We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hidden gem in beautiful wine region.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Cooking Class

Tuscan Cooking Class
Localita Sant'Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577941599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Activities in San Gimignano
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We teach you how to cook Tuscan-style, to discover a country and its traditions throught the taste and the smell of its cooking
Useful Information: Stroller parking
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden gem in beautiful wine region.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took part in a class as part of our honeymoon. We found them on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. Katia was fantastic. Her English is faultless and her knowledge on Italian food is endless and authentic.
We made lots of dishes, including making our own pasta. We had about two hours of teaching interspersed with eating and drinking for another two hours. A great evening.
We learnt lots in our small class of just another couple and us. We could ask lots of questions and felt very at home.
The surroundings are beautiful so, unsurprisingly, the wines with dinner were great.
The location is a little out of the way, so leave plenty of time. It's opposite a swimming pool, if you're lost!
All in all a very good value activity. At €60 each this is much cheaper than competitors and we would have paid that for the food and drink alone without the teaching and recipe book we received and fun we had.
Would highly recommend to those in the area.
Tip- there are lots of cantina and retail outlets for wine and oil en route. Stop off for plenty of good local produce at great prices!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dears,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about the cooking class and our B&B.
I'm so happy you had the perfect honeymoon! You are a fantastic couple, and I wish you'll be always happy as you were here.Enjoy in your new home and I hope to see you again.

Love,
katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must do in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This cooking class is amazing it is a must do katia was a very patient and relaxed tutor . My husband was very sceptical but really enjoyed the day . The food was delicious and so was the wine with each course . Highly reccomend

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A real leaarning experience and fun at the same time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fulvio and Katia are great teachers, we took the "advanced class" and made two different homemade pastas, two sauces, dessert, and the main course. Having cooked for years, I still learned a few new tricks and thoroughly enjoyed the time spent preparing, cooking, and then eating the products of our labor!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Class - holiday highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked this class based on previous recommendations and were not disappointed. the six of us had a fantastic time - lots of fun laughs and food. We had 2 children with us a 3 and 11 year old and the class effortlessly incorporated them into it. Will never forget adults versus kids pasta making competition. Great food and experience with warm and hospitable hosts. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Ciao and thank you for you kind review! I'm very happy to know your expectations weren't disappointed! I love to teach our cooking traditions and I'm even if more happy when kids have fun with us and the also learn something.....they did better pasta than you....do you remember?

Thanks again and I hope to meet you again for the advanced class!

Ciao
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST PART OF MY TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This cooking class is AMAZING! I went with a group of 6 for my birthday and we got to make pasta (from scratch) Italian style garlic bread and a bread salad. After appetisers and mains they brought out a slice of cake for me. The chef was very friendly and would definitely recommend this cooking class if you go to San Gimignano.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Ciao and thank you for you wondderful review and for considering cooking class the best par of your trip. We are very happy and pleased for that.
Hope to meet you for another advanced class....next birthday!

Ciao
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Cooking Class also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tuscan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Cooking Class, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.