We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Casale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Casale to your Saves list
Antico Casale
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Pian di Sala, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
“Fantastic !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hey ! I've been here for 2 weeks, it was totally awesome, i've got many good memories from this hotel. I've like to recommend the restaurant, food was very good. I reccomend this hotel for sure !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    26
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have just come back from Antico Casale and I truly recommand this place to everyone who want to visit the Toscany and taste italian culture. Very good food, nice personnel and beautifull views. If you like calm and nature its one of the best place to stay and have a rest. I would really like to go back there as soon as possibile.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Thanks a lot to Alberto! Tasty meal with pleasant service in the ancient castle. This is that I hoped to get in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Thanks 4 a wonderful holiday, Alberto) U r amazing!
My husband and I r very bored at home, we want to back to San Gimignano!!!! The trip turned wonderful!
photos r perfect! we'll advise all your hotel, because........................it's the best!! Keep it up!!!! Waiting 4 us again!)))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is simply the best, our dream, paradise! Entering the territory of the hotel the first impression was woooow!! in other words, castle! Most of all I remember is that there are not only nice staff but kind-hearted owner.
The hotel 4****!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at Antico Casale (august 2011). Stayed for three nights. Quiet, very nice place, new, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! .The Casolare is a totally relaxing experience. All rooms with air conditioning, wifi internet connection.
.It is in the middle of a natural park , so you need a car . We had a sat nav to help us find it but it didn't take us to the right place, so make sure that you use a map too! They dont' accept credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

we booked this hotel a few months prior to arrival, based on reviews. When we arrived, we found out that the hotel was only open for one month, so therefore reviews were all fabricated. The web stated, wifi,credit card accepted. Upon arrival we found out there was no wifi, no phone service and no credit cards accepted. The hotel was in the middle of nowhere, you had to drive many kms along an unpaved road to arrive and was really not in a good location. The young lady that worked there was very friendly and helpful. She said she would call the owner and perhaps we could switch to her other property in Chianti, the owner told the young lady that if we left she would deduct it off her pay. She quit and we left for a much better place with beautiful vistas and professionalism which was definetly lacking at antico casale. I would not recommend this place unless do no want service, vistas, wifi, phone service or credit cards accepted.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale

Address: Localita Pian di Sala, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antico Casale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antico Casale The property takes its name from the road that runs along it, the Salaria, an important route for communication with Pisa and the sea and the salt trade. Originally born as a staging post for changing horses it is documented since Roman times. Although today nothing remains of the original structure Antico Casale offers relax and tranquility immersing the guest in a romantic atmosphere and familiar at the same time, the proximity to the nature reserve of Castelvecchio and the short distance from Sangimignano makes it strategic and ideal for those who want to visit and experience the real Tuscany. The magic of silence...The flavors of the past...An emotional atmosphere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Antico Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Casale San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Casale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.