We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended. Don't miss the feast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Casale del Cotone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Il Casale del Cotone to your Saves list
Il Casale del Cotone
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Loc. Il Cotone 59,, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended. Don't miss the feast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 7 nights at Il Casale del Cotone. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Our host, Alessandro, is always available to answer any questions and recommend places to visit in the area. We were fortunate enough to enjoy the seven course feast that Alessandro prepares a couple of times a week. This was the best and freshest food we had during our month in Italy. The villa is only a short drive from the village of San Gimignano. The surrounding hills covered by vineyards and olive groves are delightful to drive through and there are many villages to visit nearby. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B. I hope we can return one day to experience it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    45
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
62
185
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed for several nights while visiting Tuscany. It's a beautiful villa, surrounded by vineyards, with immaculate, well-appointed rooms. Alessandro is a charming and helpful host, and provided us with ideas of places to see and practical tips (such as where to park in Siena). Breakfast is a feast, and the villa is perhaps five minutes from San Gimignano, and a great base from which to explore all of Tuscany. But it's so beautiful you could also simply sit out back with a good book and a bit of coffee, and take in the view. This is as close to Heaven as you're going to get in this life. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our recent trip to Italy included a 2 night stay at this wonderful place. The rooms and grounds are spotless.The surrounding beauty of the rolling hills, olive groves and vineyards leaves one in awe. Allesandro is a wonderful host. We had the meal there one evening and it was by far one of the finest meals that we have had. I hope to one day return. Thank you Allesandro and staff for a memorable time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Il Casale del Cotone is simply beautiful! We stayed for 3 nights and had a double and triple room. Both were spacious, beautifully decorated and spotless!! In addition, for our adult children, the free wireless was a welcome addition.

We were fortunate enough to experience one of Alexander's spectacular dinners! Each course was more delicious than the previous. The weather cooperated and dinner was served outdoors. The calm of the evening along with the wine and delicious food combined for a perfect evening.

We heartily recommend Il Casale del Cotone--you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It was my first time in Italy and Tuscany, and I couldn't believe how the beautiful countryside came to life. Just like what I have seen in the movies. Il Casale del Cotone was a picture postcard. Our host, Allessandro couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our rooms opened onto a gorgeous veranda with sweeping views of the fabulous countryside. Unfortunately, we did not partake of one of the sensational dinners that we had heard about, but our stay was none the less wonderful, as were the breakfasts. I hope I have the opportunity to return to Italy some day, without a doubt to Tuscany, and absolutely to Il Casale del Cotone. Thank you Allessandro !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have returned again and again to the wonderful creative environment of host Alessandro Martelli (a dead giveaway for George Clooney's younger brother) IL CASALE del CONTONE. The Tuscan setting is picturesque, the grounds are impeccable, the interior is historic, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Away but close enough from the hustle and bustle of the must see San Gimignano walled city. IL CASALE del CONTONE greets you with a laid back, enjoy the vista, exceptionally comfortable stay. It can easily be your base for day trips to other sights, even as far away as Florence. It's the returning that's so welcoming! A must for a fabulous Tuscany experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed two nights with Allessandro and had a great stay. He cooks only a few nights per week but we may have had the best meal in Italy (or anywhere else for that matter) while staying there. Our room was spacious with a beautiful view of vineyards and olive trees. My wife enjoyed the fact that Allessandro bears a striking resemblance to George Clooney. He was a gracious host, tour guide, and chef. If we're able to return to Italy someday I would definitely return to San G.and Casale del Cotone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Casale del Cotone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale del Cotone

Address: Loc. Il Cotone 59,, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casale del Cotone 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouses are located no more than 2,5 km from the medieval town of San Gimignano in the district of Siena. The "Casale del Cotone" as well the "Rocca degli Olivi" are surrounded by 70 acres of vinyards and olive trees. They were erected in the 17th century at the bottom of the hill where is located the ancient Roman church "Pieve di Cellole" which inspired Giacomo Puccini to compose the opera "Suor Angelica". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Casale del Cotone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Del Cotone Hotel San Gimignano
Il Casale Del Cotone San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Casale del Cotone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.