We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cisterna Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Cisterna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cisterna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in San Gimignano
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We loved our first room at La Cisterna. The windows were large and opened out to a great view of the plaza. We could sit and see all of the activity below and across the street we saw Italians opening up their windows to do the same thing. We were only going to stay a night but ended up staying for 4! The room was spacious, bathroom very nice. We kept telling the front desk that we would stay 1 more night and on the last night someone had already reserved our room so we were given one on the ground floor. We were not as happy with that room. It was less expensive but the first room was well worth the extra expense. The breakfast was good, the people at the front desk were very friendly and attentive. We would absolutely stay there again. San Gimignano was our favorite walled city in Tuscany. I decided I could live there!!! The hotel was in a perfect location to explore this beautiful city and close to some very, very good restaurants. On the last day we were there the plaza was turned into a flea market of sorts. Vegetables, clothes, etc, and all under a hundred or more white tents.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view over the plaza. More expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    156
    55
    14
    3
See reviews for
46
182
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

wonderful place to stay for 2 nights in SG. Perfect location and amazing views in the AM and at breakfast overlooking the wonderful hills of Tuscany... terrific breakfast and comfy beds.
Would strongly recommend to anyone staying in SGimignano.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a week in the area and took two nights in this hotel as a treat - it cost more than I would usually pay.

It was raining on arrival but the little walled village of San Gimignano still looked like the fairytale I had imagined. We dragged our very large suitcase up the hill to the square and there was our lovely hotel in the centre of the village. We booked bed and breakfast and a room with a balcony. The first thing I did was open the doors to see the vista from the balcony - I was not disappointed with what I saw. The rolling hills of Tuscany spread out before me even in the wet I loved it. The room was reasonable in size and very pretty decorated with everything we needed plus decent products in the bathroom. The rain cleared and we sat on the balcony with a glass of wine and could hear singing and guitar playing very close by. On leaning over the balcony wall I could see a young man with his guitar playing the most lovely music and he had a good crowd around him and we walked down the next day to watch and listen to him again.
The breakfast was decent and we had copious amounts of tea and coffee before venturing out to see the sites. The only let down for me was we decided to eat in the hotel one evening and it was a little uninteresting but not unpleasant.

I really think we had the best position in the whole of San Gimingano. Very close to a wonderful ice-cream shop which excelled in choice - far too tempting to be ignored. But the views from the other side of the hotel over the Tuscan countryside were spectacular and this made it a great choice. The staff were extremely helpful when the accommodation I had booked for the next bit of our trip was changed and I needed to use the computer.
San Gimignano is extremely busy with tourists during the day but is almost dead after seven when they all leave. Shops and restaurants are limited in early season.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: pick one with a balcony worth the extra money - note that the balcony is a shared one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in this great hotel, while we went to Andrea Bocelli concert to Lajatico, 50 min drive away. He gives a concert there, in his hometown, once a year in July. Eat before you go to Lajatico, because there are no restaurants in Lajatico. It is a small village. You park your car on the huge field where busses take you to the concert place. Lots of walking, so avoid high heels.

La Cisterna hotel has a great location at the old square. We had a room with a balcony that was shared with 4 other rooms. It did not bother us. The balcony was huge and the view was amazing. It is great to drink wine on the balcony and watch sunset.

The room had air conditon whis was nice in a hot summer day and a big bathroom. It was very clean. We stayed 4 nights. - Great city, which changes the charector totally in the night when all the day tourists leave. The locals come out from their homes and gather at the main square to talk and play cards. - No cars in this city!!!!

Try to choose the streets, where all others are not walking.

This hotel can arrange for you an indoor garage near Porta San Giovanni ( 12-14 euros/ night).
You can drive you car to the hotel through a narrow gate throught the city wall and park for 20 min to unload your bags. Then you drive your car to the parking lot. Everybody was staring at us when we drove our car to the main square in the front the hotel at dinner time. If you stay for several days in this hotel you can drive out and in from the garage.

Famous Italian movies are filmed on the balcony of this hotel, e.g. "Tea with Mussolini."

Restaurant recommondations:
1) Le Vecchie Mura - 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Great view to the countryside if you eat on the terrace ( ask tables there). Mostly locals are eating here. Make reservations 1 - 2 days ahead.
2) Il Pino, near Porta San Mattea. You can eat outdoors too. Lunch and dinners are served.

Great Vineries nearby: Cesani and Vagnoni ( 200 meters appart)

20 min drive from San Gimignano - In Cesani they speak English.

On the way there you see the city from outside and it looks like a medieval Manhattan. You can take great photos! Nice senic route there and you see the Tuscana countryside, rolling hills, wine yeards, olive trees....

You can taste wine and buy to take home. Prices are from 5 euros upwards. We bought 3 boxes to take home to Finland since we were travelling by car.

San Gimignano is now my favorite city in Italy. Before this summer I even did not know it exists.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony to the country side. ( Shared balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to San Gim. for the past 30 years, and I alternate hotels between the Cisterna and the Leon Bianco in the Piazza Cisterna--the main square of the town--since that's where the action is...shopping, dining, gelato (ice cream--advertised as "the best in the world!--it may not really be the world's greatest, but it's really fantastic!)..(The Bel Soggiorno--down the hill--is good too, if you have issues with climbing the hill and/or want to be near Parking Area #2)....The rooms at La Cisterna are decorated nicely, the bathrooms are clean, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast was good, the elevator functions, the restaurant offers a good dinner menu and overlooks the Tuscan hills...what more could you ask for? Yes, there are many tour groups during the day, but early in the morning as the mists rise over the hills, you may walk through the town and savor the silence, and late at night a walk through the softly lit streets enchances the magic of this 12th-14th century town. You really need at least two nights to explore the town, the walls, the shopping, and the dining treasures! (easier to navigate than Florence...more low key..but of course, it doesn't have the Florentine splendor!)

Room Tip: Room 71 is one of two with balconies overlooking the town square Room 83 is one of 5 who share a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights and to be honest hotel is a bit tired and in need of a revamp. Room was OK with a big bathroom and was nicely styled with some character, the air con was noisy and not too effective. However we had room 82 which a large and sunny balcony with table and chairs and the view over the medieval town on one side and the Tuscan countryside on the other was quite simply the nicest setting for any hotel I've ever been to. We spent a day on the balcony reading books and drinking wine at the end of our holiday, and despite the 40 degree heat, it was a perfect moment.

Staff were very helpful, we didn't have an evening meal but breakfast was good and the restaurant also has good views.

Room Tip: Stay in room 82
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent Three nights at this hotel in San Gimignano last fall. Centrally located on the main drag it was a convenient location to see all of town by foot. Family owned I found it a pleasant location though our room was facing the back. The room was large but modest & because of our location was able to access wifi without being in the lobby. Breakfast was excellent with dining room offering spectacular views of Tuscan hillsides. Service and staff were very friendly & informative. Using San Gimignano as our base in Tuscany without a car was a little problematic. Bus availability to Florence/Sienna etc was not as good as guide books indicated however day trips to these centres were not a problem. Town is very busy during the day but once supper hours role around the crowds depart & this wonderful town relaxes. Highly recommend La Cisterna.

Room Tip: Very small facade to hotel. If a room on the square is desired should book well in advance. Talked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cisterna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cisterna Hotel

Address: Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cisterna Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cisterna Hotel, located in the earth of San Gimignano, is the right place to be close to the main attractions and to the little shops of the main street. The elegance and simplicity of the furniture is combined with discretion with all modern comforts, a harmonious fusion of past and future. The family's commitment has always been to welcome its guest with hospitality and professionalism. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, TVsat, mini fridge, hairdryer, safe and Wi-Fi Internet. Buffet breakfast with gluten free products . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Cisterna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cisterna
La Cisterna San Gimignano
La Cisterna Hotel San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cisterna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.