We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful location, out of a storybook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villasanpaolo

Save Saved
You added Villasanpaolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villasanpaolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most beautiful location, out of a storybook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to Luigi and your staff (sara was awesome and helpful) for making our trip so amazing! We had no plans, and no clue what was in San Gimagnano until we arrived. We thank you for not only the stunningly beautiful accommodations, but also the effort to make our trip one we will never forget. Thank you for helping us find fun things to do such as local wine tasting, walking in downtown San Gimagnano, the best gelato we have ever had, and the great spa massages at the hotel. We absolutely fell in love with San Gimagnano and your hotel! Thank you I will never forget you and hope to come back soon, San Gimagnano is one of the most breathtaking sites I've seen!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Thea, a warmest ciao and sincere gratitude from Sara, all other colleagues and myself !
The most rewarding and also emotional duty within our job is to share all possible information and suggestion with travellers in our region. I am sure you would do just the same with us when exploring your country for the first time. And, all this means a lot to us : friendship and peace between people....hospitality....sharing and exchanging cultures and heritage......
Thank you so much for having appreciated all this and you know, you will be always very very welcomed in San Gimignano ! hugs and greetings, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    222
    49
    19
    11
See reviews for
70
465
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived at Villasanpaolo after dark and, after a bit of confusion over where the front door was, got settled into a very clean and comfortable environment with a very helpful staff. Our great delight came in the morning when we awoke to the spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside. Hotel is decorated in what we decided was a minimalist Scandinavian vein that really makes the setting stand out. Restaurant is excellent and proximity to San Gimignano allowed for other culinary exploration. Wanted to book a massage but spa was busy and couldn't fit us in. I guess we'll have to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear friends from U.S., our sincere gratitude for your vacation in San Gimignano and choice to stay with us at Villasanpaolo. We are happy to read you review and your positive comments on your hospitality. We also regret our Irispa did not have any available timeframe for treatments when you requested. But we remain looking forward to welcome you back here : needless to say you will have a priority position, as repeat guests, for your hotel accommodation and indeed for your SPA requirements. Grazie mille ! cordially yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Villa San Paolo last week-end (November 2012) for four nights. We were immediately struck by the friendliness and warmth of the staff when we arrived. They seemed genuinely pleased that we were staying there. Luigi Zaccardo, the Sales & Marketing Manager is a true professional, and breathes life into the word 'hospitality'. He was there to assist with anything we needed during our stay. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the restaurant which has breathtaking views of the Tuscan countryside and enjoyed the food so much we went back for dinner two nights in a row... The wild boar is delicious! There is a luxurious spa where we spent a few hours and came out feeling really renewed ad refreshed.
The property is well positioned close to San Gimignano and we enjoyed a view of this wonderful ancient city from our bedroom.
We were sorry to leave and would encourage you to visit as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Very dear friends from Ireland, for the simple reason you have choosen San Gimignano for your vacation, and for exploring this territory for your future Special Unique Event, you fully deserve all our best hospitality, assistance and friendship. We feel rewarded by your consideration and by your warm nice comments on Villasanpaolo, its Team and our own way to welcome you and every other traveller from worldwidein this Unesco site and very special place inTuscany.
A presto ! looking forward to welcome you soon back here ! Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This gem is 3kms outside of San Gimignano set amid the olive groves. Very friendly staff to welcome you to a ultra clean and very comfortable modern hotel with full spa and outside pool in beautiful grounds. Good value for money, a peaceful, elegant retreat when you return from touring the sights with full restaurant serving gastronomic specialty menu.Have returned here many times and the place just keeps getting better. Beautifully maintained inside and out. It's the friendly staff the get the most praise. They are attentive and willing to go the extra mile to arrange your requests..

Room Tip: Back or front balcony rooms are great for the countryside views. There is also the old villa to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Brucelli, every time we welcome you back to Villasanpaolo is a true joy! I know many of my colleagues and our Owners had this pleasure for several years. This year I myself have been delighted to meet you for the first time and really we all feel very grateful for your extreme kindness in our regards. we are happy to learn once again you appreciated our hospitality and assistance . I may just recall some of your suggestions given to our staff and myself during your stay , and again very pleased to confirm they were all taken into attention and account. Grazie mille !
From Sara, Franco, Romina, Antonella .......many other colleagues of mine and myself....a presto!
yours very cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great location, very good rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We felt it generally lacked atmosphere. In the evening the only bar open was the poolside bar and each evening we were the only people there. The small terrace dining area seemed to be an afterthought, with a few tables and the view obscured by the undergrowth. Having said that our room in the original buildings was very good.

Room Tip: If you are not fussed with a room with a view go for the rooms in the original buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests, sincerely many thanks indeed for your stay with us and review with your nice comments in general on our property and accommodations. In regard of atmosphere, I would agree it can be a matter of expectations. Villasanpaolo is very much requested, especially in summer season, by leisure travellers looking for tranquillity to escape from usual daily pressure finding a retreat of peace and relax. My sincere gratitude for your comments on our staff, really a valuable added value for our hospitality concept. we hope to welcome you soon again here ! arrivederci ! yours cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having read previous Trip Advisor reviews we knew that we had chosen well. We recognised Luigi immediately! The hotel is modern, clean and very comfortable. It is by no means plush but where it lacks it squishy sofas it more than makes up for in welcoming and accommodating staff. The hotel is located just outside San Gimignano, an easy drive to Sienna or Florence or over the mountain from Voltaire. We spent many hours travelling the Italian countryside but we were always glad to walk through the reception doors to a chorus of 'buonasera'.

Room Tip: Always upgrade to a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Signora Sarah , our most sincere gratitude for your words ! for taking your time to write your words ! it seems theoretical, but it is very much what we all at Villasanpaolo feel, your comments are the most appreciated award to our daily commitment, but also our wish you will come back for a new vacation in Toscana ! grazie mille !!! yours very cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On our arrival we were meet by the very friendly and helpful staff. We were concerned it was a little too far from town but our fears were soon put to rest when it was suggested we hire a car. Wow as we drive on the opposite side of the road I was more than a little concerned but this was a wonderful option. Our Tuscan experience was more then enhance by having our independence. We discovered some hidden treasures that we otherwise would not have. The hotel was extremely comfortable and we were more than satisfied with our experience. The staff are amazing and I can not thank them enough for the service that we received. After travelling for 6 weeks they are definitely a standout for service beyond duty. A big thank you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Kim, a real pleasure to read your review ! grazie ! thank you for your nice comments and good memories for your stay with us. Very happy you have accepted our suggestion to hire a car and drive all along our extended territory. I am sure, as much as you write, it is the proper way to know places, people and feel our locations . we hope you will come back soon . my warmest personal regards, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Address: Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villasanpaolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.