We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Officina del cacio

L'Officina del cacio
Via Niccolo Cannicci, 4/F, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
3485512406
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 110 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Newly opened small restaurant in San Gimignano offering delicate house-made traditional Tuscany dishes. Lovely atmosphere, splendid service!Our menu is made according to seasonal fresh products, coming from local producers and farmers. Every day we're going to the market and look for the best vegetables and fruits.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The most memorable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I feel sorry for the other reviewers who did not enjoyed their experience at the restaurant as much as I did. We were in San Gimignano for two nights and we ate here both nights. We wanted to stay away from the touristy restaurants inside the wall and decided to try L'Officina del Cacao based on the TripAdvisor reviews.

There is no doubt in my mind that this was my best/most memorable culinary experience in Italy. The food was simple yet delicious - cheese pastas, regional specialties and homemade deserts. The bread was also exceptional. The waitress could speak minimal English but this wasn't a problem as she friendly, welcoming and very hospitable.

If you are in San Gimignano forget the other touristy haunts and venture outside the wall to this fantastic restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant Modern Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is fantastic. the food is traditional Italian with a modern twist. It is situated just outside the city walls and well worth seeking out. The service was charming and perfect and the food delightful. The restaurant also display a range of art to appreciate while you dine. The prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real gourme restorant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is tucked away, out of the walls of the ancient city inside a regular neighberhood, but the atmosphere is intimate and very charming. . it is a slow dining experience, with a few courses, and we decided that the owner will decide for us what to take. it was a very good descision- all the dishes were outstanding!, We ordered wine, an antipasto, main courses, dessert,and coffee, and were surprised by how economic the bill was compared to the quality of the experience, and the excellence of the food - only 55 Euros. Definitely recommend you dine here when in San Gimignano! it is important to know that in the winter it is open only on weekends!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little jewel for enjoying traditional Tuscany food with a special touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A delicious restaurant, out of the walls of S.Gimignano. In a lounge-like environment, you can taste tipycal food from the Tuscany tradition (pecorino cheese above all), but with a twist of special and personal touch. Homemade bread, pasta and cakes; wide range of wines for your choice. Take a chat with the warm and nice owner, Mrs.Jessica and let her explain you the hosted exhibition of artists (pictures, paintings, scultures and the special project www.formedarte.com). Average prices for every wallet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A nice spot that could be great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spotted the place when doing laundry - at the laundramat down the hill from the restaurant.
The lady who runs the place is a delight!
Our appetizers/wine/ beer/ bread/ desserts were all exceptional.
The breads are in-house creations.
The mains were a disappointment. Our friends had lasagna and it was dried out and awful.
Our pastas were so/so.
A bit of a let down! As we only ate once - perhaps a bad day for the mains!
However, we are better here and at a better price than anywhere inside the walls!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Officina del cacio also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Officina del cacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Officina del cacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.