We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Room 86” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse to your Saves list
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Shrewsbury, Ma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beware Room 86”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our trip to Italy was great except for our stay at this hotel. Today it is funny and I am told the response from management is typical. The Hotel Casolare looked great but the room we were stuck with was the worst room in the place. Also the weather increased the discomfort of staying there. The weather was nice and sunny with temperatures of 84 degrees. So when we checked in on Sunday around 4 PM the room was hot and stuffy. The receptionist informed us that they had shut off the air conditioning for the year because it was cold last week. Later on in our stay this proved a lie as they finally had to turn it on the last stay of our 5 day stay probably because of all the complaints.

As a result we had to open all the windows (no screens) in the room which meant from time to time a cat came in in the middle of the night and cried to go out, flies came in, and one time another hotel guest just poked her head in our room to see what was in the room. That was not the worst part.

The worst part was that our bathroom window opened out to the bar and dinning room. I asked for a change of rooms the first day and was told they were completely booked. I do not think they were completely booked the next five days. The first night we were kept up by a group of happy travelers in the bar on the other side of the wall. I went to the Teflon manager and she said this hotel was know for quiet and if I had a problem she would tell the bar and dining room guests to be quiet. I could not comprehend that happening. I asked for a room change at that point and was denied. The next night the bar was just being a normal bar and I called the night clerk who siad he could not leave the desk to tell the patrons to be quiet. I ask for the manager to call me in the morning, I am still waiting for that call three weeks later.

The first three nights we went to bed with ear plugs because the bar guests kept us up with talking and the scraping of chairs on the floor. Here is a visual for you. In the morning one day I purposely flushed the toilet and every guest in the dining room turned to the window to see where the noise came from. As I said, the Teflon manager did not budge but charged us the extra 40 Euros for an upgraded room (room 86). I guest the extra charge was because we had easy access to the bar through the bathroom window.

I know some people will read this and chalk it up to the ugly American tourist. I also know the manager may write a follow up and say it was all a misunderstanding, etc. Where was the communication over 5 days at your hotel. I have stayed at other European hotels with rooms no bigger than closets and had a great stay because of the service and location. I am already looking back on this a funny story during our trip to Italy. That does not change the fact that I was charged an extra 40 Euros a night for an upgraded inferior room and got no understanding from management on the situation. If in the area I would pick another hotel, probably right in the beautiful town of San Gimignamo.

As a final note it was tough to give this hotel such a poor rating. Every other hotel review I have shows great ratings. So this is my first bad review, Also the rest of the service at the hotel was excellent but I felt I needed to get my point across about the major problem of a really bad room and no empathy from the management.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 86 by the back entrance under any circumstances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,

please find below the reply to your review.
The weather in the second September half had been crazy: we were relishing a hot summer, when all of a sudden the climate changed and went back to winter. On Saturday 22nd., the day before your arrival, the temperature was 18° Celsius, that's why we had the heating on. The following day, the Sunday you mentioned, all of a sudden the temperature increased up to 32° Celsius (84° Farenheit). These temperature changes happened more than once in the mentioned period.
Our central system is one-way, we can't switch from one modality to the other, and we cannot simultaneously have both: so it’s either air-conditioning or heating. It took us a couple of days before switching back again to air conditioning. Therefore we got some complaints from the guests, and we were at a loss, we didn't know ourselves what to do. The weather forecast in the mentioned period can be easily checked by anyone on Internet.
Regarding our resort, we are known and appreciated as a beautiful hotel with an amazing green area and swimming-pool, nice rooms, excellent services (as you by the way confirm) and an extraordinary staff, nice and helpful, without exceptions. All Trip Advisor readers can check this; hundreds of reviews with compliments and positive comments. Hundreds of excellent reviews cannot be lies, if you say so, then you offend them. None of the guests staying in the room you were in ever complained , especially regarding the bar customers, otherwise you would have found their negative reviews on Trip Advisor.
When guests don’t like the room they have booked (we are any way talking of a Deluxe room, one of our best rooms), if we can and have availability, we change it. In your case we couldn’t, because our hotel was truly fully booked.
Why shouldn’t have we changed the room you didn’t like? What you say doesn’t
make any sense.
You assert in the review that you only talked to the night porter. This was your personal choice: receptionists, Managers and proprietors work during the day and people can always have a talk to them between 7.00 am to 11.00 pm.
And another question we would like to pose: why shouldn’t have we written a follow up? You had the right to describe your stay as you have experienced it; we have the right to tell about our version of the story.
Points of view can be very different, but real facts do not lie. Especially when they are proved by the many and reliable Trip Advisors reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    204
    44
    5
    3
See reviews for
200
385
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse the first week of July, 2012. We had a fantastic stay, everything is true, the hotel staff is very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and beautiful, the breakfast was great, the grounds are very spacious and well maintained. The location is tucked away, yet very close (you do need a car, although there is a shuttle) San Gimignano is a beautiful enclosed town...the best melon gelato we had in all of Italy! I would recommend this hotel (more like a vila) to anyone, and hopefully one day I will be able to go back. Thank you Hotel Casolare for a great stay in beautiful Tosaca!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for the beautiful description you give of our hotel. Everything you say is true!
We are very proud of our beautiful hotel and work hard every day to keep it as best as we can.
Proprietors and staff contribute together to make the hotel the nice place it is!
We very much look forward to welcome you back.

