We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob Connors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse to your Saves list
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bob Connors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife & I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful Hotel last week. The Hotel was beautiful with great amenities and the staff were friendly and very helpful.
The evening meal was first class and a bargain at 23 euros per person for 3 courses.
We are travelling to the south by car and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we really thank you for having chosen Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse for your stay and for having written this nice review.

Caring our guests has always been our main aim, and we are glad to see that you have appreciated our work.

Looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel,

Sincerely,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    204
    44
    5
    3
See reviews for
200
384
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice hotel traditional style, with beautiful and spacious garden. Clean rooms, well organized and kind staff. Good location to explore that part of Tuscan. Comfortable for the friends and family. I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we are very pleased you liked our place and had a nice stay with us.
Hoping to have you back one day at our place, we remain

Sincerely

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We chose the hotel for our short visit to Tuscany and though we read many positive critics, we were still positively surprised. We found all the personnel extremely welcoming and helpful, the grounds wonderful and maximal effort put in every single detail of the hotel.

Possibility of walks in well maintained park offers nice way to relax, beautiful decoration, nice rooms and good choice for breakfast. Wonderful cappuccino :)! The location is convenient for exploring central Tuscany, near San Gimignano, but still in the middle of pure nature.

Would recommend this family run hotel to anyone and will definitely gladly come back.


Tina

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sirs,

many thanks for your nice review.
We are very happy to learn you liked our resort and found our personnel helpful and friendly.
It is very important to us to be at our guest's disposal and do the best we can so that they
will bring nice memories home.
We will be glad to host you again in the future . Our best regards to you
The Niccolinis and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I travelled to this hotel several times with my family in the early 2000s and loved it, so I decided to take my fiancée last weekend.

It was just as magical as ever. The hotel is family run and they take great care with everything. The grounds are tended to beautifully, and the food is something else. Given that it's not quite summer, dinner was served inside (in the warmer months it's served in a lovely courtyard). I had a plate of local cured meats and a pappardelle al cinghiale (pappardelle with wild boar ragu), and then a tiramisu, all of it absolutely incredible. My fiancée, a vegetarian had a simple pasta with tomato sauce, and even that was out if this world.

The hotel has a great location. It's 5 minutes drive from San Gimignano and close to the superstrada for access to Florence and Siena.

All-in-all, highly recommended. If you're looking for a rural Tuscan retreat then you could do a lot worse than this.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Mr Gilbride,

it's alwasy a pleasure to welcome you!!
Thank you ever so much for your very kind words following your recent stay. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great experience in our restaurant .
All of the team here always try to exceed our guests expectations and when we receive comments like yours it really does make their day.

I do hope that you will return to us once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
ps:Give your mum the best wishes from the whole team of Casolare le Terre Rosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice modern building in traditional style. A well-kept hotel - clean room - spacious communal areas and grounds.
Very friendly and obliging staff at reception, breakfast & maids too. A big thanks to them all !
Quite quiet at this time of year, which we expected.
Handy location if you have a car - 5 mins to San Gim (free shottle bus available), Volterra just down the road, Siena & Florence in easy reach.
Pool was not available during our stay - would have used it on a couple of warmer days !
Free wifi on demand.
A pleasant place to stay - would recommend it !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sirs,

I was so happy to read your review. We always try to create a friendly home from home atmosphere in the hotel and I was delighted that you we met your expectations As always I have passed on your kind comments on to our great team here at the hotel.

Hoping to have you back soon in our resort,

Best regards

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me ,my husband and two sons stayed at Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse first week of April and could not have stayed in better place. This is a beautiful property that backs in to national park and only 5 min scenic drive from beautiful San Gimgnano. Property has huge backyard, rooms are very clean and staff are kind and accomodating. Becuase we had to young kids , they give us two adjoing rooms with private hallway which worked perfectly. If you are visiting Tuscany, this is the place to stay.
Sally M. from California

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the Hotel's setting and the service you received from our whole team. We have a variety of rooms in different shapes and sizes and the Suite Room is the most suitable room for families, indeed.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Fam. Niccolini and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent hotel.. It is extremely clean and modern. The location ,food and staff are great. Excellent welcome and good facilities and location near to San Gimignano. Rooms were clean and comfortable.The hotel is beautiful inside and outside. The staff was friendly and helpful and made our stay a great one. Thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sirs,
I have immediately informed all the Hotel's staff about your compliments and we all thank you very much for it.
We really hope to have you back at our Hotel some time in the future.
Best regards,

Fam. Niccolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Address: Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.