We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leon Bianco to your Saves list
Hotel Leon Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Leon Bianco is a quaint little hotel on the main city piazza, bang in the middle of the old town- the hotel has ideal location for stay . Although the hotel has been in operation for about 40 years as I was told by the Receptionist, it has been renovated in the last few years and has been converted into a fairyland-like quaint property with all decent amenities. One can easily walk to all the attractions- barely a few minutes away. The famous gelato shop is across the hotel-so are several small restaurants. Complimentary internet that works like a charm is a big plus for this historical town hotel. Small breakfast room is also interestingly appointed with decent breakfast and choices- better than several other hotels of same or even higher ratings. Remember cars are not allowed here so it’s walking all around and well worth it.

Room Tip: Try getting a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

we really thank you for spending your time to write a lovely review for hotel Leon Bianco. We are really glad that you have been satisfied of all aspects of our structure, first of all the location that for our job is really precious!

We hope to can see you again here,

Warmest regards from all the staff of Leon Bianco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    162
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
314
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been many times at the Leon Bianco, and every time we leave happy for the choice. Located in the heart of San Gimignano, overlooking the main piazza with outdoor cafes and ice cream shops. Restaurants just around the corner. Extremely clean, spacious rooms. Professional management. A bargain overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Claudio,

we really thank you for your lovely review and we are happy that several times you have choosen Hotel Leon Bianco!

We hope to can see you soon again to Leon Bianco and we send our best regards

Hotel Leon Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We've been enjoying San Gimignano for over 30 years and believe that it's ESSENTIAL to stay within the city walls...We recently stayed at the Leon Bianco (we alternate between it, the Cisterna, and the Bel Soggiorno) during the January holiday season, and we were not disappointed in any of the hotel features. Our room was very reasonably priced, heated well, furnished simply but adequately, and the view overlooking the piazza was just what we requested. (too foggy and rainy to enjoy the panoramic view of the hills...) We always appreciate the fact that there's an elevator--many older hotels don't have that feature. Parking is best at Lot #2 and it is expensive (E20 per day), but well worth it...If you have much luggage, it is possible to drive to the hotel (by the back way!) to unload..The bountiful buffet breakfast is included in the price--meat, cheese, scrambled eggs, cereal, brioche, yogurt, toast, etc.--if they don't have what you want, you don't need it! The staff is very friendly, efficient, and accommodating. After reading what I just wrote, I'm ready to go back to San Gim. to enjoy it all over again! (Great shopping, good food, interesting sights--try the Museo del Vino--it's not in Tripadvisor yet, but they offer wine tasting--4 or 6 kinds, white and/or red--for 10 Euros--then you can go and visit the wineries and buy more! We did! Museo del Vino--follow the signs to the top of the hill--right off the Piazza area...) Happy traveling!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Nancy,

thank you very much for your beautiful review! Many people like you love to come back many time to San Gimignano and always discover something new of this beautiful town. We are very happy that all aspects of our hotel have satisfied your taste, and we hope to can see you soon to Hotel Leon Bianco!!

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The rooms were good size, clean, and very nice. Breakfast was included and was a good addition. The location cannot be beat and the staff was courteous and helpful. If you are driving, follow the hotel's directions, it's much easier that it sounds.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mr Ross,

thank you very much for your generous review, we have really appreciated your compliments, we are glad becauese you liked everything of Hotel Leon Bianco, for this reason we hope to can see you soon in the future,

best regards,

Hotel Leon Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

San Gimignano is a special place to visit. Generally, you've heard about it and you go out of your way to visit it. Getting the best of this hilltop medieval town, you absolutely want to stay in the CENTRE of it and there's no better centre that on the main square. That's the location of Hotel Leon Bianco. I had browsed through many accommodation websites before settling for this hotel. I was travelling with my husband and brother. We wanted separate hotel rooms. Leon Bianco is not the cheapest but in reading 'room tips' I discovered they have a little advertised 2-bedroom apartment. It is not mentioned on their website and is very popular. It is SPACIOUS with a lovely lounge/dining area, huge, well equipped bathroom, beautifully appointed main bedroom and smaller 2nd bedroom. It has an iron/ironing board, bar fridge, cutlery and crockery. It did not have a kettle or kitchenette or breadboard etc, so you could do limited food / drink preparation. But the hotel staff were very accommodating and when we wanted to make coffee, we asked room service to bring us boiling water which they did at no cost. It was perfect for our requirements. The apartment comes with breakfast and we enjoyed a broad spread on the hotel terrace. Hotel Leon Bianco was also the only hotel we stayed at in Italy that had a work out room, with treadmill and exercise machines. Both the guys beat me at table tennis, which is in the same room. But we're not in San Gimi to hang around the hotel. We had a wonderful two days exploring the little town and went for a lovely walk on a nearby farm. We came away with lovely memories. It was well worth the effort getting off the beaten track to visit this special place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed there for three nights and used this as a base to explore Tuscany. This lovely hotel is situated in the central square of this beautiful walled city that is enjoyed best in the evening when you can truly appreciate it's unique beauty. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of offerings and served in a space with terrace that overlooks the city. Before staying there let them know that you are coming so that you can drive your car into the city to unload your luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the third time since 2004 that I have stayed in this lovely hotel and I am never disappointed! The same wonderful family has managed it during this time and it is always a joy to see them and see that the hotel's quality and beauty is maintained and in some cases enhanced. The breakfast is excellent with a large variety of choices for anyone's taste. San Gimignano is a magical medieval tower village and this hotel is a little taste of history,

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must. Room 11 has a view of the piazza and Room 25 has a view of the countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.