We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
180 degree panoramic view of the Tuscan countryside from the sitting area in the garden.
View from swimming pool, looking out towards Volterra
Covered patio with table for six
Living room
San Gimignano
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasonethe...
1 review
“Wonderful villa, great location within reach of most major cities in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed a truly wonderful week here with three generations of our family in August 2013. Our boys (aged 2 and 5 years) loved the pool which has spectacular views.

The villa is spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need for your stay. We enjoyed day trips to San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena, Pisa, Florence, all of which are within an hour or so of the villa.

Most notably, Mary Ann was hugely attentive when we had a medical incident and needed her help in organising the delivery of a wheelchair. She organised a local liaison to speak with the courier company and couldn't have been more helpful.

Also worth noting is the fact that the Mosquitos were almost non existant here in comparison with Rome, possibly due to the hilltop breeze that you enjoy whilst at Azzurra.

We loved our sundowners overlooking the wonderful views across the hills whilst enjoying the lovely wildlife in the gorgeous lavender border - butterflies, geckos, spectacular hummingbird moths, bees, crickets and lots more.

We hope to visit again and would love to spend longer here next time as there was plenty more to explore.

Thank you Mary Ann for a wonderful and memorable week.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sasha H
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Beautiful villa with lovely views of Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Azzurra is a beautiful villa set in the heart of Tuscany, situated only 20 minutes from San Gimignano and Volterra. Perfect for a family holiday, the villa was immaculate and well-presented retaining traditional Tuscan charm and comfort. Mary Ann, the owner, was extremely helpful in providing information, and the villa's quiet and remote location offered a relaxing stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
K8Yates
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly relaxful Tuscan villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a real getaway in Tuscany. The villa, as other guests have said, is an amazing place to stay and very well presented - extremely comfy beds, a well stocked kitchen, wifi and amazing views. Mary Ann, the owner, sent us lots of really helpful information beforehand making it easy to find supermarkets, restaurants and of course the villa, which feels like its in the middle of nowhere but is perfectly positioned at the end of a dirt track halfway between the beautiful hilltop towns of San Gimignano and Volterra.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LizNewYor...
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect villa for a dream vacation in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this villa for three nights with three girlfriends during our week-long tour of the Tuscany region. Not only is this villa conveniently located within driving distance of Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano and Pisa, but it also offers breathtaking views of the Tuscan countryside which you'll particularly enjoy at sunset while dining on the private stone patio. Additionally, it offers all of the convenient amenities (WiFi, pool, in-unit W/D and new kitchen appliances) you could need and is very spacious (it can very comfortably sleep six). There is ample parking and the on-site staff is friendly and considerate. Equally important, it was easy to find (we drove in from Pisa) and felt very safe. I would absolutely recommend this vacation rental to anyone who traveling with friends, family or as a couple.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views from the patio at sunset
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Traveling...
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax with girlfriends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

My 3 best friends and I travelled here in September and still think about it EVERYDAY! That is actually what brought me back to this site ....and I realized I hadnt left a review. Azzurra was the best part of our stay in Italy and has us day dreaming about it weekly over email. We had the chance to stay through the recommendation of a good friend. He told us we would love it more than anything, and we did. We spend our days there and did not leave because of the stunning views and amazing kitchen. We had all the dishes, pots, utensils we could need....and cooked the best meals we had in Italy. The owner provided us with such comprehensive details there was really NOTHING left out from where we could buy essentials to where we should eat in town. The directions and instructions were also perfect. I really cannot describe the relaxation you get here with words...we enjoyed a sunset daily with wines and cheese. The pool was great...! The sheets smelled like perfection...! ahhh...I want to go back, NOW!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything:-)
Liked least: We loved everything!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Susan5595
Claydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

It is difficult to add much to the previous reviews by guests who have clearly enjoyed their stay at Azzurra as much as we did. This was our third visit to Tuscany and we were delighted to discover this super place to stay. The setting is amazing - wonderful views and peaceful surroundings. The house is very well appointed with comfortable beds and fully equipped kitchen. The owners clearly put a lot of effort into ensuring that their guests have a comfortable stay, and supplied superbly detailed directions (including photos of crucial junctions) and lots of useful information about the house. Wonderful!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DennisM31...
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and accomodations for a party of six to enjoy Tuscany.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Azzurra seemed to be a good fit for our group of six - parents with adult daughters and boyfriends. And, it was. The three bedrooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and comfortable. The house (apartment) spacious throughout and complete with all the amenities. The complete kitchen enabled us to have full meals and enjoy the patio for dining. I especially liked being able to harvest garden herbs for cooking. I only wished the laundry instructions were in English.

The location is ideally situated in the heart of Tuscany. From the pool you can see Volterra and you are only minutes from most other sites or trains. We took the train into Florence which proved to be perfect; no hassles driving into Florence and the train station is in the middle of town.

Overall a great experience punctuated by helpful and timely information from the owner.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, size and comfort.
Liked least: none.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$200
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Mary Ann A
1 5103969992
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing