We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villasanpaolo

Save Saved
You added Villasanpaolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villasanpaolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in San Gimignano
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Almost very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in mid-August 2012 as a family with four children. Stunning views and an excellent location ten minutes outside charming San Gimingnano. The grounds are lovely and the pool area is beautiful, relaxing and very child friendly. Some of the staff are indifferent while others are warm and inviting (Romina stands out as excellent!) The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, if somewhat dated and simply furnished. All aspects of this hotel were above average (again, the grounds and the views were stunning!).

However it is difficult to explain the mediocracy of the restaurant. The panoramic views from the restaurant are breathtaking but they cannot make up for the mediocracy and blandness of the food. Very poor options- including the breakfast buffett- which was very disappointing. We ate dinner at the hotel the first night and did not make that mistake twice. Upgrading the restaurant seems easy enough to do so I hope that the management will take note of the poor reviews because with a little bit of attention the hotel has the makings of a four star hotel. Keep in mind that with so many great restaurants in close proximity, other than breakfast, there is really no need to dine at the hotel. So the restaurant need not be a critical element of your stay.

Ask for the rooms on the first floor situated above the entrance (facing the valley). I believe these have the most breathtaking views. The balcony rooms facing San Gimignano also provide a nice view, but the valley view overlooks the pristine tuscany landscape (the view that everyone seems to be looking for).

You won't go wrong at this hotel- a bit less charming perhaps, but comfortable, well situated and a reasonable value.

Despite the flaws, I would still highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Signora Esther, we are happy to read your review and grateful to you and everyone in your family for having your summer holidays in San Gimignano and Villasanpaolo.
Romina is delighted to receive your special mention for her kindness and professionalism.
I myself pay the most attentive and respectful attention on all your comments and I beg you to believe I will especially treasure your feedback on our restaurant and some of our human resources. As you have seen during your stay, our mission is to assure at all times quality services and warm genuine hospitality. Grazie mille for your final and positive opinion, I am sure upon your next vacation with us you will see all your comments have been made into action !
warmest personal regards, yours cordially Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    221
    48
    19
    11
See reviews for
70
459
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place has all the things I like:
-cleanliness
-beautiful surroundings
-healthy food

... except one thing, the price. The price to stay here is on the high range but justified: the hotel is situated on a hill covered with olive trees. You can't get more Tuscan than this, and you get what you pay for.

Swimming pool and lovely natural surroundings make this place magical. For those into spas this must be heaven as they offer a wide assortment of treatments.

Breakfast is a NO MISS. One of the healthiest fare (and delivious) I've had in Italy. Plus you get to absorb the superb misty view of the rolling hills and cypresses so characteristic of the area. Ensure to arrive early or late if you want a seat by the breezy view.

The property offers marvellous opportunities for light hiking and yoga on your own.

