We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Cooking Class

Tuscan Cooking Class
Localita Sant'Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577941599
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We teach you how to cook Tuscan-style, to discover a country and its traditions throught the taste and the smell of its cooking
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We really enjoyed the cooking class with a very friendly and lovely Katia, especially the homemade Pici pasta was great. We made some Bruschetta, a salad with Tuscan bread, two simple types of pasta sauces (tomato with garlic and beans with cheese) and Saltimbocca which is meat cooked in sweet wine. We learned a lot about the different ingredients and how they are used in the typical Tuscan cuisine. We enjoyed every bit of the meal, which really was a lot to eat, and can't wait making pasta ourselves at home. Special requests such as food allergies were met promptly. With the food we were served three different types of local wine and in the end we got a printed summary of the recipes we made that day so we didn't have to take notes while cooking.

If you think about taking a class, definitely do it here! Some further tipps from us:
1. Get there hungry! You will have antipasti, two types of pasta with sauce and meat and to be able to eat a bit from everything you should have an empty stomach!
2. Drink a lot of water during cooking because you will get several glasses of wine with the food. Especially the Tuscan heat and the heat from the stove may enhance the effects of alcohol. And you will have to drive to Sant'Andrea so drivers should be extra careful when they're having wine.
3. If you cook frequently and already have made Italian or Mediterranian meals, you might consider taking an advanced class. We thought most of the stuff we made wasn't much of a challenge and we cook every week, mostly recipes from all over the world so I guess we were a little to experienced for the beginners' class. But that was our fault and not Katias! Next time we're there, we'll take the advanced class!

Thanks a lot, Katia!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Ciao and thank ytou for your review.

I'm really happy you enjoyed and you learn somethin and I'll wait for you for the advanced or expert class!

Ciao
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We took the cooking class recently (2 couples) and it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early and Katia offered us coffee and cake while we waited for others to arrive. We learned some recipes that we will make at home. There was too much to eat, but all delicious. I would recommend this cooking class!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for the review,

coffee and cake is how the italian start the day......so it was a nice start to enter in italian style of life. Each time you'll cook italian remember of us.

Ciao
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our travels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you Katia for a day that was one of the best of our trip to Italy. Both my friend, Kerrie, and I couldn't stop talking about our hours with you. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, you made us feel like "family".
From making our own pasta (Farfelle & Tagliattele), 2 sauces, chicken saltimbocco to tirramisu together with all of the antipasto's - INCREDIBLE!
To learn the traditional italian way in a traditional italian kitchen was fantastic. Our husbands also loved the lifted overs for dinner.
I could write about everything that we did & made, but I can't recommend you more highly. I can't wait to cook the entire menu for our friends back in australia - I hope I do you justice!
Lots of love & thanks for a fantastic day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you to you, because you made a huge compliment when you write you feel like in a family. When we make the cooking class we try to teach not only our cooking traditions, but also what is an italian family, all the people sitting around the table and talk.
Please, if you don't remember something write and email and we'll answer as soon as possible, so you can have italian dinner again with your friends.
Grazie
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome cooking class - best day of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Fulvio was a great host and knowledgeable about cooking. We are a family of 4, kids ages 11 and 14. We all really enjoyed the class. We ate great food and learned a lot as well. We recommend for anyone in Tuscany who wants to make their own delicious food.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Ciao and thank your for your review.
I'm very happy to know the kids enjoyed a lot and learned something new about the italian cooking
Ciao
Fulvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Well organised, we were the only two people so we got really personal attention and advice. Good three course meal was the agenda. Recommend to others

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Ciao Stephen,

thank you for your review, next time you'll be in Italy stop and try the advanced or expert class. Now you know the secret of italian cooking.
Ciao
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Cooking Class also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tuscan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Cooking Class, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.