We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Tollena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo Tollena
Save
You added Borgo Tollena to your Saves list
Localita Tollena - SP1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautiful place. I dare to say it is the best agriturismo in the San Gimignano area. If you want to experience the Tuscany lifestyle this is the place. We stayed, four adults, in the Signorina Vittoria unit for a week. A very nice and quiet unit with a wonderful view. This unit is in the opposite side of the pool and this makes it very quiet. It is the only one with an beautiful outside terrace. The owner, Barbara, is very helpful in everything you might need, but you need to understand that this is not a hotel. If you are looking for the amenities of a standard hotel, this is not the place. You have to go to Tollena for what it is, a great experience of living in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Signorina Vittoria is the best unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The views from the villa are amazing, you are surrounded by wine vineyards and olive trees.
Beutiful pool area, evry appartment has a garden table which is ideal to eat and admire the surrounding enviroment. Exceptional good service, the owner gave us the most warm welcome and she is a very nice person. From this location we were able to discover all the cities around San Gimigiano like Siena, Firenze, Pisa, Certaldo, Volterra...
Once a week the owner organises a dinner in the property next to the pool area, it is absolutely a dinner to do, calm and romantic, it is a fine dinning that includes the tasting of the best wines of the property.
We stayed 1 week with our little baby, we had a small appartment which had only a small shower cabin and I was not very easy to bath our baby.
There are some improvements that could be done in the kitchen which the equipment needs a little refreshment, including good knives and a better cooking ware.
The bed was not bad but it could be better.
We will definitely come back, the moment you come in you fall in love with the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in apartment number 8. 4 BD, 4 Baths. Needless to say absolutely perfect for our 2 families travelling together with young children. The scenic and views is breathtaking, Barbara is service minded, and everything is very clean, up to date and well thought through. Beautiful is the most correct word for it all; the view(s), the swimming pool, the furnitures, the building, the feeling!

Not to familiar with wines, but I especially liked the two reserva ones, named after Barbaras two daughhters. The other ones had nothing special to it. I recommend attending to the dinner and wine tasting.

I recommend this place to thoose looking to be self catered, having a car and in need of beautiful quiet days in lovely Tuscany (close to San Gimignano). Have your kids go treasure hunting in the olive groves or grape bushes, and cool of in the pool. Live the life, enjoy it!

I would point my finger at, that beeing a self catering place, and beeing a big apartment for a lot of people, it needs an upgraded kitchen. The diswasher was way to small, we ran it almost twice a day ( 5 young children...), the knives could barely even cut your skin, and all the pots would bend in the bottom when warming up. This does not meet the standards set by Tollena themselves, comparing the kitchen to the other rooms and facilities in general.

Also, the internet wifi is pretty poor, but who cares? Throw away your gadgets, keep your eyes on the views and enjoy life, then go back online when you come back home!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We loved every moment at this beautiful resort. Idyllic setting, beautiful views, modern up-to-date facilities. Charming Barbara could not have been sweeter or more helpful. We had a meal, prepared by Barbara, and wine tasting (great Tollena wines--we tried them all!) -- an evening we will always remember. The location is perfect to explore the Tuscany towns and countryside. Would recommend highly, and we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Tollena we felt welcomed. Life is not perfect and there were a few snags but everything was looked after effeciantly. I would love to return one day. Barbara thank you for your hospitaliy

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Tuscany for our honeymoon for 10 days in June. We thought the hill town of San Gimignano was a perfect spot to stay for exploring Tuscany. It’s a medium-sized hill town (big enough for variety, but smaller than a city), and its centrally located enough to easily do day trips to places like Pisa, Florence, Siena, Montepulciano, Vada…

Borgo Tollena’s reviews were by far the best for any Tuscan villa, so we decided to take a leap of faith and booked it. We stayed in Lunario. We were a bit nervous leading up to our trip…we wondered if the reviews and photos online were accurate representations of what we would see when we arrived. The minute we pulled off the main road toward the property, we knew we had made a great choice. The photos online do not do justice to this gorgeous property.

Borgo Tollena is set a ways back from the road, a few miles from town. It is incredibly peaceful, quiet, hardly any noise from traffic or tourists. The property is very well kept. The pool is clean, with gorgeous views. Barbara, the owner, is accessible and incredibly sweet and helpful. The apartments are very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, and well-appointed. Each apartment has its own picnic table with umbrella and chairs. The villa is on a hill, and the views of its vineyards and the nearby properties are phenomenal, especially at sunset…perhaps some of the best we saw while in Italy. We enjoyed several relaxing breakfasts and dinners at our picnic table soaking up the breathtaking scenery. Absolutely amazing. We have already recommended Borgo Tollena to friends, and we hope to return ourselves for an anniversary some day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is already the 2nd time that we visit Borgo Tollena. Again we had a really relaxing holiday, with nice view, good food and friendly people. The kids are really missing the place already and are asking if we can book it for next year, to see Barbara, Hetty, the swimming pool and the good wine and the good food.
We arrived very late at the apartment but had a warm welcome, because the fridge was filled with nice "Tollena" wine. That was really a nice surprise. Actually we don't want recommend this place (most beautiful view of Tuscany) because every one else will go then.......

See you next year Barbara!

Sherida, Gerard & kids

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Tollena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Tollena

Address: Localita Tollena - SP1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Borgo Tollena San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Tollena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.