We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and relaxing, but a bit spartan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse to your Saves list
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty and relaxing, but a bit spartan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a terrible time finding the place, but once we were there we were happy. A wonderful first dinner in Italy, generally helpful staff, and a gorgeous setting. One complaint: they have the geographical coordinates on their website, but if you put them in your GPS you are directed (as they acknowledged) to the wrong place! So get good directions. We liked our room, but the shower was the size of a phone booth. As another reviewer said, not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a nice review about
our place. We are pleased you liked most of our services and facilities, because, as you
might have noticed, we are very much focused on a simple and genuine style. Even if
we are a countryside hotel, we try our best to make our guests feel good and comfortable,
using home made and local products only, and with all our personnel taking care of each
of our guests' needs and wishes. We believe that this is more important than stars (hotel
categories) to show on our flag. We hope to have you back one day and wish you all the best.
The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    204
    44
    5
    3
See reviews for
200
385
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this wonderful hotel for our 5 year anniversary. We absolutely fell in love with the hotel and surroundings. We have been to Tuscany a number of times and have never enjoyed it as much as we have when we stayed here. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool and surrounding area are a great place to relax during the day. We were also very pleased with the food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all typical Tuscan dishes with plenty of options for anyone who wants an authentic experience. The location is perfect so that anyone can take day trips to the surrounding wine caves and tasting rooms. We can not express enough how much we enjoyed our stay. We were sad to leave, but we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to send us your wonderful review.
We are very pleased you had a nice time at Le Terre Rosse and enjoyed everything here.
We hope you will be back on day and wish you all the best until then. The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved our accommodations and the location of the hotel. The staff was very nice and the bar was a plus for an afternoon cocktail. They had a nice breakfast as well! We would stay there again during another visit to the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Sirs,

many thanks for sending us your nice review.
With pleasure we learn that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and are very happy about it.
We hope you will be our guests again some time in the future. The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very helpful reception staff made us feel welcome and very at home. The hotel in nice with a large garden and pool (which is quiet during the day as everyone is out). I think it was good value but the facilities/rooms are relatively basic. Breakfast was pleasant but was definitely lacking compared to those i received in other hotels on our stay. We had a nice meal in the restaurant, the steak was particularly good, but i thought the menu was quiet limited. You can take a taxi out in the evening for dinner but otherwise you must drive. Good location to San Gimignano, which is really nice town. I would recommend this hotel, especially to a family with kids as the gardens and pool would be perfect, however but if i returned to the area i would definitely try out an B&B/aggrotourism for something with more character and soul.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are on the ground floor and give you some outside space, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Sirs,
we thank you very much indeed for the time you have dedicated to write down your nice
review.
We also would like to thank you for all the compliments you expressed in reference to our kind and helpful staff, our outdoor facilities, the wonderful location close to San Gimignano.
The hotel relies upon a great variety of rooms, from classic through Superior up to Deluxe types. If you had booked a classic room, so the interior design and equipment were in a simple, traditional way.
We regret to learn you didn't like breakfast so much, although we serve all sorts of things, from sweet to salty products (a very rich buffet breakfast). In the restaurant for dinner we serve typical, tasty dishes of the Tuscan tradition, every evening a different menu, so we don't actually believe that the choice would be limited. Of course, when we talk about food, we have to take into consideration that every person has a different taste.
Regarding booking a luxory hotel next time you come to our area, we strongly advise not to book a B&B/agriturismo, since your choice will meet something very simple and rough, nothing to do with luxury. With our kindest regards The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After driving around Tuscany for the better part of a day pulling into Csolare Le Terre Rosser was a oasis in the desert. The staff was excellent very friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool are beautiful. Rooms are very modern and spacious. Location is perfect for touring a large part of the Tuscan region not just San Gimignano. The last night we were tired of eating at different towns and decided to eat at the Hotel, after dinner we were sorry for not eating there every night the food and service was great. Next time in Tuscany I will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

we really thank you for your wonderful review.

We all hope to welcome you again at Terre Rosse.

Sincerely,

Family Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hayne, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel, in a beautiful setting. A relief after the hustle and bustle of the cities with clean, comfortable rooms and modern baths. Sarah greeting us graciously, in English, and showed us where the breakfast and dining areas were located. Good hot breakfast buffet. We also had dinner at the hotel both nights, also very good. We wanted to thank our server here by name but unfortunately did not catch her name.
Good location for visiting San Gimignano and Volterra; the hotel provides bus shuttle to San Gimignano.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice review.

We are very glad to hear that you had a nice time in our hotel.

We will surely tell Sara and Raffaella (that's the name of the waitress in the restaurant) that you have appreciated their work.

Sincerely,

Niccolini Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a relief it was to stay in such a beautiful part of the world - especially after the crowds in Rome during Easter! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had no problem in communicating with the staff who spoke English given that our Italian was limited. We were so impressed with this hotel - we stayed an extra night! Breakfast could have been better, but that would have to be the only negative. It was fantastic to stay somewhere where we could wash and dry our clothes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion following your stay with us .
Yes, indeed, our multilungual staff ( Italian,english,german,french and spanish) is always ready to assist our guests during their stay.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit

Kindest regards,

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Address: Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.