Fam . Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isreal kiryat mozkin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location is wonderful,the hotel structure,and the designed is intersting,the staff is excellent.the comfort room is clean,nice ,big !
The view are gread,the colors out side is graed!!!
Good location to the old city of San Gimignano, near every thing!
Great serivce and good filling.you will fill good!
Great serivce with big smile.
Quiet place.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" to see the sun rise ,and the fog on the vineyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sirs,
we are very pleased you liked our place and had a nice stay with us.
We are always happy to learn our guests feel at home at Le Terre Rosse, because this is the real aim of our management.
Thank you very much for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is vey well located near San Gimignano, the hotel staff is very friendly. Our room was very clean and perfect and on our end, it wasn't noisy (we were on the second floor). The environnement is so quiet and beautiful. I would recommend this hotle to anyopne who wants to discover Tuscany, but stay in a quiet surrounding and near everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice comment, we have really appreciated it.
It's good to know what guests think of our resort and services and particularly useful are their
comments. They help us improve.
We hope to have you back some time in the future Kindest regards The reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has many good reviews so no need to go over old ground. It is all true

This review is to acknowledge the kindness and helpfulness of the reception staff during our 3 night stay until the 23rd September.

Unfortunately, our car broke down and we had huge problems with the car hire company. The 2 kind ladies on reception couldn't do enough to help us and it was greatly appreciated. They spoke to the emergency operator who was having difficulty understanding our English, organised and advised on ways to get to Rome on public transport, printed train timetables for the journey and organised us a taxi to Poggibonsi. thank you.
We found the rest of the staff equally helpful and genuinely friendly.

Other than this the hotel is superbly located in the middle of nowhere which makes it very quiet and relaxing. The pool area was quiet, comfortable, and relaxing.

It is located 5 km on the road past San Gimignano towards Volterra (5km before San Gimignano if driving the alternative direction).
The hotel address is not recognised by GPS so consider this before setting out.

The hotel offers infrequent shuttle buses into San Gimignano but having your own wheels is preferential as taxis to SG are expensive.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest and we thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel to celebrate your honeymoon.
I'm happy to know that your experience with us was such a great one and we appreciate the positive feedback.
It's comments like these, that motivate the staff to continuously strive for service excellence.

We look forward to having you back with us for another stay in the near future.

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first time in San Gimignano and in this hotel. We loved the space around the hotel. The property is really big, green, clean and really private. The swimmingpool looks beautifull but no one wants to go in it because it was cold as ice...

The staff is soooo friendly, it made you feel welcome and special! The room we had was very clean but chilly. No problem because once you are inside you can control the airco yourself. We had a downstairs room (room 40) which was very noisy. You could hear the upstairs neightbours go to the bathroom and you can hear every step or sneeze that was made. The bed was allright but nothing fancy. Don't be surprised to get up with some sore muscles.

Wifi is available but not working for us. We couldn't connect at all. Wifi is free for 1 hour and otherwise you pay about $2 a day.

The coffee is great but make sure you are helped at breakfast by the nice blond lady. She makes perfect coffee and always asks how you want it to be. Instead of the man who is less friendly and serves "american" coffee, without making eye contact, which is instant coffee. ;-)
The breakfast is everything you need in the morning. Nothing fancy but allright.

Make sure you make reservations to eat out. The restaurant is serves untasty and cheap food. We ordered chickenbreast with spinach and cheese. It was barly eatable. The chicken was very dry and tasted old like it's had been in a fridge before and microwaved to long instead of freshly cooked. The beef with truffle was also a mistake in choice. The beef itself was allright but the sauce was not matching the beef. The only thing you tasted was the sauce and dominated completey.

The staff was the friendliest ever! Even when we left at 6 in the morning they made us coffee and a warm croissant! And they gave us a bottle of wine for staying!! Thank you!!!!

However, when you want more comfort, you should search for a more stars place. When you just want a stay over, take this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't take a room downstairs because it's very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience in our Hotel.We do appreciate bad and good opinions.They are a great help for us so we can improve our services and meet our guests' requirements.

We are pleased that you found our staff very friendly and helpful.
Our goal is always to try to do our best to satisfy our guests.

The day after your arrival you told us that you didn't have a pleasant night because of the noise from the room upstairs.
We immediately asked the guests of that room and actually they apologized for this inconvenient. The evening before that came back to the Hotel very late and made some noise.


As you told us, all the other nights you slept very well.

Concerning the restaurant, we are very sorry you didn't appreciate our cousine.
Our cooks always prepare fresh and tasty dishes.
The beef with truffle sauce is one of the most delicious we propose and we are sorry you didn't appreciate its quality.

However we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rustic hotel in wonderful Tuscan countryside close to beautiful town of San Gimigano. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything you would expect in a more expensive hotel. Hotel grounds delighful and the swimming pool was spotlessly clean. Bar prices were very reasonable and food in hotel restaurant was good. This is a wonderful place to just unwind and relax, yet close enough to bigger cities of Florence, Pisa and Sienna for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience . I am very pleased that you have enjoyed the atmosphere and service. I shall pass this lovely review to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards


Fam. Niccolini & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Address: Loc San Donato, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.