We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leon Bianco to your Saves list
Hotel Leon Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
La Spezia, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Leon Bianco for a second time in April 2012 with a family member who was visiting. The view of the Tuscan countryside from the rooms was breathtaking, and the hotel is just lovely. The first time we stayed we had a suite, this time we had two double rooms but they were still fantastic. The hotel has the perfect location on one of the main piazzas in San Gimignano, perfect walking distance from everything and if it's hot you can go back to the hotel to rest. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to San Gimignano. The breakfast is served on a lovely rooftop terrace, it really can't get any better. Some rooms have bathtubs, others have showers. Make sure to ask for the view!!

Room Tip: Ask for view of the countryside, and bathtub if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Madame,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, you have been so kind! We are glad that you and your family loved everything about our hotel, and we want also thank you for the beautiful photos of Leon Bianco that you have insert on tripadvisor.
We really hope to can see you again in the future,

best regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    183
    39
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
349
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coral springs florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place was fabulous in many ways, first you can not beat the location, right in San Gimignano's old square. Everything is an easy walk from here, plus this area is great for day trips. The room was older but well kept. The view of the square was lovely, breakfast was very good with lots of options. This was our favorite spot, the town is very charming.

Room Tip: It was very nice to have a room to face the square, but the truth is that this is such a great locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Brady,

thank you for this good review! Your comments are very helpful for our works, because you point out our best location and the easiness of organizing trip in the area, for this reason we thank you for your kindness, and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Leon Bianco.

warmest regards from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the place to do it! Excellent breakfast, great staff, knowledgeable in English and other languages. Double windows ensure that your nights and mornings are quiet, historic environment, memorable experience, true old world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Romy,

thank you for your lovely review!

We are happy that you have enjoyed fully the ancient and warm athmosphere of San Gimignano and of our Hotel, your words describe as better as possible what we would like to pass with our job....

thank you again from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

the hotel is in the main square of the beautiful san gimignano. the rooms are lovely, warm and with a realt nice bathroom. the view is splendid, and in the morning breakfast is served on the terrace, which allows you to enjoy the view even more.
totally recommended.

Room Tip: the rooms with view may be a little more pricy, but they are totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Responsabile reception at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Giulia,

thank you very much for your lovely review and for all your compliments, we are happy that you have spent funny days at the Hotel Leon Bianco,

We hope to see you again here!

Warmest regards
all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent five nights in historic San Gimignano, in this perfectly located hotel on the Piazza della Cisterna. The hotel is comfortable, good value and the staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel Leon Bianco serves a good breakfast but does not have a restaurant per se, nor a bar. There is a bar next door, but it closes at 8pm each evening and by then there are no bars left open in San Gimignano! The town of San Gimignano itself is a breathtaking piece of medieval architecture and attracts coachloads of tourists from early in the morning, however by 7 in the evening they are all gone and the town closes down, except for a few restaurants.
Although one can drive into the centre of the town to the hotel and unload one´s luggage, parking is a bit convoluted, but the staff patiently explain how the system works.
The only complaint I would have about our room (29) was that there was a very poor WiFi connection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mrs Lis,

thank you very much for your review and for you generous opinion!
San Gimignano is a wonderful town, and the countryside around too, and Hotel Leon Bianco has the luck to be in the hearth of this jewell.
I agree with you, in low season San Gimignano is a little boring especially in the evening when all bars close, luckely this period is quite short, then the activities open and they run till late evening. Regarding WiFi, we are sorry that the connection was poor, sometimes it can happen.
Thank you, and we hope to can host you again in the future,

Best regards,
The staff of Leon Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I didn't have a car when I got here, so I had to drag my suitcase & carry on backpack up the road & across the piazza which is also up but it was worth it when I walked in my room & opened the window & saw the view! Ahh Tuscany, you are beautiful!
The hotel room was super clean & I also saw 2 other rooms since I was there with friends, their rooms were great too, they had a view of the square as well as the valley. The wifi was better near the breakfast area where my room was, I heard my friends' rooms that the wifi was a little weak.
The restaurant right outside is great for drinks & snacks but there are so many other good restaurants nearby that I wouldn't eat dinner there.
Definitely would say at this hotel again if I returned to San Gimignano

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mrs Lyb,

thank you very much for your very nice review, we are glad that your stay by Hotel Leon Bianco has been satisfying for you and for your friends! Visit San Gimignano is a step back in time, and when you arrive the first time is always a breathtaking sight!Thank you again, and we really hope to can accomodate you again in the future and we send our best regards,

all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I visited San Gimignano for one night and were fortunate to stay in this hotel. The hotel was clean, spacious and with great views of Piazza della Cisterna and San Gimignano. The breakfast in the morning was great. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mr Ulrich,

what a nice review! We thank you very much, your opinions are all positives and we hope to always meet the expectations of our clients as we have done with you, thanks also for having recommended our hotel to all readers of tripadvisor,

thanks again from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.