We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel for the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Casale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Casale to your Saves list
Antico Casale
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Pian di Sala, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful hotel for the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Thanks a lot to Alberto! Tasty meal with pleasant service in the ancient castle. This is that I hoped to get in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Thanks 4 a wonderful holiday, Alberto) U r amazing!
My husband and I r very bored at home, we want to back to San Gimignano!!!! The trip turned wonderful!
photos r perfect! we'll advise all your hotel, because........................it's the best!! Keep it up!!!! Waiting 4 us again!)))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vovan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is simply the best, our dream, paradise! Entering the territory of the hotel the first impression was woooow!! in other words, castle! Most of all I remember is that there are not only nice staff but kind-hearted owner.
The hotel 4****!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anicetacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at Antico Casale (august 2011). Stayed for three nights. Quiet, very nice place, new, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! .The Casolare is a totally relaxing experience. All rooms with air conditioning, wifi internet connection.
.It is in the middle of a natural park , so you need a car . We had a sat nav to help us find it but it didn't take us to the right place, so make sure that you use a map too! They dont' accept credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great to be back. Everything as wonderful as ever with a few new twists: new furniture in the lounge and more choice in the restaurant. Staff always helpful and the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Splendidly relaxing in stunning surroundings. Thank you for all your hard work it is much appreciated and we will for sure be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff_f6383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The old farmhouse has been well restored, the staff are helpful, the food is good & the surrounding national park is lovely.........BUT the hotel is chaotic and not ready for guests. We had 1 problem after another during our stay (no sheets, no hot water, dirty towels, swimming pool in the middle of a ploughed area because the grass hasn't grown etc).
The staff are trying really hard to sort out these issues & keep people happy, but 'Romantic Tuscany' need to show more consideration towards their clients. We only booked a week before our stay - but there was no mention of the fact that it had only just opened. (The March review below is completely misleading as it relates to another property altogther.) Antico Casale has the makings of a lovely place to stay - but Romantic Tuscany need to get their act together first.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

After a trip through an unpaved road (you must have a car, preferably a 4 wheel drive) for 5 km without any sign or indication we arrived in the middle of nowhere in this "antico casale" but actually the whole property looks recently built. There is no internet connection in the hotel whatever they say on the website. There is not even a cell phone sign available, so you're really disconnected from the outside world. There are no bikes for rent, no wellness center. The rooms look hastily decorated with no eye for details (not fitting curtains, no chair etc). There are problems with electricity and plumbing: no hot water, leakage in the shower, dirty yellow brown water running from the tap after a rainstorm. Not enough deck chairs around the pool, a cheerless restaurant. Unprofessional staff with a very disorderly administration: all the data of the guests including their creditcardnumber with verificationcode lay scattered on the desk in the "office" visible to everyone's eye! There was no registration procedure on arrival. On departure you had to pay cash and received not even a bill: this was promised to be sent by email, but has not arrived thus far!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamJaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#11 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#22 of 31 in San Gimignano
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
3.1 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
4.9 mi away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#3 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale

Address: Localita Pian di Sala, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antico Casale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antico Casale The property takes its name from the road that runs along it, the Salaria, an important route for communication with Pisa and the sea and the salt trade. Originally born as a staging post for changing horses it is documented since Roman times. Although today nothing remains of the original structure Antico Casale offers relax and tranquility immersing the guest in a romantic atmosphere and familiar at the same time, the proximity to the nature reserve of Castelvecchio and the short distance from Sangimignano makes it strategic and ideal for those who want to visit and experience the real Tuscany. The magic of silence...The flavors of the past...An emotional atmosphere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Antico Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Casale San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing