We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location with Character and Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Antico Pozzo to your Saves list
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Matteo 87, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Central Location with Character and Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in a lovely room overlooking the main thoroughfare. The room was very large with a four poster bed and lovely antique furniture. Two sets of large windows opened to look down on the passing parade of tourists and we were also fortunate to witness a religious procession.

San Gimignano is packed with tourists during the day and is a wonderful place to visit but of a summer/autumn evening it is even lovelier to walk around with only the locals and those staying in the town that night. I would recommend staying here for at least one night so that you can experience the town in the morning before day visitors arrive and in the evening after they have left.

The directions given by the hotel for driving to the hotel were satisfactory to follow. We had a small vehicle so the narrow roads were not a problem. Be very aware to follow these instructions exactly as you can be fined if you drive down an incorrect road. This is the case with most hilltop towns in this region. It was interesting backing up to the hotel door for the last 20 metres (you come up to a one way street). I had to ask the tourists to be aware and clear a path for the backing vehicle whilst my husband drove. You can park in front of the hotel door whilst you unload the luggage and check-in then you have to drive the car to one of the tourist parking areas. The most convenient one will be advised at check-in.

There was a bar/cafe to the right of the hotel as you walk out the door where it was great to sit outside have a drink and tapas and watch people from all over the world pass you by in the late afternoon. We dined at two local restaurants that were recommended on Trip Advisor and both were excellent.

The breakfast at the hotel was one of the poorer selections we experienced in Italy but was adequate. We chose to have this breakfast in the little courtyard at the rear rather than in the dining area. Our room was located next to this dining room.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your very nice review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you appreciated L'Antico Pozzo and really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
I regret that our buffet did not match your expectations, I am a bit puzzled by your comment which sounds like the complete opposite from all the other ones we usually receive.
I would be glad to receive some more details and any suggestion about products you would like to find in the morning buffet: your feedback would be much appreciated.
We thank you for your precious collaboration and send our kindest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    153
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
66
252
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband, sister and brother in law stayed here for one night in November 2012. We drove in from Florence and were just amazed at this town! The hotel was so clean and accommodating, but also historic. The name means old well, and you can go into the cellar of the hotel and look at the well.
The rooms were good size. Large bathrooms. Our room overlooked a beautiful courtyard. The breakfast, which was complimentary, was great! So many options. Best we had while in Italy. Parking very close by. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much Ilana01 for taking the time to let us know, as well as our future Guests, how memorable was your stay at L'Antico Pozzo.
We are happy to know you found our breakfast outstanding, I shared your comment with everybody who take care of the buffet in the morning.
I also appreciate your remark about the parking whith which I agree with: it is indeed close and convenient being also served now by an elevator. Another bonus,finally, is payment by credit card for parking which should be activated very soon!
We all look forward to see you soon in San Gimignano
Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Fantastic hotel. November 2012 was our 2nd time at the hotel. 1st stay was 2002. Both occasions were for my wife’s Birthday – and we had a fabulous time.

The staff are attentive, and are happy to do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.

The feature rooms are incredible, the prices vary - so pick one that suits you budget.

Breakfast is a treat!!

No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: There are a number of feature rooms - which vary in price - check the website and pick the oen that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much Gerry D for your wonderful review! We are proud and happy to know you enjoyed your stay again after 10 years, this means a lot to us, thank you!
We are truly looking forward to your return soon at L'Antico Pozzo
With warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo for two nights in early November. We arrived by car after driving from Roma Fiumicino and followed the hotel's video instructions, making the drive into San Gimignano quite easy. We had reserved space in the garage, which is located next to a major public parking lot outside the town center. Although we didn't use the car during our short time in San Gimignano, it would have been easy to retrieve it for touring the countryside.

We had reserved a Petrarca double room and were given no. 10, which looked onto a courtyard. The room was simply furnished but fairly large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, and all the facilities were meticulously clean. The breakfast buffet is generous, with fresh fruit, cereals, breads, and everything else we would have wanted. The hotel staff is courteous, friendly, and helpful. We were even given a recommendation of a restaurant in Orvieto, where we were staying later, and that restaurant was excellent.

The location of thehotel on the picturesque Via San Matteo is excellent for walking around the town. We'd stay there again on a anotehr visit to San Gimignano.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review, we are happy to hearing you have so nice memories of your stay at L'Antico Pozzo!
I am also glad you enjoyed my favourite restaurant in Orvieto and hearing is still remarkable.
We all thank you for your lovely compliments and look forward to see you soon at L'Antico Pozzo
With warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am a single person who traveled throughout Italy for 10 weeks, and I can say the Hotel L'Antico Pozzo was one the nicest hotel/Bed & Breakfast's I stayed in. The hotel is perfectly located in San Gimignano, maybe a two minute walk to the town center, and the front desk was very professional.
It was a beautiful moment when I entered my room and opened the shutters, and the Tuscan countryside in all it's beauty was the view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your 5 stars review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The good:
* The hotel is in a beautiful historic building in the historic centre of town
* The rooms are furnished with nice historic furniture
* Free wifi
* Friendly reception staff
* A range of different rooms sizes/prices
* A large range of breakfast items

The bad:
* I have nothing too bad to say about this hotel.

Overall:
This is a charming old hotel in the town of San Gimignano, which is a very beautiful hill town in Tuscany. I would definitely stay here again if I was ever in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing such a lovely review of your stay at L'Antico Pozzo.
We are happy to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to San Gimignano!

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel was charming, right in the center of town and the staff could not have been more pleasant. We arrived just after 10 in the morning and the staff held our luggage and then delivered it to our room when it was ready. The room was unbelievably charming and it overlooked the street, so we could observe what was happening. The next morning the breakfast exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53073 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.