We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leon Bianco to your Saves list
Hotel Leon Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed there for three nights and used this as a base to explore Tuscany. This lovely hotel is situated in the central square of this beautiful walled city that is enjoyed best in the evening when you can truly appreciate it's unique beauty. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of offerings and served in a space with terrace that overlooks the city. Before staying there let them know that you are coming so that you can drive your car into the city to unload your luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    179
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
345
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the third time since 2004 that I have stayed in this lovely hotel and I am never disappointed! The same wonderful family has managed it during this time and it is always a joy to see them and see that the hotel's quality and beauty is maintained and in some cases enhanced. The breakfast is excellent with a large variety of choices for anyone's taste. San Gimignano is a magical medieval tower village and this hotel is a little taste of history,

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must. Room 11 has a view of the piazza and Room 25 has a view of the countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here on our second night "inside" San Gimignano. It was recommended that we see the Walled City at night when all of the day trippers have left. We are SO glad that we transferred here for the night! A great Location!! We attempted to drive in, part way, to drop our luggage off, but didn't get all the way there. We are from the US & driving a standard car (after 20 yrs) on a cobble stone, winedy streets, in the rain...we got as far as we could & walked he rest! Fortunately, upon check out, they drove us to the parking lot we parked at so we didn't have to walk there with our bags :) We had dinner @ Le Vecchie Mura Ristorante...OMG, sooooo good! The best homemade pasta Bolognese, ever! We still talk about it. The city is a smaller version of Siena...which both came highly recommended...we definitely preferred San Gimignano!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

To be able to step out the front door and be surrounded by history and beauty is to stay here and enjoy the moment. Rarely can you find a location that provides all of that for a cost that doesn't break the bank. A must for taking in the beauty of San Gimignano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We drove from Volterra to San Giminano and it was a winding road but very beautiful. Thank goodness we had a Garmin to get us there. After we parked, we walked into San Giminano and went to the hotel to see when we good check in; we were early to check in. The hotel is in a great location. They let us check in early and gave us driving directions to the hotel, which is in the main square, to off load our luggage. The directions were interesting and we got off track but did eventually make it. It was quite the adventure. The hotel has an elevator as we were on the 2nd floor. The rooms were large and comfortable. We had great views from our room of the Tuscany countryside. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The price of the rooms was very reasonable. We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The town somewhat closes down at night but what ever is happening is in the square the hotel is located on

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Right in the center of fascinating San Gimignano, and across the Piazza Cisterna from the best Gelato in Italy, is a great hotel. This ancient structure is fully updated inside to accommodate the needs of modern guests. Our room was clean and very comfortable, with a indescribable view of the Tuscan countryside. The staff here was friendly and professional. The hotel is situated at about the midpoint of the main shopping and restaurant districts. Just how good is that!! The car park is paid parking outside the city walls. But that honestly was no real problem for us. All in all the Leon Bianco is close to everything in a fairly good sized hill town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Even though Hotel Leon Bianco is technically rated a 3 star hotel, I give it a 4 star rating. I was greeted kindly at the front desk and details of my booking confirmed effortlessly. My bag was carried swiftly to my room and I was shown all the amenities. By European standards, and US for that matter, my room was spacious and inviting. My bed was quite comfortable. I love great bathrooms and this one was one of the best I have seen in Italy. It had a deep soaking jetted tub and that water pressure and temperatures were perfect for me to enjoy a long hot soak after a hard day of touring venues.
My only complaint, which was basically my fault but I want to warn others, if the room key isn't inserted into the light switch (on the wall) correctly, internet goes down. It took me close to 12 hours and much frustration to figure this out, therefore I did not have internet after returning that evening from dinner. Of course I should have called the front desk but I didn't. I did not choose a room with a view but nevertheless the windows are large and have multiple layers of glass which open into the room and will allow for fresh air. The air conditioning was turned off for the season which meant my room was quite warm but easily cooled down after opening the windows. I believe I paid for an upper level room category so do not know if all the rooms come with higher end bath amenities but there was even a toothbrush and toothpaste provided by the hotel. The towels were oversized, very fluffy and in good condition. The breakfast was above the standard fare offering scrambled and soft-boiled eggs, toast along with juices, fruits, cereals, pastries, meats, cheese and vegetables. Overall this hotel was close to perfect for me. I will be back next year and will look forward to recreating the same experience. Thank you Hotel Leon Bianco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.