We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“castle!!!!! thnx a lot!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Casale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Casale to your Saves list
Antico Casale
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Pian di Sala, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“castle!!!!! thnx a lot!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is simply the best, our dream, paradise! Entering the territory of the hotel the first impression was woooow!! in other words, castle! Most of all I remember is that there are not only nice staff but kind-hearted owner.
The hotel 4****!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    26
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at Antico Casale (august 2011). Stayed for three nights. Quiet, very nice place, new, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! .The Casolare is a totally relaxing experience. All rooms with air conditioning, wifi internet connection.
.It is in the middle of a natural park , so you need a car . We had a sat nav to help us find it but it didn't take us to the right place, so make sure that you use a map too! They dont' accept credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

we booked this hotel a few months prior to arrival, based on reviews. When we arrived, we found out that the hotel was only open for one month, so therefore reviews were all fabricated. The web stated, wifi,credit card accepted. Upon arrival we found out there was no wifi, no phone service and no credit cards accepted. The hotel was in the middle of nowhere, you had to drive many kms along an unpaved road to arrive and was really not in a good location. The young lady that worked there was very friendly and helpful. She said she would call the owner and perhaps we could switch to her other property in Chianti, the owner told the young lady that if we left she would deduct it off her pay. She quit and we left for a much better place with beautiful vistas and professionalism which was definetly lacking at antico casale. I would not recommend this place unless do no want service, vistas, wifi, phone service or credit cards accepted.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great to be back. Everything as wonderful as ever with a few new twists: new furniture in the lounge and more choice in the restaurant. Staff always helpful and the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Splendidly relaxing in stunning surroundings. Thank you for all your hard work it is much appreciated and we will for sure be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The old farmhouse has been well restored, the staff are helpful, the food is good & the surrounding national park is lovely.........BUT the hotel is chaotic and not ready for guests. We had 1 problem after another during our stay (no sheets, no hot water, dirty towels, swimming pool in the middle of a ploughed area because the grass hasn't grown etc).
The staff are trying really hard to sort out these issues & keep people happy, but 'Romantic Tuscany' need to show more consideration towards their clients. We only booked a week before our stay - but there was no mention of the fact that it had only just opened. (The March review below is completely misleading as it relates to another property altogther.) Antico Casale has the makings of a lovely place to stay - but Romantic Tuscany need to get their act together first.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

After a trip through an unpaved road (you must have a car, preferably a 4 wheel drive) for 5 km without any sign or indication we arrived in the middle of nowhere in this "antico casale" but actually the whole property looks recently built. There is no internet connection in the hotel whatever they say on the website. There is not even a cell phone sign available, so you're really disconnected from the outside world. There are no bikes for rent, no wellness center. The rooms look hastily decorated with no eye for details (not fitting curtains, no chair etc). There are problems with electricity and plumbing: no hot water, leakage in the shower, dirty yellow brown water running from the tap after a rainstorm. Not enough deck chairs around the pool, a cheerless restaurant. Unprofessional staff with a very disorderly administration: all the data of the guests including their creditcardnumber with verificationcode lay scattered on the desk in the "office" visible to everyone's eye! There was no registration procedure on arrival. On departure you had to pay cash and received not even a bill: this was promised to be sent by email, but has not arrived thus far!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Italy. I have never complained about a hotel before in my life, but this is the exception.We actually left early, as did other guests!

Firstly the website of the hotel simply lies. http://www.romantic-tuscany.com/en/Rooms/
- The pictures are fake. There is no grass around the pool, it resembles a building site still
- 'Room equiped with mini bar'.... False
- 'Mountain bike rental'..... False
- 'SPA 'Panoramic outdoor Jacuzzi'.... False! (Not even a spa on the premises!)
- 'coffee Bar'....False

Ontop of the misleading leading website the hotel has some fundamental flaws
- When it rains water comes in under the door
- The towel heater doesnt work
- The room next to us had yellow water coming out of the pipes in it's bathroom
- The entire place had a damp feel about it.
- The 'restaurant' didn't even have menus, which would have been fine if the girl serving us was 'multi lingual' as also promised on the website.

This hotel has the potential to be fantastic, and maybe it will be once it's been open for a couple of months, but there is no way that this hotel is ready to be open yet and it's not fair on guests to have to 'test' the place and be expected to pay for it.

One other thing worth mentioning is that the positive review already on Trip Advisor is very clearly written by the owners, so don't get sucked in by that one.

Of the positive things to say
- The host, Samantha, was brilliant. She could not have tried harder, or been nicer to deal with. It's very unfair on her to be left in the position that the owners have placed her in. The fact that there were clearly lots of problems and many guests complaining I thought it very poor form that the owner did not come accross from her other Hotel to sort out the issues personally.
- The area that the Hotel is in is lovely quiet forest of Tusany. Fantastic walking tracks around.

We ended up leaving early and got a discount, but that's beside the point. we came to Tuscany to experience a wonderful time, and unfortauntely this Hotel let us down, thankfully we still had a brilliant trip with everything else the area had to offer.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale

Address: Localita Pian di Sala, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antico Casale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antico Casale The property takes its name from the road that runs along it, the Salaria, an important route for communication with Pisa and the sea and the salt trade. Originally born as a staging post for changing horses it is documented since Roman times. Although today nothing remains of the original structure Antico Casale offers relax and tranquility immersing the guest in a romantic atmosphere and familiar at the same time, the proximity to the nature reserve of Castelvecchio and the short distance from Sangimignano makes it strategic and ideal for those who want to visit and experience the real Tuscany. The magic of silence...The flavors of the past...An emotional atmosphere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Antico Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Casale San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Casale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.