We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great staff, lovely rooms in a beautiful location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villasanpaolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villasanpaolo to your Saves list
Villasanpaolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent hotel with great staff, lovely rooms in a beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 8 nights and found it to be an excellent base for touring Tuscany. The hotel itself is of a very high standard with an excellent Spa, restaurant and lovely rooms, grounds and general position. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guests, your review on Tripadvisor is a very rewarding token of your kindness for everyone in our Team and myself ! thank you sincerely for your choice of vacation in this very unique site in Tuscany; and so happy you keep good memories of your days here.
come back soon ! yours very cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    254
    52
    22
    12
See reviews for
80
546
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had a lovely five days at Villa San Paolo. The staff was friendly and attentive and was always willing to help us. We did have some initial problems finding the hotel, but once we got there we were delighted with the accomodations and the fact that it was centrally located and we could get in the car and drive easily to many different locations. It is quiet and the views from the property are beautiful. We did not take advantage of the spa or pools; we decided that we prefered to tour the countryside. We would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was included in our rate and was good. We did eat in the dining room a couple of nights and were impressed with the food. Service was a little shaky the first night, but the hotel was very full and I believe they were short staffed in the dining room. But after things calmed down, service was very good and so was the food. Thank you for a memorable stay. The Carpenters.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Signori Carpenters, our sincere gratitude for your stay with us at Villasanpaolo and for your kindness in posting this review on Tripadvisor, a very important feedback for readers and future travellers in this special part of Toscana region. Hope you will come back soon for a new vacation and to also enjoy our Irispa on your next occasion here, very cordially, enjoy summer ! Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

First of all when I chosed this hotel I saw on the site that they had wi-fi over the hotel. Its a lie, the internet is terrible and dont work at all. I stayed 7 days on the hotel, complaining everyday about it and they did nothing..
Second. They charge for the pool! If u wanna use it, u have to pay 30 euro per day!
The staff doesnt even care about you or your problems, and they are very unhappy or something...
The hotel have a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Guests, this occasion first of all is to thank you very much indeed for your stay with us.
In full respect of yourselves , and in total objectivity, I am obliged to carry on 2 duties I have :
the first : I have assisted myself at your arrival, many times during your stay, and also yesterday upon your departure. In this extent I must be proud of our team, especially at reception, and of the assistance given for all your needs; specifically we have received your compliments and smiles during your check-out when kindly accepting farewell gifts given by our receptionist ( by the way the same colleagues on duty upon your arrival ). By the way, thank you for your decision to extend your stay longer than original reservation.
the second - this is also important for future travellers as we kindly explained here, your Iphone seemed to have connection problems. The other pc you had and all of ours works perfectly. We assure all future visitors and guests our state-of.the-art brand new wi.fi system has a strong and powerful connection signal and it joins every part of our premises. Needless to say, all totally free of charge. I wish to be totally polite and grateful for your stay, but I frankly believe we do deserve a different and better value for our hospitality and love to all our guests. with personal regards, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a beautiful vacation during our 3 days at Villa San Paolo.
We reserved the room at the last minute and the reservation desk upgraded our room to a superior one.
The staff was very nice and always available to help us out. The rooms are large, clean and very nice. The hotel has a pleasent and quite atmosphere and the location it is simply amazing - just in front of the valley.
The spa has everything what you need and the staff is nice and professional.
Also the restaurant is good but not amazing (though we eat vegetarian and therefore our choice was limted...the Fiorentina actually looked very tasting!)
We will come back there soon or later:)
To conclude we definetly suggest VIlla San Paolo to anyone who wants to go to San Gimignano.
Daniele&Noa

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
gentilissimi Signori Daniele e Noa, deeply thank you for your choice to stay with us at Villasanpaolo. we are all very grateful for your kindness in our regards every time during your stay and we feel happy you can keep good memories of your vacation in San Gimignano.
Your return, or the stay of friends of yours in future, will be warmly welcomed and assisted.
With warmest regards, shalom, cordially yours Luigi and Villasanpaolo team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for five nights at this outstanding Villa. The accommodations and staff were superior. Our suite had a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and was absolutely beautiful!!!

The Villa's restaurant was the best we visited in the San Gimignano vicinity. Luigi and his staff could not have been more helpful. Ella was terrific as the Maitre'D of the restaurant. He had a very efficient staff to include Mimo.

Sarah, Romina and Franaco were very attentive at the reception desk. They helped us on locations to visit, places to eat, reservations, vineyards to visit, etc. etc.

WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!!! Lee and Kathi Sayler, Tequesta, Florida

Room Tip: Check out the view first! Get one like we had!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi Z, Direttore vendite at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Signori Sayler from wonderful and sunny Florida, on behalf of all my Colleagues and our Board of Directors I wish to thank you for your stay with us at Villasanpaolo Spa Resort.
I am so glad your vacation in Tuscany has been pleasant and hope also the last couple of days in Cerveteri were pleasant. Sara, Romina, Mimmo, Elia, Franco and many other in our Team joins me in telling you : please come back soon. Our C.E.O. Remo Squarcia wish to have you as his special Guests at dinner on your next vacation. This invitation can be, if you wish, transfer to Friends of yours travelling in this region. my personal warmest regards, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

After a very bad “Hotel” experience in Florence, this hotel gave us such a GREAT and ROMANTIC experience. It is the typical Tuscany surrounding in what seemed to look like a typical Tuscany villa, but it was just so much more. Very modern rooms with extremely efficient staff. The restaurant provided the best food we ate in Italy and with a wine list with some of the best wines in the area, you can’t go wrong. Pool facilities was great (looking over the beautiful town of San Gimignano). Only area they could maybe improve is giving the “Free Wi-Fi” service in the rooms as well (and not only in the currently reception area).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Villa San Paolo is an OK hotel with fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside and of San Gimignano. But what was disappointing is that the website implies some kind of contemporary boutique hotel based in a classic old Italian villa, when in reality most of the hotel is a modern block with basic rooms decorated almost 20 years ago.

Despite asking for a rose garden room (from a previous TripAdvisor recommendation), the room was actually very disappointing and the potential view of San Gimignano from the garden was almost entirely obscured by a staff car park gate.

The restaurant had the most spectacular views but the staff were stressed and the waiting times were so long that at one point we just got up and left. When we did eat at the hotel, the food was average at best. Good pool, but otherwise not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Address: Strada Provinciale per Certaldo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villasanpaolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.