We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Mexican travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squartini Bruno Private Day Tours

Squartini Bruno Private Day Tours
San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 940922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Activities in San Gimignano
Attraction details
México, D.F. México
1 review
“Two Mexican travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Bruno Squartini was, by far, the best guide we had in one month of travelling through Tuscany (Firenze, San Gimignano, Siena, Lucca). Over all considerations, his warm and attentive treatment to our needs was excellent. We had a common cold and he made a special house trip to get the medicines. He adapted to our physical condition through the Francigene walk and made up for changes in weather, restaurants and travel conditions. His recommendations for taxi, food and shopping, worked very well through his personal network of local fellows. His knowledge of history, economics, culture and ecology is outstanding. We enjoyed a personal touch talking to his local friends on the street, meeting his family and sharing his perception of present Italian predicament. He is much more than a conventional tourist guide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We agree wholeheartedly with the other reviews posted here. Bruno will take you on an excellent adventure around San Gimignano. His knowledge and passion of and for the area are remarkable. He is very engaging and, on the spur of the moment, is able to tailor the tour to the clients interests.
We took a walking tour of the countryside. After a view of the countryside from an elevated vantage point within the city, we began our walk. Bruno soon recognized my interest in history, agriculture, hunting and politics. He picked up on my girlfriends interest in wine and gardening. We had booked a three hour tour but the four hours he spent with us went very quickly. The tour ended with an enjoyable visit to a local merchant whom he knew.
Book a tour with Bruno Squartini; you won‘t be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bruno is the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our day with Bruno Squartini was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Tuscany. We chose an all day hiking adventure broken up into two parts. In the morning we hiked directly from San Gimignano (he met us at our hotel at 9:15) on ancient roads that gave us beautiful views of Tuscany and San Gimignano itself. He shared with us his knowledge of medieval history, agriculture, wine, olives and, of course, San Gimignano. From there it was off in his car for a short drive to a local farm where we had a fabulous family style lunch. The afternoon hike was another adventure in the Tuscan hillsides.

Bruno gives you everything he has. His command of English is not the greatest, but that just adds to the fun. He is warm, knowledgeable and very engaging. And when he brought us back to our hotel it was after 7 O'clock! His fees are very reasonable so the value is great. We feel that we have a new friend in Tuscany.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
1 review
“Best Day in San Gimignano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family had the pleasure of spending a day hiking with Bruno in July 2012 in the San Gimignano area. Our group consisted of me, (49) wife (45), daughter (15), sons (14, 12, 10); kids having little hiking experience, daughter with broken arm. Bruno made our day hiking the best day of our trip. He is extremely knowledgeable, pleasant and entertaining. He kept our kids entertained the whole day and was constantly engaged in conversation.

I usually plan a day hike on every trip that we take, and I am so pleased that we did so with Bruno. Give him a call, it was very easy making arrangements with him.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Insiders View of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Based on the reviews in Trip Advisor, I arranged a tour of the Chianti district with Dr. Bruno Squartini for two traveling companions and myself. We visited the area in September and stayed at Torraccia di Chiusi, a B&B Inn (see my review) near San Gimignano, Italy.

Bruno is a very knowledgeable guide and we instantly became friends. His passion for the area comes through on his tour. Even though English is not his first language we had no trouble communicating and his joyful spirit and humor made this tour exceptional.

I was impressed with how he touched base via email a few times prior to our arrival to confirm our tour date and meeting details. He even contacted the Inn to verify we had arrived safely.

Since he is a local and was born and raised and worked in San Gimignano as the pharmacy director he has a wealth of knowledge about the area. He has many friends throughout the Chianti district. We visited a few medieval towns, a few small wineries and had an incredible lunch at a local Trattoria for a very reasonable price.

His personal relationships allowed us access to areas in the wineries that the normal tourist would not see. This included tours of a few wine cellars and standing right next to the crushing of some just hand picked local grapes. We were also able to see the famous Chianina cows close up and personal, even a calf that was just born the day before. These are the cows used to make the famous Steak Florentine.

We spent over eight hours with Bruno as he chauffeured us through Tuscany providing history of the area, the wineries and the hill towns. We ended our tour in San Gimignano where he showed us his own home, a local restaurant with years of history as well as explained how this town was central to the district providing access to all surrounding cities such as Sienna, Florence, Rome and Assisi. We also had a taste of the best gelato in town.

Bruno provides an insider’s experience and I would highly recommend contacting him for any type of tour in the area. We dubbed him our new "BFF" in San Gimignano!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squartini Bruno Private Day Tours also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Squartini Bruno Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squartini Bruno Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.