We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Leon Bianco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in San Gimignano
Philly
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Leon Bianco was perfect from start to finish! Our room faced the plaza and was directly in line with the stone cistern (well) that was filled with money from around the world. The room was comfortable and warm, the bathroom was exquisite, the windows were thick and locked the noise out. But we love the noise, so we kept them open.
We enjoyed the daily breakfast, quality foods were offered as well as espresso, cappuccino and teas. The last day, the market was setup throughout the village, offering colorful clothing and home goods.
What a great hotel in a stunning destination, we will return!!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Philly,

if you will return we would be really happy, because it's a great satisfaction to accomodate kind guests as you are, thank you very much for your beautiful review, and we are glad that you have enjoied your stay at Leon Bianco!

Warmest regards from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    142
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
266
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The walled town of San Gimignano is a major tourist stop, so one advantage of staying in the town is to see it early in the day before most tourists have arrived or in the evening after they have left. During the day, a long walk outside the walls gets you away from the crowds and offers many different views of the town and the surrounding area. Nothing in the small town is very far from the action, but this comfortable hotel is smack in the central square. An ample buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We thought this hotel was exceptional value for money. It is hard to describe how good the location is! We couldn't believe how beautiful the view from our window was. Our room was really big with a modern clean bathroom. The windows were triple glazed so we had a great sleep!The staff were friendly and breakfast is served on a lovely terrace in the sun, and there was an excellent selection of food. Thanks Hotel Leon Bianco for your service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you take the Leon Bianco on its own, it's very good. The staff are friendly and accomodating. The breakfast is lovely. The rooms are clean and comfortable. But it's the location that makes this so wonderful. Right on the central square in San Gimignano, there is nothing more romantic than looking out of the window in the morning or walking out the front door. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 16 day trip (touring and visiting family)with my husband and two children. I loved it! Perfect location, roomy especially for Italy's standards. Great breakfasts. Great wine bar across the street. The views out our window were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Leon Bianco and it is a great hotel!!

It is right in the centre of San Gimignano - literally!!

The rooms are large, clean with a great bathroom with all floors serviced by a lift. The TV was good as was the air conditioner.

We found the staff to be polite, engaging and happy to help with recommendations.

Breakfast was adequate with a large selection to choose from.

Highly recommend this hotel and we always stay here when in the amazing San Gimignano!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Toscana, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

San Gimignano is my favorite town in Tuscany. It is beautiful and relaxing. The hotel is in a lovely courtyard near cafes and shops. I've taken friends and family to stay at Hotel Leon Bianco while I lived in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLeonBianco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Meghan

we thank you for having spent your time on making compliments to our hotel, and thank you also to your friend and to your family that where our guest,

many wishes for the 2013!

From all the staff of Leon Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.