We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of tuscan valley ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Giardino

Caffe Giardino
Viale Roma 17 | In the Square Outside S. Giovanni Gate, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 940854
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a little special family run eaterie. You can eat and drink here from 7am for breakfast untill 7.30Pm. We have sandwiches with our homemade bread (schiacciata), bruschetta and big salads with seasonal products and some wonderful pastas. If you would like to book, we are happy to oblige. Thanks and we look forward to seeing you soon. Francesca and Sandro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of tuscan valley ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Small and intimate, lovely food and terrific hosts! We were lucky enough to have table in front of the window. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    33
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“highlight of italy eating experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Italy is known for good food and it is truly some of the best in Europe. this place ranks in the best of the best in my book. amazing lunch with a breathtaking view. totally fell in love with this place. created an experience I will never forget. hard to describe but see for yourself. its that good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
1 review
“MUST STOP HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had to wait 20 minutes for our table, so we sipped on cold beer while doing so. I would wait an hour next time. Lunch here was as good as it gets. Our sandwiches were house recommendations, not even on the menu. I had finocchiona with artichoke and pecorinp on their homemade bread and washed it down with their house white wine, which was light and ice cold. My wife had bresaola (dried beef) and arugula and parmesan on a sandwich. We didn't try the salads but they looked amazing and al ingredients were being cut and sliced after they were ordered. It is right outside the main city gate. Stop here. You won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular view for morning coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great smells, plenty of customers (always a good sign) and an amazing Matisse like 'Open Window' view from this little cafe drew us back out through the arched gateway of San Gimignano for our morning coffee. Situated just outside the walls of this delightful medieval town, it's well worth a visit before you begin your day's sightseeing. With a lovely breeze blowing through the open window, blue skies (30C), spectacular scenery, great cappuccino and an interesting flaked almond and apricot Italian pastry it really was a great experience - sure beats Starbucks!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quirky and great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After trekking round San Gimignano and feeling hot and exhausted, it was a huge relief to get past the crowds and find this little oasis with the lovely Francesca who is a great character. We had delicious home made pasta and Francesca insisred I try her dessert of warm peach cake and fruit salad which was gorgeous. Definitely the place to go if you visit this Tuscan hill town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Giardino also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.