We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Piazza della Cisterna, 4, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 942244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 105 restaurants in San Gimignano
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I ordered two flavors: white wine and lavendar. Exquisite. 2.5 years later and the memory hasn't faded a bit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    878
    207
    85
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best we've had in Italy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately for us we had tried many small town gelaterias before coming here, many of which were far superior to this establishment. Flavours were ok and service was average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The most incredible gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We easily got gelato from here four times in our 24 hours in San Gimignano -- the flavours are so amazing and inventive! I recommend the fior di latte, raspberry and rosemary and blueberry and lavender. Down the street to the right as you walk out is an alleyway leading to a viewpoint, which is a great place to go eat your gelato on a sunny day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best icecream in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Simply the best. Try the Amedei chocolate and ask them for recommendation. Every taste is great! Prices are very fair also... Great location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just came back from a trip around Italy where I religiously hunt for the best gelato in each city. Dondoli in by far the best among those I have tried. The flavour is there and the texture is very smooth. The only regret was not ordering my second cup!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Dondoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.