We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most incredible gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Piazza della Cisterna, 4, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 942244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The most incredible gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We easily got gelato from here four times in our 24 hours in San Gimignano -- the flavours are so amazing and inventive! I recommend the fior di latte, raspberry and rosemary and blueberry and lavender. Down the street to the right as you walk out is an alleyway leading to a viewpoint, which is a great place to go eat your gelato on a sunny day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    290
    110
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best icecream in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Simply the best. Try the Amedei chocolate and ask them for recommendation. Every taste is great! Prices are very fair also... Great location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just came back from a trip around Italy where I religiously hunt for the best gelato in each city. Dondoli in by far the best among those I have tried. The flavour is there and the texture is very smooth. The only regret was not ordering my second cup!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You have a great amount of flavors to choose from. I loved the lemon gelato and the chocolate. Word champions on different occasions. Open until late.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Freaking Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Our local tour guide recommended this gelateria. I got the chocolate with Grand Marnier and orange. Absolutely delicious! We went all over Italy and this was the best. Who would've thought you would find the best gelato in a medieval hilltop village named San Gimignano?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Dondoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.