Di San Gimignano which was reasonably priced at 10 EUROs for a restaurant. Overall a lovely place to eat, would highly recommend it. Wish we had chosen to dine here on our last night as we visited another restaurant in town which was appalling (Don Beppone Ristorante) for which I shall be writing a separate much less favourable review :-(

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda San Domenico also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Locanda San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda San Domenico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.