We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Collegiata

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Collegiata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Collegiata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Strada n. 27, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in San Gimignano
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

One of the best holidays we have had. After the dismal experience at Borgo La Bagnaia anything was bound to be better. La Collegiata not only surpassed out expectations we absolutely loved it! The hotel is set in the beautiful tranquil surroundings of an old Franciscan monastery, food is excellent, service friendly and rooms well apportioned. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had the simplest garden room which was nonetheless lovely, large enough for a couple and baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very disappointed overall with this hotel. Although a perfect location in beautiful grounds, the gardens were overgrown and very scruffy. Having stayed four nights we had adequate time to sample the food. Breakfast was ok, but dinner appalling, mostly meat dishes, frozen food no fresh vegetables, God help you if you were a vegetarian. The menu never changed. One one occasion my meal was so over salted I sent it back only to be replaced (by the time my Husband had finished his meal) with an equally salty offering. Other couples on the same night also had over salted dishes.
The room although dark was comfortable. Wifi did not work. But overall definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Once a charming Relais hotel...now it is a overpriced, empty box on a hill.
My bed sagged, the wifi didn't work, the food was very poor with some the food frozen. The gardens are negelected and brown, ...shabby-shabby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed at this property three times, most recently in July. It is one of our favorite places to spend a nice weekend. Not only is it a beautiful and unique hotel (a converted Franciscan convent built in 1587 - with a tower!) but the staff could not be any friendlier. They are always so kind an accommodating, and they are so great with our dog. The grounds are beautiful, the food is wonderful and it is just a lovely place to spend time.

My husband and I usually travel with our dog, but most recently went with extended family. It was their favorite stop on our trip. No matter the occasion, the service is always consistent. We will return again, hopefully in October before they close for the year. If not, we will be there when the doors open.

Thanks, La Collegiata, for always providing such a wonderful home-away-from-home experience!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the town are lovely. One day, we will spend the money to stay in the tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We revisited La Collegiata this past week after a very disappointing vacation home rental. A last minute change in plans brought us back to this WONDERFUL oasis. Thank you to the fantastic staff and especially Stefan for saving our vacation. I hope it will not be 15 years until we return again. Grazie Mile

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel delivers on every front, limited rooms means that you get excellent service from the friendly staff who find just the right balance between being attentive and non-invasive. The food throughout the day is fresh and beautiful and the views from all the outside tables make it taste even better i'm sure. I'll definately be coming back soon and can't wait already!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I read somewhere that “if money is no problem then this is the place”. Agreed. A converted Franciscan convent, built in 1587, with a ton of history and personality. A 5 star resort with gardens, pool, small spa area, and personal staff nestled in the Tuscan Hills with a beautiful view of San Gimignano. Extremely professional staff top to bottom. Will arrange anything you want or need - tours or most any other request. Expensive but you do get what you would expect for the price. Everybody should be treated like this at least once in their life!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the front gardens and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Collegiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Collegiata

Address: Localita Strada n. 27, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Collegiata 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Escapio so you can book your Hotel La Collegiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Collegiata Hotel
Hotel La Collegiata San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Collegiata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.