We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, good staff, nice garden with pool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse to your Saves list
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Este, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good rooms, good staff, nice garden with pool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good rooms, good staff, nice garden with pool.
Great location. Just a few kilometers from San Gimignano.
Not far from Florence, Siena and Volterra.
You can rent a Vespa and you can visit the most important cities of tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sirs,

we have appreciated your words and thank you very much for your compliments.

Hope one day you will be back at the hotel for another nice stay!

Sincerely

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    204
    44
    5
    3
See reviews for
200
385
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holbaek, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have stayed at Casolare, first time in 2002, and since several times. We love the place for its hospitality it is always nice to be recognised with a smile, for the nice clean rooms, for the wonderful restaurant in the courtyard, and for a swimming pool, with oceans of Space for our girls to run around. And off course, also because of its location in the Heart of Tuscany.
You have San Gimignano, Volterra, Casa Val D'Elsa, all nearby, Last time at Le Terre Rosse, was in 2010.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your wonderful review and appreciate you and your family often
coming back to our resort. We set great value on regular customers, who through their experience can evaluate the place and send us comments and suggestions. Our goal is to improve our services and meet our guests' requirements. We hope you will visit us back this
season! All the best to you and family The Niccolinis's and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here in July with a family of 4. Two adults and two teenage boys. The hotel is just a few minutes outside San Gimignano. Definitely need a car. The hotel is very beautiful with great courtyards, grounds and a pool. The family room was great with one problem. There was a terrible sewage odor that was coming out of the drains in the bathrooms. They could not accommodate us in any other rooms because we needed a family room. They tried to mask the odor and eventually we covered the drains with wet towels which helped a little and you get a little used to it. Unfortunately, although they apologized, they offered no concessions to us for the inconvenience. I would give this place a 4 rating if not for the sewage odor.

Room Tip: If possible, make sure there is not a sewage odor in the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your comments. Our Family Room is a real suitable accomodation for families and we are very pleased that you liked it.

Unfortunately you happened to stay with us while we had a serious hydraulic problem with a tube of the bathroom of the attic room where your children slept.
Unfortunately the damage could not be repaired immediately but It needed some days.

Since your children were grouwnup we offered you two rooms, one close to the other.
But you refused our offer and decided to remain in the family room even know that the problem would be solved after some days.

We hope you will decide to come back to our hotel another time in the future to better
evaluate our place .


Kindest Regards

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on a bike tour from Florence and it was such a nice resting place we decided to stay longer. The food is excellent. I had crusted lamb chops and my bf had veal steak. Probably one of the best meals we had and it wasnt terribly expensive. The spinach crepes were AMAZING but I think the menu rotates because we could not get them the next night. The rooms were ok, could use more comfort but I think they are going for the modern sleek look. The beds are as most beds in Italy, two twins pushed together. Not that big of a deal. Every thing else about the room was fine, nothing super special but also nothing lacking. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They all speak English and are willing to help with anything. The free shuttle bus to the town of San Gimignano was extremly easy and a really nice addition. Our bike tour ended here as it was a downpour of rain for the next three days but they helped us get to the closest train station and back to Florence. Overall we had an excellent experience and would return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sirs,

many thanks for the wonderful review you adressed us!
We are so glad you had such an excellent stay, so that anyone reading your review will
plan a visit to our resort! By the way, we are pleased you liked the food and appreciated
our free shuttle service to town. We are also pleased you found our rooms simple but
comfortable. Next time, if you come back, remember to mention you would like one double
bed, since some of rooms have double, some others two twin beds.
We hope to have you back next year Till then, have our best wishes for everything
The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very helpful and pleasant staff. Lovely apartment we stayed in a 1 minute walk from hotel. Excellent value. Nice decor, clean and smart hotel. Breakfast was good and they happy to do separate scrambled eggs without the obligatory ham in it. Dinner in the restaurant was variable as I should have stuck to having lamb back in NZ and stayed with pizza and pasta though the pizza unfortunately had seen too much of the oven and they accepted it back. My gnocchi was great as was the tagliatelle which seemed the pasta that was home made. But prices very reaonable.
Overall though a really pleasant place to stay and great base for San Gimignano and the surrounding vineyards and towns, plus Firenze, Siena and Pisa.

Room Tip: Had large apartment 1minute walk from hotel. Umbrellas supplied if raining. Really excellent size an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review and are glad you had a pleasant stay
with us. Best regards The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for four nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found the hotel to be clean with good size rooms. The grounds were lovely and the staff was very helpful. When we asked about a good restaurant they recommended Le Vecchie Mura, They were kind enough to book a reservation for us. The dinner and ambience were absolutely superb. Breakfast was nicely provided with eggs, a variety of meats and cheese along with cereal, cappuccino, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to tour this part of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Request the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sirs,

many thanks for your wonderful review praising our hotel and staff so much!
We are very pleased you liked everything at our resort, so that you could enjoy a
lively and relaxing time at Le Terre Rosse. We hope to be able to welcome you back
one day in the future Best regards
The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first time in Italy. We stayed at the hotel for a week in September and would recommend it to all. Helpfull staff, good rooms and excellent restaurant. The pool was great and we could sit in the sun on the days when we didn't go out all day. It was a bit far out of San Gimingnano and the road was full of hairpin bends. After a tiring day sightseeing, it would have been nice to walk there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we would like to really thank you for taking the time to post your review and for having chosen our Hotel for your fist stay in Italy.
We are pleased to know you spent a lovely holiday here.Yet, we are sorry that you didn't appreciate the location.
Actually, our guests enjoy very much to relax and lay in the sun in our big green area, far away from the noise of the town.

Kindest Regards,

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Address: Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.