We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect- Will difinitely revisit soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villasanpaolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villasanpaolo to your Saves list
Villasanpaolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect- Will difinitely revisit soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited and stayed at Villa San Paolo in June, 2013. Once we saw the beautiful grounds of the hotel and the great rooms with outstanding views, we regretted only staying here for only one night. The Rooms were very clean and looked new, and the Hotel was such a relaxing place after a long day of driving from Porto Venere. The Beds were very comfortable and it was nice to finally have free wifi at a hotel in Italy. The breakfast was great, along with an amazing view of Tuscany. The Hotel was about 5 minutes away from San Gimignano's town, but believe me, being away from the main town makes the hotel so quiet and relaxing, so the 5 minute drive is worth the peacefulness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing Tuscany. The view is Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    236
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
74
499
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conifer, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We can’t say enough good things about our recent stay at the Villasanpaolo in San Gimignano. We chose Tuscany and Villasanpaolo as part of a family trip and to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Luigi and his staff were very accommodating and catered to our every need, going well beyond the call of duty in every instance. For example, the night before we left Villa San Paolo to return to Rome we mentioned to Luigi that we would be leaving the hotel at 4:00am. Luigi didn’t hesitate to offer and arrange for our departing breakfast in the hotel lobby at 3:30am. The chef also baked a beautiful, multi-layered cake for our anniversary dinner knowing ahead of time that we were coming to celebrate.

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating at the front desk (helping us with maps and directions), the dining room, and at the spa. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. They have a beautiful property, with a lovely pool setting, patios, and sitting areas inside and outside that create a welcoming, relaxed environment.

The food was delicious. We had an excellent dinner the evening we arrived. And the breakfast offered many delicious choices including options for a typical tuscan breakfast.

We won’t hesitate referring Villasanpaolo to our friends and family. In fact there are a few families looking into trips next year and we have already shared glowing reviews with them!

Hats off to everyone at Villasanpaolo! We look forward to returning someday soon.

The Benedetti Family, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited and stayed outside of SAN GIMIGNANO . We booked in from 15 April and OUT 18 April. The rooms are fairly large but are rather old. We had a large balcony. It was very hot but the air conditioners were not working. The bedding was also old. It was comfortable however. Breakfast was OK but the coffee dispensers were out of order.. If you like the country side without noise or interruption then this may be your hideaway. Staff were friendly. I think you could get better value for your cash elsewhere though

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beatiful authentic hotel with nice pool area surrounded by olive trees, super wellness area, clean rooms, nice restaurant with plenty of choice. Also interesting wine card. Stayed in the superior rooms - it was worth the money!

Room Tip: Stayed in the superior rooms - it was worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned home after an enjoyable 13 day holiday at the Villa San Paolo in Tuscany in early June. The hotel is located high up in an area of outstanding natural beauty, overlooking rolling hills covered in vin yards and olive groves with the towers of San Gimignano beyond. From the panoramic dining room windows the all round scenery is quite spectacular.
We had a room in the old villa with high ceilings, a firm but comfortable bed, plenty of cupboard space and double aspect windows. From our balcony we enjoyed wonderful views over the rose gardens and vin yards towards nearby San Gimignano. The room was always kept spotlessly clean.
The hotel was at times a little short of dining room staff, but everyone was always very friendly and helpful.
The pool area is attractive and there are pleasant areas to relax in the surrounding gardens and olive groves. It was a shame the hotel did not make greater use of the Pool Bar whilst we were there by offering a wider choice of snacks, refreshments or even delicious Italian ice creams. Pity!
Villa San Paolo is ideally situated for trips to Florence, Siena, Volterra, Colle Val d'Elsa and many other interesting places. San Gimignano is only a few minutes by car and a great fun place for eating out and strolling around in the evenings, when it is less crowded.
We had a wonderful time in what must be one of the most delightful corners of Tuscany. Thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well and made our holiday so memorable.
Would we stay there again: YES
Would we recommend it to friends: YES

TIP: when visiting quaint, old Volterra make sure you go and see Gloria Gianelli in Via Don Minzoni, a gifted artist who handcrafts exquisite pieces of alabaster and talks with great enthusiasm about her craft. A highlight of our day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of San Gimignano, top floor. A car is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear signora Anneke, all our gratitude to you and your husband for your summer vacation in San Gimignano. and we sincerely appreciate your kindness at all times during your stay and now in reading this review. We have no doubts it will represent a safe guide to all readers; as much it has been wonderful and important to have met you during your stay and upon departure for a farewell salute. Your appreciation has been shared with our team and, by all means, your comments and feedback taken into account for our never-ending process of quality control. it will be great to welcome yourselves, or any of your friends, back to Villasanpaolo soon in future. from all of us, warmest greetings ! yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our company, Servomex, held a quarterly business review at Villasanpaolo in April 2013 which was a resounding success, in great part due to the service, care and attention afforded to us by the staff of Villasanpaolo. We hold similar meetings all over the world and it was most refreshing to stay at Villasanpaolo which, whilst catering superbly for a business conference also offers the warmth and personal attention sadly lacking in most large business hotels. Thank you to Luigi, Sara and all of the staff who were so patient and flexible in responding promptly to the demands of our ever-changing agenda. The conference facilities are very good, the food was excellent, the view is just breathtaking, and the table at the front of the restaurant overlooking Tuscany has to be my favourite breakfast location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of San Gimignano and request a table at the front of the restaurant with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
dear signora Judith, what a wonderful surprise reading your review today ! it has been definitely pleasant and rewarding to exchange collaboration with you and associates on planning stage and during the international conference. we feel sincerely grateful for your trust and consideration and happy of our small contribution to the final result of your event. Hope to see you again soon !
from Sara, all our other colleagues and I........arrivederci! yours cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First and foremost - the service in this place is AMAZING! Luigi, the manager, is so kind and helpful! He gave us so many tips and his staff helped us in finding the best restaurants and places to visit.
As for the hotel - we spent 2 nights in this very nice hotel just outside of San Giminiano. it is perfect to travel the area and is just 5 minutes drive from the center as well as to travel the main road of the area.
The breakfast is great and all rooms have a great porch with a great view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
dear friends from Tel Aviv, it is me on behalf of everyone in our team to thank you for your stay with us and for celebrating your Anniversary in Villasanpaolo. we will keep warm memories of your kindness and we feel especially proud to have contributed a bit to your nice vacation in San Gimignano. please consider all of us your true friends in Tuscany, always. Ciao, Shalom, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Address: Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villasanpaolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.