I would have certainly stayed longer had my budget allowed so.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear friends from beautiful Canada, it has been a true pleasure to host your stay at Villasanpaolo in october and now a real pleasure to read your comments. Truly, we feel happy we could extend you hospitality and share with you the genuine and tasty food products of this incredible territory, the sceneries of landscape and choice of activities to really being involved with our traditions and heritage. Thank you for travelling from Canada to enjoy all this ! on this occasion, Happy Holiday Season and great 2013 ! yours cordially, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to Luigi and your staff (sara was awesome and helpful) for making our trip so amazing! We had no plans, and no clue what was in San Gimagnano until we arrived. We thank you for not only the stunningly beautiful accommodations, but also the effort to make our trip one we will never forget. Thank you for helping us find fun things to do such as local wine tasting, walking in downtown San Gimagnano, the best gelato we have ever had, and the great spa massages at the hotel. We absolutely fell in love with San Gimagnano and your hotel! Thank you I will never forget you and hope to come back soon, San Gimagnano is one of the most breathtaking sites I've seen!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Thea, a warmest ciao and sincere gratitude from Sara, all other colleagues and myself !
The most rewarding and also emotional duty within our job is to share all possible information and suggestion with travellers in our region. I am sure you would do just the same with us when exploring your country for the first time. And, all this means a lot to us : friendship and peace between people....hospitality....sharing and exchanging cultures and heritage......
Thank you so much for having appreciated all this and you know, you will be always very very welcomed in San Gimignano ! hugs and greetings, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived at Villasanpaolo after dark and, after a bit of confusion over where the front door was, got settled into a very clean and comfortable environment with a very helpful staff. Our great delight came in the morning when we awoke to the spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside. Hotel is decorated in what we decided was a minimalist Scandinavian vein that really makes the setting stand out. Restaurant is excellent and proximity to San Gimignano allowed for other culinary exploration. Wanted to book a massage but spa was busy and couldn't fit us in. I guess we'll have to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear friends from U.S., our sincere gratitude for your vacation in San Gimignano and choice to stay with us at Villasanpaolo. We are happy to read you review and your positive comments on your hospitality. We also regret our Irispa did not have any available timeframe for treatments when you requested. But we remain looking forward to welcome you back here : needless to say you will have a priority position, as repeat guests, for your hotel accommodation and indeed for your SPA requirements. Grazie mille ! cordially yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Villa San Paolo last week-end (November 2012) for four nights. We were immediately struck by the friendliness and warmth of the staff when we arrived. They seemed genuinely pleased that we were staying there. Luigi Zaccardo, the Sales & Marketing Manager is a true professional, and breathes life into the word 'hospitality'. He was there to assist with anything we needed during our stay. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the restaurant which has breathtaking views of the Tuscan countryside and enjoyed the food so much we went back for dinner two nights in a row... The wild boar is delicious! There is a luxurious spa where we spent a few hours and came out feeling really renewed ad refreshed.
The property is well positioned close to San Gimignano and we enjoyed a view of this wonderful ancient city from our bedroom.
We were sorry to leave and would encourage you to visit as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Very dear friends from Ireland, for the simple reason you have choosen San Gimignano for your vacation, and for exploring this territory for your future Special Unique Event, you fully deserve all our best hospitality, assistance and friendship. We feel rewarded by your consideration and by your warm nice comments on Villasanpaolo, its Team and our own way to welcome you and every other traveller from worldwidein this Unesco site and very special place inTuscany.
A presto ! looking forward to welcome you soon back here ! Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This gem is 3kms outside of San Gimignano set amid the olive groves. Very friendly staff to welcome you to a ultra clean and very comfortable modern hotel with full spa and outside pool in beautiful grounds. Good value for money, a peaceful, elegant retreat when you return from touring the sights with full restaurant serving gastronomic specialty menu.Have returned here many times and the place just keeps getting better. Beautifully maintained inside and out. It's the friendly staff the get the most praise. They are attentive and willing to go the extra mile to arrange your requests..

Room Tip: Back or front balcony rooms are great for the countryside views. There is also the old villa to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Brucelli, every time we welcome you back to Villasanpaolo is a true joy! I know many of my colleagues and our Owners had this pleasure for several years. This year I myself have been delighted to meet you for the first time and really we all feel very grateful for your extreme kindness in our regards. we are happy to learn once again you appreciated our hospitality and assistance . I may just recall some of your suggestions given to our staff and myself during your stay , and again very pleased to confirm they were all taken into attention and account. Grazie mille !
From Sara, Franco, Romina, Antonella .......many other colleagues of mine and myself....a presto!
yours very cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great location, very good rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We felt it generally lacked atmosphere. In the evening the only bar open was the poolside bar and each evening we were the only people there. The small terrace dining area seemed to be an afterthought, with a few tables and the view obscured by the undergrowth. Having said that our room in the original buildings was very good.

Room Tip: If you are not fussed with a room with a view go for the rooms in the original buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests, sincerely many thanks indeed for your stay with us and review with your nice comments in general on our property and accommodations. In regard of atmosphere, I would agree it can be a matter of expectations. Villasanpaolo is very much requested, especially in summer season, by leisure travellers looking for tranquillity to escape from usual daily pressure finding a retreat of peace and relax. My sincere gratitude for your comments on our staff, really a valuable added value for our hospitality concept. we hope to welcome you soon again here ! arrivederci ! yours cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Address: Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villasanpaolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.