We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rustica Progenie Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustica Progenie Apartments
Save
You added Rustica Progenie Apartments to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larniano, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My best advice is do not even consider this dump. We have travelled through out the world & stayed in some pretty grim places, but this is by far the worst accommodation we have ever stayed at. The owner had his priorities completely wrong. He was more concerned about 1000 cable channels than investing in his property. The apartment had mould on the walls, stank of must, and utensils looked like they had never been cleaned. We arrived early evening & thankfully did not unpack as the next morning when we woke, the bed was saturated & so was most of the room. We decided that was enough & left immediately, together with other guests. Thankfully we found a lovely little place about 2 km down the road & fortunately got our money back.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norge
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We have just come back from this rustic experience.
The area is beautiful but it’s a shame that the owner of Rustica, Paolo is turning this place into a dump.
First of all it’s hard to find. Some signs must have fallen down. We had to ask several places and finally Paolo had to come and meet us up the road. At first it looks charming. Not a great view of the beautiful scenery because the trees are too high. We were two families travelling together. We got a “studio” in the main building. Dark, and a nightmare for us travelling with children. The outdoor area was across the courtyard next to another building. It smelled of pee and hadn’t seen a hand for a real long time. It was completely without sun. We told Paolo of another room and we was lucky to get a next by building, a small house next to the playground. The playground by the way is two broken plastic toys, a ping pong table without balls and an ice hockey game that doesn’t work.
The pool is big and quite OK. The surrounding area is unfortunately very tired and lacks pay of attention. There are too few plastic sun beds. That is probably because broken ones don’t get replaced.
After the first day we had big problems getting in contact with Paolo. We were looking after him at the property and called him countless times without answer. This is a problem because if you want to use the washing machine e.g. you need him to turn it on !!?
All in all: A beautiful area with lot to see, but stay somewhere else. You are guaranteed ( we got a good contact with a lot of the other families and the criticism was unanimous ) to be disappointed with a stay here if you are used to certain degree of standard. It is clear that the owner doesn’t care about the property and isn’t interested in using money and time on it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Read the review
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

As you approach Rustica Progenie you are surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery - fields of sunflowers, vinyards, olive groves and some other farms converted into holiday accomodation - just beautiful. You then arrive at Rustica Progenie and again you are struck by the beauty of the place. Once you park your car and come back up to the courtyard, where local Olive Oil and Wines are for sale, you really think this is the start of a wonderfull stay.

We stayed in a "Studio" apartment on the ground floor - this was filthy, damp and full of mildew. All of the funiture and crockery was damaged, chipped or broken in some way and clearly discarded from the main house or collected from second hand stores. Our sofa bed was too old, lumpy, uneven and so damp it made the prestine white cotton sheets (supplied) damp in a matter of hours. When sleeping on this bed we needed to add blankets as we were so cold from the damp bed, not to mention the smell of damp and mildew. The fridge was so old it made a lot of very loud noise (turning on and off) throughout the night. There was one small window above head height and one glass door - hence the damp - this room never recieved any sunlight. The wardrobe consisted of a locked door way with a curtain across it. Through this locked door we could hear every word spoken in the next apartment, even the occupants snoring through the night.

The bathroom was filthy with a permanent smell of urine (regardless of use) - the shower curtain was too short and did not keep much water in the tray and there was no drain on the main floor for the excess water to drain way - so it has to be mopped up with a cloth after each use.

The promised garden/terrace consisted of what we first thouht was a very very (not big enough for a chair) small patio, but this turned out to be the drain way for the main drain pipe running of the roof of the main house. You then stepped up to a collection of pepples and weeds that was our garden that never recieved any sun, regardless of time of day.

We did not see any of the other accomodation so we don't know if we were just very unlucky with our allocation. What a missed opportunity as the surroundings are just beautiful with a lovely pool area - it just needs better attention to detail and no fear of spending a little money to make a lot.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2004

Fantastic location, peaceful and relaxing, very friendly and helpful owners - a great choice if you are looking for an romantic hideaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2003

I stayed in the Rustica in May this year and it was everything I could have dreamed of in terms of peace and beauty. The apartment was as the name describes rustic with lovely old features including wooden beams, terracotta tiled floors and a stone fireplace(not that it was needed as the weather was beautiful all the time) The Rustica is set a good 2klms in off the road on a sort of dirt track which is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. The fruits of these are made into delightful wine and olive oil and these are available to purchase for a very small sum in the courtyard of the apartments. The pool area is surrounded by trees and flowers and is kept to a really high standard, it is hard to think of a nicer location to spend your lazy days.

The nearest town to the rustica is San Gimignano(7klms) whuch is stunning however it is extremely busy during the day with coach tours coming from everywhere so its a joy to be able to saunter down in the evening to enjoy dinner and some vino in one of the numerous restaurants and then finish your evening with an icecream from "jolly" in the town square. Restaurants worthy of a special mention included Trattoria ChiriBiri for their beautiful food and drink very resonably priced and also Beponnes for the mosy delicious pizzas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rustica Progenie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustica Progenie Apartments

Address: Larniano, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Gimignano
Hotel Class:3 star — Rustica Progenie Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rustica Progenie Apartments San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustica Progenie Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.