We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each time is Better than the Last.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pescille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pescille to your Saves list
Hotel Pescille
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 47 | Località Pescille, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Each time is Better than the Last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is my fourth stay and subesquent review of Hotel Pescille. We stayed 9 nights this May which is our longest stay so far. Apparently we just happened to be in Italy during one of the worst springs in many years from a weather point of view. It rained a lot. Normally when we are here we make good use of the pool and the incredibly beautiful gardens, but this time it wasn't to be. We had a fantastic room with 360 degree views of San Gimignano and the countryside so we could spend time in the room when we were in the hotel or we could go down to one of the common rooms downstairs and play cards, read etc. The staff were always happy to take care of us and bring us drinks and attend to any requests we had. The Hotel Pescille feels like a home away from home. Even though it wasn't the trip we'd expected due to the rain, it really was saved much because of this incredible hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    102
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
156
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend 4 days at this hotel, it was a wonderful experience. Our room had a balcony looking towards San Gimignano, a stunning view!! The room and its bathroom are both spacious, bed is very comfortable. Everything is kept very clean. The nights are silent, no nearby streets. The hotel is located on a hill, very close to a national park and wildlife reserve. We saw pheasants on various occasions. They have a great garden where we took breakfast, lovely view of vineyards and olives. The cappuccino made by Marina is excellent. All the staff were great! We strongly recommend this hotel. Its a very short drive to San Gimignano, 45 minutes to Florence, 30 minutes to Castellina in Chianti, 45 minutes to Sienna.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room with a view of San Gimignano although the room towards the other side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

In this hotel you have a choice of a Garden or Tuscany view or for 10 more Euro you can have a fantastic view of San Gimignano. The room we had was very spacious and had a very large bathroom and patio. The bathroom had a hair dryer and the room had a frig. Although we stayed here for two nights in October, we walked the grounds and they are wonderful. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very, very good. This hotel has a very large free parking area and free internet. In the evening while we were there you could buy a glass of wine and sit outside and enjoy the great view of the Tuscan Hillside and San Gimignano. The hotel is a short distance, perhaps 4 KM to San Gimignano. One will also enjoy walking around the interior of the hotel and along the way to breakfast as there are many historical and old items from the early days when this hotel was no doubt a large farm building that perhaps housed several families. Their restaurant was not open, but they recommended another place quite close to eat. I would most definitely stay here again. Great place and great people working there.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of San Gimignano are fantastic as are the garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Pescile was wonderful. The hotel sits on a hillside overlooking the city of San Gimignano, Italy. The views of the Tuscan hillside were better than anything we could have imagined. We stayed for four days and enjoyed an very good breakfast each morning. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The only issue we had was with the swimming pool. After a day of touring hill towns, or Florence, or Cinque Terre we were hot and tired and we would have loved to take a dip in the pool. The only problem was that the pool closes around the dusk. All in all, I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this place – highly recommended. We were actually only booked for one night, but asked to stay another, we were so impressed.

We spent a lot of time on the balcony. It had a small table and two chairs, and a view to kill for, overlooking San Gimignano and the vineyards below, like something out of a movie. It's just some of the best scenery we saw on our trip. We sat with a few bottles of wine bought directly from the little bodega downstairs (they do tastings too), and a few tasty nibbles bought from the town in the day.

The buildings and gardens are immaculate and every angle is photo worthy. Also check out the lounge areas and their art / antique collection at ground level, some very cool stuff there.

Parking was easy, and there was even a pull up area at the door that made loading and unloading luggage really convenient.

I saw that a few people weren't happy with the rooms – yes, the rooms are very basic, but they are clean, safe, the bed is comfy, there's plenty of hot water, and there's even a little chair and a mini fridge – you have everything you need. Yes, it could do with a little refurbishment, but it's not worth complaining about. I've definitely paid more to stay in much worse.

Also, I noticed a few people complaining that there was no food service – San Gimignano is an easy 3km drive away, with a bevy of amazing restaurants. Yes, you park outside and walk in, but it's a matter of a 1 minute flat walk, if that, from the car park to the gate, and it's very safe. We ate twice, at around 11.00pm at a gorgeous little place called Trattoria Chiribiri, that's open until midnight, just inside and to the left of the entranceway, that was amazing (wild boar stew, and rabbit - some of the food highlights of our Tuscan trip).

We didn't use the pool or spa while we were there, but they looked very clean and had it been warmer, we'd have been in there like a shot.

Breakfast was generous and had a little bit of everything – pastries, juice, eggs, cereals, tea, coffee, etc.

Stay here, and book a lovely balcony room - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights as we had planned to travel in the area and wanted to come back to the same hotel. We had a very nice time, the restaurant has a great menu and the food is excellent. I had the best bruschetta ever. The room was very nice and very spacious. The views out the windows were none other than the Tuscant hills. Picture perfect.
The hotel is very close to downtown San Gimignano, a mediaval town which we adored. The staff is nice and was very please to find someone that spoke french. It was very appreciated. The location is great if you want to go to Pise, Lucca, Modena and Bologne where we enjoyed visiting the museum of Lamborghini and Ferrari.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascouche, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 4 days, this place is wonderful. The view at night front the front deck of Sam Gimignano is one of the best I have seen. The breakfast are good but not a lot of variety especially when you spend 4 days. The infiniti pool is great but the SPA was broken and according to an employee, the owner did not want to repair it.Staff is great and helped us with excellent suggestions. Try and get a room that has the view of Sam Gimi....., the other side is OK and quiet but not as nice. Rooms are big and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pescille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pescille

Address: Strada Statale 47 | Località Pescille, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pescille 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pescille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pescille Hotel San Gimignano
Pescille San Gimignano
Hotel Pescille San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pescille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.