We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The property is magnificent, but . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Casale del Cotone

Save Saved
You added Il Casale del Cotone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Casale del Cotone
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Loc. Il Cotone 59,, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 60 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The property is magnificent, but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My first view of this property was astonishment. It is absolutely beautiful! The chapel with its beautiful music that bids the traveler come in and meditate is remarkable. However, when our group arrived, uncertainty reigned. Despite arrangements made long in advance, there seemed to be confusion and we waited interminably for rooms to be assigned. Despite the fact that the dining area was not large enough for the group, it worked out well. After the long difficult trip and the wait to settle in, the meal exceeded expectations. However, as far as the breakfast buffet, don't expect much more than a few items to assuage hunger until you can find a restaurant for breakfast. The staff serving the morning food service was extraordinarily helpful, always anxious to fill a cup of cappuccino. They made the visit special!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    41
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
167
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Every year since 2000 we have choosen "Il Casale del Cotone" as our holiday destination because of the great location itself and the various possibilities for short trips in the near tuscan environment.
As always we received a warm welcome at "Il Casale del Cotone". Alessandro, his familiy and the whole team did their very best to make our stay a joyful experience.
We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent is the rating we give Il Casale del Cotone! We felt welcomed and well cared for by the staff and host, Alessandro, who gives more than 100% to make this bed and breakfast so wonderful. The serene atmosphere of the grounds, the walk up the hillside, and the beautiful views from the peaceful patio were beyond our expectations. The breakfast food choices were plentiful and eating on the terrace was so pleasant, but the special dinner Alessandro fixed for the guests was truly a culinary treat! This place is a gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Alessandro puts his heart and soul into Il Casale del Cotone. He is very attentive to all of your needs and strives to make your stay excellent. I highly recommend a stay here. Very close to the center of town, easy visits to nearby Volterra, Monteriggioni, Siena, Firenza. Make sure to have the dinner he makes, delicious, and a good way to meet the guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from Tuscany with a group of ten. We were lucky enough to have stayed at the Il Casale del Cotone for four nights. We were blown away by the place. Alessandro is a gem of a guy who has an amazing passion for his business. It shows in every way. The building is beautiful and spotless. The breakfasts were very good (all local products). The grounds were incredible and really gave us the feeling we were staying at an expensive private villa. As mentioned by almost all reviewers, the dinner that Alessandro puts together every other night is a feast in every way. The food and wine keep coming all night and I can't imagine how anyone could leave without a huge smile on their face. The pool area is a nice touch after a busy day of hill town visits. Alessandro works very hard to make everyone feel at home. You will love this place!! I'm sure we will be back many times in the future. Thanks again Alessandro for being such a great host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the middle of September 2013. The place is beautiful: Located in the hills of Tuscany, a 5 minutes drive from the lovely town of San Gimignano. It is a 17th century farmhouse, renovated into a stunning villa.
Alessandro, the owner, is very helpful and welcoming. He gladly gave us all the relevant information we needed during our stay along with recommendations for things to do in the area - complete with annotated maps.
Breakfast was rich and fresh, and eating it in the garden in front of the Tuscan scenery was a real pleasure.
I would recommend this place warmly to anyone seeking a romantic getaway in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Set amongst vineyards and olive groves this is a lovely hotel situated just outside san gimignano. Ample parking, good breakfast, nice rooms, excellent wine and extremely pleasant and helpful owner! Thanks for a great few days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Casale del Cotone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale del Cotone

Address: Loc. Il Cotone 59,, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Il Casale del Cotone 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouses are located no more than 2,5 km from the medieval town of San Gimignano in the district of Siena. The "Casale del Cotone" as well the "Rocca degli Olivi" are surrounded by 70 acres of vinyards and olive trees. They were erected in the 17th century at the bottom of the hill where is located the ancient Roman church "Pieve di Cellole" which inspired Giacomo Puccini to compose the opera "Suor Angelica". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Il Casale del Cotone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Del Cotone Hotel San Gimignano
Il Casale Del Cotone San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Casale del Cotone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.