We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what Tuscany is all about!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Poggio Alloro

Fattoria Poggio Alloro
Via S. Andrea 23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
0577 950153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Activities in San Gimignano
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is what Tuscany is all about!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This farm/vinyard was part of a Tuscany in a Day tour we booked through Viator but conducted by Walk About Florence. This was our lunch stop as well as a visit to an organic farm in Tuscany. Everything about this place was so impressive; from the outdoor seated lunch with a view of the hills and San Gimignano in the distance, to their organic extra-virgin oilve oil pressed locally, to their four separate types of wines they produce at the farm. In addition, they produce saffron at this farm as well.

The beauty of this place is that everything is natural and grown or produced at the farm (except for pecorino cheese, which they get from another farm). They even have the famous Chianina cattle at this farm. The chef/general manager at this farm, a lady by the name of Sarah Fioroni, has written a book called a Family Farm in Tuscany and has great recipes in it. As a matter of fact, she has been on several tours in the US teaching Tuscan cooking.

If you are into real food, the natural, wholesome, farm-grown, non-GMO type, this place is like heaven! I brought back their product list and will be ordering some supplies over the internet. By the way, I am told that they also have accomodations at this farm, if you are into agritourismo!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch at this organic farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was the best part of the Best of Tuscany tour. Lunch at this farm house was delicious and memorable. We were lucky to sit in front of the fireplace while we dined here. We came here in mid-January and it was very cold and cloudy. Being at this farm made us happy and forget the cold weather. Our meal consists of cured meats, cheeses, salad, bread and penne with meat sauce. If you are a veggie, there will be a veggie platter prepared just for you. There was your choice of unlimited wines: 2 reds and 1 white. For dessert, we had biscotti dipped in dessert wine. Delish!
The staff here is very friendly and wonderful. Afterwards, we walked around the grounds and you will see the spectacular view of San Gimignano. Also, they have a store on site selling wines and olive oils. Even though we came during the winter, this place is worth stopping by for a meal and enjoying the view.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Cheers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I booked the Best of Tuscany tour with Walkabout when we were in Florence last July. One of the destinations was a Chianti farm/vineyard. We had a great tour guide who led us through the vineyards and gardens where there were grapes, olives, figs, artichokes and tomatoes growing. As well they had a barn with animals and a cellar were grapes were processed and wine was stored. The best part was having a fresh pasta lunch with lots to drink. My wife actually commented, after drinking a few glasses, that this was the best part of our vacation. From the outdoor dining area we had an amazing view of the medieval hilltop town of San Gimignano surrounded by the rolling hills of Tuscany. The picture perfect Italian scenic view every one imagines or sees in the movies. A must for anyone travelling to this region. Bottoms up!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I took the Best of Tuscany Tour with WalkAbout Tours and we had the most amazing time. The highlight of the trip is having lunch at this place. When we arrived, we were guided to the vineyards, the olive grove, farm and wine making cellar. We were welcomed by the owner and her friendly staff. The breathtaking views of the vineyard was magnificent. It's nothing I have seen in my wine tasting tours in Napa and Sonoma. It just have a beauty of it's own.

You can enter the farm or skip it. I have to warn you that the smell can be overwhelming. I didn't mind. The cows are actually cool to see. I thanked them for the fabulous cheese that we were about to have. We then went to the wine cellar where we were shown their wine making process. After that, off we went to lunch.

We ate at the outside patio overlooking the vineyard. We had such an amazing weather for an end of October trip. We were seated with wonderful people and conversations were flowing. We started with different kinds of cheese and prosciutto. Then the main course was pasta. It was served with a toasted bread with olive oil. They were absolutely delicous. They served 4 bottles of wine in total - Cabernet, Chianti, Vernaccia and a Port. All of them were excellent. I love ports and theirs is one of the most amazing ports I have ever had. You can really taste the Brandy and it's not overwhelmingly sweet. They served the port with a delicious biscotti. The entire time, we had sparkling water on our table. After all the wine, it was very helpful to rehydrate. We also bought a bottle of Cabernet to bring home. I will definitely order wine from them to ship to the US.

Good food, very good wine, amazing vineyard, wonderful tour... can't ask for anything more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riberac
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful vineyard looking up to the hilltop town of San Gimignano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We wanted to sample some of the local wine on our recent trip to Tuscany so took the advice found in Decanter magazine and went for a wine tasting at Fattoria Poggo Allora. We were expecting something more low-key as we are used to visiting the vineyards of Bordeaux near our home, many of which are small, family-run enterprises so we were surprised to find such a sleek operation as is being run at FPA with coach tours, restaurant, accommodation, wedding venue etc. That aside, we sampled a good range of the wines on offer and made our choice of some to drink now and some to keep for the future. Unlike some other vineyards we visited in Tuscany, FPA doesn't charge for its wine tasting so it's a good way to find out what you like before buying and a good representation of what is being produced locally. If you are in the area it is definitely worth a visit and can easily be combined with a visit to the unmissable San Gimignano.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fattoria Poggio Alloro also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Fattoria Poggio Alloro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Poggio Alloro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.